We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 142 Killarney B&Bs / inns

Murphy's Guesthouse

18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Murphy's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Murphy's Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #51 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Donpino1
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    46
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
50
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good quality hotel, very large bedroom with comfy furniture . It was very hot when we visited and not having AC made the nights uncomfortable! It was very noisy on the street outside so sleep was often broken. Staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful! Food and drink excellent . Will return again to be sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Morning from all in Murphys, Thank you for your wonderful recent review. I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. We have been experiencing a heatwave so temperatures have been above average but there are fans available in every room. I am looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.... More

Hudson, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Murphy's for two nights last week. We happened to arrive in town at the tail end of a music festival and our GPS was having trouble finding the property so we ended up driving through town three times. Once we found it, we realized there was no parking specifically for the hotel. We called them and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Morning from all in Murphys, Thank you for your wonderful recent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here in Murphys. As we are centrally located it is not possible for us to have our own car park unfortunately. I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards,... More

missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped at this hotel for two nights in June,2014. The room had three beds lined up in a row with very little room to walk. It was very warm so we asked for a fan, which they did provide. The bathroom was extremely small with only a little shower stall to bathe. The lighting in the room was very dim.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Morning from Murphys, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed Murphys Bar but I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to invite you back again in the not too distant future so we can redeem ourselves. Kind Regards, Seán Murphy. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights for a family get together. Excellent location and parking was easy to find within waking distance of the guest house. The rooms were spotless and although no air con, each room had a fan. Rooms cleaned daily and good in the bar. Staff very friendly, we will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Morning Fiona, Thank you for your wonderful recent review of Murphys Guesthouse. I am delighted to hear you had such a nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán Murphy. More

Millicent, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is a small hotel above a very nice pub. It is right in the middle of the town so very convenient. The rooms were clean and the breakfast very good. We asked for a front room to be able to see the street action. It was quiet even though there was a bikie festival on at the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from Killarney, Thank you for your wonderful recent review. I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you were happy with every aspect of Murphys. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán Murphy. More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value for money with clean, quiet rooms tucked above and behind a great pub. The beds were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. The full Irish breakfast was above average. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys, Thank you for your delightful recent review. I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán Murphy. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Murphys of Killarney is a wonderful place to stay my family and I stayed there for my birthday and enjoyed the great hospitality as the breakfast is lovely and when I finished my breakfast the staff came out with a slice of birthday cake and sang happy birthday which I appreciated very much so I would highly recommend murphy's of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys, Thank you for your wonderful recent review. I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and that you spent your birthday here with us in Murphys. I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán Murphy. More

Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good things: wonderful service (especially Maureen), modern rooms, elevator, fine living room, great breakfast off the menu in the pub. Negatives: parking is a pain, we had a room in the back but still had a fair amount of noise until about 11:15. The location worked for us because one couple needed to catch a train early in the morning,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from Killarney, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay although I am sorry to hear about the noise. As we are centrally located there can be a bit of noise but we can offer rooms at the back of the hotel as to avoid this. I hope we will see... More

Morwell, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Comfortable accommodation and good value for money. Parking is not at the hotel but on the roadside and paid until 6pm a and Ned to move at 9 am in the morning or pay. Great cooked breakfast. Was in convenient location in the old part of town

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have our own car park as we are centrally located but we are close to many car parks. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

So, far this is the worst place we've stayed in Ireland, but we've stayed at some much nicer places. This is perfectly fine for a pull off the road place to stay for a night (which is exactly what we did), but I probably wouldn't want to stay here longer than that. The room was large, and largely quiet -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon from Murphys, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay and that it was what you were looking for. Although we do not have air conditioning we do have fans available in every room. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Seán... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Murphy's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer