We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Kilkenny B&Bs / inns

Celtic House B&B

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Celtic House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Celtic House B&B to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #25 of 95 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jean-Francois L Montreal, Canada
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
19
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice little B&B in Kilkenny. We had a room in the second building behind the house, nothing fancy, but clean and confortable. The owner was very friendly. The breakfest was good. The B&B is in walking distance of almost everything there is to see in Kilkenny. There is a private parking available and it's also possible to park on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I went on a whirlwind driving trip through Ireland and decided that we would fly by the seat of our pants and find places to stay along the way. We decided to stop in Kilkenny and found this cute B&B through our Lonely Planet guidebook. The owners John and Angela were so nice and friendly and welcomed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haverfordwest
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A warm and friendly welcome from the owner, John, a comfy room and a good breakfast. Although we were only there on a quick overnight stay, we could see it would be a great place to explore the town. It's on a quiet street and about 5 minutes' walk from the town centre. Parking is on the street, but it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This bread and breakfast was a wonderful find for our family. The townhouse is located on a quiet side street, just minutes from the center of town, especially the Castle and Design Center. We were able to walk everywhere very quickly and easily. The hosts were great fun to meet and very accommodating to the guests. It should be noted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Alice C, many thanks for your lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay here with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you got to sample some of the best of Kilkenny City. Hope to see you back this way at some point in the future and safe travels, John &... More

Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in September for one night, our family had two rooms. The carpet upstairs was horribly stained, we joked in private about what could have happened there! There was mildew in the teapot in my brother's room. There was no central area to sit with other guests, we sat outside on the step as there was only one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long day of traveling we arrived two hours earlier then we were expected and the host John welcomed us and gave us our room immediately. He helped us find great places for lunch, and for live music later in the evening. The location could not have been better within minutes of town center with all the restaurants, shopping,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you got to sample some of the wondrous delights of Kilkenny City. There had been a bad spill on the carpet on the landing area but we since have had it removed and replaced with brand new carpet.... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible experience with Celtic house. We had booked 2 double rooms for Sat night 3 weeks in advance. When booking my credit card and phone number was taken. I got no email conformation so I called on the Thursday before we were due to arrive and was told all was ok with the rooms we booked. When we arrived to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Anna K, this review is not accurate and is in parts untruthful! We do not or have we ever 'cancelled room, possibly to make more money', & ' I suspect they got an offer of letting out the rooms for a longer period and decided it was worth bumping our one nights accommodation so they could make more money'... More

Auckland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay here, a bonus was having secure on site parking. Breakfast was excellent and in the evening John pointed us in the right direction for a pub with Irish music AND dancing, all within easy walking distance, terrific

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the live music scene in Kilkenny City. Safe travels & hope to see you again in the near future, Kindest regards, Angela & John. More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My two friends and I shared a room for two nights: beds, bath, breakfast, location all excellent. Loved talking with Angela and John. Angela even signed her book for me...in Gaelic! Love it, Angela, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & for taking a piece of Ireland back with you. Safe travels & hope to see you again soon, Angela & John. More

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here during our first trip to Ireland and it was great. The bedroom was very roomy and attached bathroom was great. It is very close to anything you want to do in Kilkenny. Very good breakfast also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaByrne, Manager at Celtic House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to your liking. Safe travels & hope to see you again soon, kindest regards, Angela & John. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Celtic House B&B?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay