We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Killarney hotels

Gleneagle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gleneagle Hotel to your Saves list
Gleneagle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #35 of 39 hotels in Killarney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
WinnieEurope Dublin, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (675)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (188)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (129)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    183
    86
    90
    98
See reviews for
219
194
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights this July and just loved it. Staff were absolutely brill. Breakfast is vast and delicious. Rooms were good, with an amazingly comfy bed! You're out and about so much in Kerry, you don't spend much time in it! Great location and shuttle bus to bring you to and from town for €2.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we went on an ulsterbus trip to gleneagles for 5days rooms are a little dated other than that we had a room on 5th floor overlookiing national park and red deer etc -if you get the opport request a room at the front of hotel with balcony food was varied and of very good quality /staff could not do enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As a group of 4 women we had heard good reports about the Gleneagles Hotel and the entertainment supplied and decided to head to Killarney for a birthday celebration. We entered our 'Family Room' (that actually was too small to be called big enough for a 'family') the towels, shampoos etc were only for 2 people so we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Past Guests, In response to your review I can assure you that we are a hotel that Love to see our Guests enjoying themselves and have fun. The Gleneagle has been in business for close to 60 years and we are renowned for our Entertainment and the place to be in Killarney for great nightly entertainment and shows however... More

Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here last night, and it was grand but terrible! Check in was grand, our massage and facial was perfect out room was nice. As mentioned before the bathroom toilet when flushed made an awful noise. Unfortunately i have rated it 1 and if i could rate it 0 i would.. We left the room and our door struggled to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Past Guests, We are sorry to hear you had a problem with the door to your room, I am unaware whether you brought this to our attention while you were here so we could have had someone look at it immediately. Sometimes it can happen that a door may have to be pulled closed however I can assure you... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My Mam and I stayed in the Gleneagle for 3 nights midweek. I chose the hotel mainly for the night time entertainment for my Mam. We stayed in room 220. The carpet had some coffee stains on it but other than that we had no complaints. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the hotel each night for convenience and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Management & Staff here at the Gleneagle I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your feedback on your recent visit with us. It is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your Mother and got to see and do so much. Thank you... More

Neetownards
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just had a mini break in gleneagle hotel and I could not fault one aspect of it. The hotel, surroundings, staff, food, leisure facilities and entertainment were excellent. I can highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review. We hope you get to visit us soon again. Many Thanks Caroline Papin Guest Relations Manager More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived there was ample car parking spaces available. Check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was on the 4th floor and we had upgraded to a balcony room for an extra €10 per night. The room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. Everything in the room worked properly, lights, TV, sockets etc. The information booklet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests We are very happy with this honest and well balanced review and wish to thank you for highlighting your opinions in a very fair and genuine manner. I wish to apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy every aspect of your recent stay especially your dining experience. We are delighted you got enjoy the Entertainment and... More

Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just stopped one sunday night, very busy, lots of people, very friendly staff, nice bedroom, lots of entertainment going on, celtic entertainment night, music in bar, C&W in ballroom, and food excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Greta to hear you enjoyed your recent Sunday night with us and thank you so much for the lovely review and compliments on the food and entertainment. Sunday nights for the summer is what we call our “Country Sundays” we have a country music dance every Sunday run by Billy Morrissey and some great acts lined up, it’s... More

Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was competing in the Killarney Half marathon over the weekend and decided to stay in the Gleneagle Hotel as the buses for the race were leaving form the hotel and the finish line was just across the road from it. Here is a list of everything that went wrong : The room - We had an actual key, not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David All I can say to your very extensive and extremely negative review is perhaps you may wish to actually speak to a Member of our Management team and we will be happy to look into any queries you have about your bill and your accusation in relation to your foot fungus that you believe you may have contacted... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for three nights in July with family members, which included two 16year old teenagers.We were met at recetion on arrival by a most helpful young Gentleman, we asked to change our sleeping arrangements and the housekeep was present and she took us to the third floor to a beautiful spotlessly clean family room which we decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for your positive review on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear your family all enjoyed themselves. Thank you for the lovely comments about the staff who looked after you and we are so happy to hear that they were able to make your holiday special. It is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gleneagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
250

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer