We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    582
    329
    134
    57
    29
See reviews for
285
385
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1131)
  • Mar-May only
    (318)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (313)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (287)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (213)
All months
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are literally back from a lovely last minute stay at the Ormonde. We travelled as a family of two adults and twin girls age 10 and were made to feel welcome from the start to the end of our stay. The room and common areas in this property are spotless, the staff are wonderfully friendly. We were so excited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not sure i would book the Ormonde again. Got a twin room. I felt the bathroom could have done with some fresh paint and extra cleaning. The room could have done with some paint also. Breakfast was very good however.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bridget M, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I have noted your comments about your guestroom and I apologise if it took from your visit to Kilkenny. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel More 

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Returned here on year anniversary Was as impressed as we were on our wedding day. Room was amazing and dinner was exceptional Staff as always were attentive and friendly Will definitely return. The city centre location is brilliant for shopping

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DiddlesW, I'm really glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and thank you for the lovely review and recommendation. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night & really enjoyed our stay. Location is perfect, walking distance to Kilkenny Castle, bars & restaurants. The staff were really friendly & professional at both check in & out. I would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia H, Thank you for the very kind review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered chicken wrap and coffee from menu . Wrap unimaginative tasted pretty poor. Makes you wonder if the chef eats their own food. The bar was closed when arrived so ate in lounge. She closed the till after delivering food and advised i would have to pay before I even tasted it. No one came and asked if it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dw0175, Thank you for your review of our Hotel and obviously, I am disappointed to read your comments. First and foremost, my sincere apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion. I know that one of my team tried to speak with you before you left and you were unwilling to speak with them. Please find my contact details below,... More 

Pilsen, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in this hotel with my wife on St. Patrick's Day and the next three days. I must say that the level of this hotel is not good. The only positive is the breakfast, which is really worth it. Right at the beginning we had to change rooms. Our first room was small, dark, noisy (some air-conditioning to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear honzaknot, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. May I take this opportunity to apologise profusely for our shortcomings on this occasion. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences with you in person and I have listed my contact details below. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel e:... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location is the only positive thing about the hotel.receptionists were not friendly,rooms very small,ugly...stayed for two nights,cleaner made very little effort.i would never recommend this hotel ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaryannQ1900, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. First and foremost, my sincere apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion. Obviously I am disappointed to read your comments, however, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences with you in person. For your convenience I have listed my contact details below. Yours in Service, Colin... More 

Navan, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed with the accommodation, the room very small and dark and certainly do with up grading. The food in the restaurant was average. Unfortunately l will not be rushing back to this hotel. Joan M.Trim

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joan K, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry if our shortcomings took from your visit to Kilkenny and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in person should you wish. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel e: colin@kilkennyormonde.com t: 00353 56 7750200 More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk and restaurant staff provided great customer service and enhanced our stay. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very centrally located. Car parking was across the street and complimentary. The location was within walking distance of the Castle, shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnneandMark1983, Thank you for your lovely review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel More 

County Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is perfect . Close to all shops restaurants and tourist attractions. The hotel is nice The room we had was on the 3rd floor (326) opposite the lifts It was very noisy and looking out onto a roof. It could certainly do with up grading.The food in the restaurant was average the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear magicm144, Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in general, I do note your comment about the guestroom and I am sorry if this took from your stay in Kilkenny. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay