We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Killarney hotels

Gleneagle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Gleneagle Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Official Site Booking.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
60%
Ranked #35 of 39 hotels in Killarney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jessica R Limerick, Ireland
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    170
    82
    84
    92
See reviews for
206
179
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Gleneagle hotel for the easter weekend the 19th and 20th of April. This was our second stay as we stayed last August for 3 nights but this time We stayed im the self catering apartment they are very spacious with a kitchen dining area 2 bedrooms bedroom one had a double and a single bed bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently had a holiday camping just near this hotel so went several times for drinks and food. It was very busy due the Irish World dancing competition being on, but I get the feeling it's a busy place anyway - lots going on. We drank several times outside the ODs bar and restaurant which is quite a nice bar,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and efficient check in. The apartments were very spacious and clean and had all mod cons. Ideal for families and group gatherings. The pool was lovely and warm and the food in the Brehon was delicious with very family friendly service. A great base to explore Killarney and surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Past Guests, We would like to thank for your positive comments on your recent stay the Apartments are lovely and spacious and the good part is you get the use of the Hotel Facilities and the Residents Entertainment each night. They are very popular with families especially in Summer time with a Fab Kids Club & activities. We are... More

Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights on 5th floor. Very old decor and was told we had to hire towels for €5 each! Adding insult to injury we had to physically bring towels back on departure to reception for return of deposit once towels weren't soiled. Some staff unhelpful and borderline rude. Needs updating. Would not recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, In response to your review we do not usually charge a towel deposit however the event that you were here for, The Hip Hop Spectrum Event had arranged this policy with the Hotel due to the fact that with over 800 people attending the event the hotel in the past suffered huge losses of money for towels due... More

Roscrea, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff all around very good , but the beds were terrible , pillows worse, a white sheet with 1970s dusty hairy blankets and a throw over them that looked and felt filthy. My eyes and nose streamed all night with the dust off the blankets never slept for one hour , never ever again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for the compliments about the staff, it’s a shame you never reported to us that you had an allergy to blankets as we would have changed them and offered a duvet instead. I can assure you the blankets are not filthy as we would by no means put dirty blankets on our clean beds, this is... More

Whitehouse, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were ok, the food not bad, but the wait staff were rude, unaccommodating, even a little nasty...for both breakfast and dinner. The lobby staff were nice, had a good time at the bar, good music...lobby plumbing needed some assistance. LOVED the town, wish we could have spend more time there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you have some very positive feedback on our Front Desk Team & Bar. Our main concern however is your comments in relation to the waiting Staff. We would have very much appreciated if you had discussed this with us prior to your departure... More

Valencia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would have left this hotel a 2 star review; but the service was superb. Although they did not have hot chocolate, they made a glass for my wife who does not drink coffee. Instead of doing a tour bus for the Ring of Kerry, Caroline at Guest Services gave us some of her favorite recommended spots on the loop... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I would personally like to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review on your recent visit last week and for the personal mention to myself. It was my pleasure to assist you both and offer my advice on places to visit. I hope you got to enjoy the Ring of... More

Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay in the Gleneagle. Our room was a good size and the shower was very powerful.beds so comfie. We had dinner in the bar thought the menu could be better if im honest. The desserts very over priced i asked for a selection of ice cream 3 small scoops in a bowel more like what you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, In response to your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and that you found the Gleneagle such good value to stay here, considering the facilities we have here all under the one roof to include the Leisure Centre and the Nightly Entertainment, Gift Shop and Free Parking it is indeed great value. Sorry to... More

longford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the hotel last night for one night.Everything was perfect from the room to the staff,and the breakfast was out of this world. Cant wait to return this summer for a longer stay. Thanks gleneagle for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your short but very complimentary review on your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much. We are very grateful when people take the time to share their positive feedback as all too often it can be forgotten to share the good experiences. Thank you so much... More

Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in February, booked into one of their 2 bedroomed apartments. On arrival the fridge was stocked with bread, milk, jams, butter, tea, coffee, etc, all we had to do was boil the kettle for a welcoming cup of coffee. Restaurants and bars were very family friendly, staff were patient and well mannered. Didnt ever seem like the kids were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for your review on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. We pride ourselves on our service and our aim to please all our customers and ensure that they have a very memorable stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely comments we certainly... More

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gleneagle Hotel to your Saves list