We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Earl of Desmond Hotel

3.0 of 5 Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
26
67
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 6 day coach tour with GB tours.We stayed at the Earl of Desmond Tralee. Arriving at 10pm from a long coach journey we were made to feel so welcome with a smile and a very nice 3 course dinner.The rooms were spacious and beds clean and comfortable.The bathroom nice and clean with lovely white towels.Next morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a GB tours holiday. I have just read recent reviews and cannot understand why people complain so strongly, are their expectations too high? The Hotel was warm and welcoming, ok Wifi was only available in the lobby but we could live with this. My one issue would be the lobby was very cold, but this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hessle, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On appearance the hotel was nice, bedrooms clean. Breakfast acceptable due to self service. Evening meal was totally disgusting, as the meal was already platted up with very large amounts of grey lumpy potato, and raw vegetables and copious amounts of glutinous gravy. Did ask for small portion, but was informed about plating by a rather rude waitress. Choice was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo-Anne P, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are quite disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Each table in the restaurant is checked on a nightly basis, either by myself when I am on duty or the restaurant manager. Had we been made aware of your dissatisfaction,... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 2 nights here at the earl of Desmond, and have never been so dissappointed with a hotel, as I have here. As a business traveller, this hotel is not a place I will want to come to. It is a large hotel, seems very busy with foreign bus tours, but it fell short of what I need for,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Einstein2361 Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do offer free Wi-Fi in the bar and the lobby area of the hotel, and we have noted your comments re: Wi-Fi in the bedrooms. We have noted and taken your... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2nights from the 5 Oct to the 7 Oct got hotel at cheap price and for the money I played was not expecting much but wow hotel blew me out of this world it's was like 4 star top quality lovely friendly staff and would help u any way needed like on the 7 Oct I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen F, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. we are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that once again the team here went the extra mile to ensure that you left satisfied and happy with your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the... More

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a coach trip,food varied from poor to excellent. Sat night prawn cocktail and salmon mains was good. Mediocre for the rest of the stay. Cheesecake desserts were strange colour and texture. Dining room was awful,like eating in a canteen. Rows of tight seating. Room was good,ground floor overlooking garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrisrange, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your visit fell short of your expectations, and have taken your comments on board to improve going forward. All tables are checked on a nightly basis either by myself or the restaurant manager on duty to ensure that all of... More

Tralee, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on the 20.09.14 as a wedding guest and was pleasantly surprised! The room we were in before the meal was spacious and there was a pianist playing softly which was a beautiful touch. The meal was absolutely beautiful and I couldn't find fault with it. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aisling T, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond hotel, and your kind words regarding our food for the function. we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, and we hope to welcome you back to the Earl in the near future. Kind Regards, Norella Mansfield. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All hotels in tralee were booked out the weekend before last.It was Saturday morning and i was getting anxious. I drove by this hotel and realised it wasnt on the long list within the hotel deals sites so i phoned and SURPRISE SURPRISE. ..and much to my bad fortune a vacancy! I wont bore you but suffice it to say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1elveria, Thank you for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are sorry that you feel your expectations weren't met on this occasion, however, had we been made aware that there was an issue while you were staying here, we would have done our upmost to rectify it, and on speaking to our front office team... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This is an hotel that caters for coach parties so if your traveling on your own volition avoid it . Coach trips are a cheaper priced way of seeing a country and as this type of hotel the Desmond does a reasonable job . The staff are first class helpful and friendly .The food won't win any Michelin stars but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John P, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel and for your kind comments regarding the staff here. We have taken your other comments on board and we hope to welcome you back to the Earl of Desmond Hotel in the future, Kind Regards, Norella Mansfield. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We stayed there in June as part of a bus tour. Our room was very comfortable, lovely hotel and food was also very good. The staff are well organised for the number of tours they have staying there. Nice grounds for a walk after dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret R, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond hotel. We have passed your compliments onto all the team here, including the maintenance men, who do such a great job with the upkeep of the vast grounds around the hotel, We do hope we will welcome you back again in the near future, Kindest Regards,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Earl of Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Address: Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl of Desmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Earl of Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Desmond Hotel Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Hotel

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay