We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherry Tree Guesthouse

Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cherry Tree Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cherry Tree Guesthouse
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I First stayed here back in March 2003 and enjoyed it very much. I returned again and stayed here on 08 & 09 of Feb 2015. I received a very warm welcome from my host Bridie. The property was very warm and really inviting. The bedrooms are very spacious, cosy and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was fabulous and was a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks very much for kind review, we're delighted you had a great stay and that we were a good base for your hiking trips. Thanks again, good luck, slainte! More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Ahoy! I stayed here for 4 nights over the Christmas season (Dec 23-27, 2014) and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. My room was a lot bigger than expected, clean and with what seems to be a recently renoed bathroom. I easily found the place walking from the bus stop. It's in a great location, near the National Park (a great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Were delighted you had a great stay with us, we enjoyed your company too! Thanks very much for kind review, we really appreciate it. Good luck and take care! Slainte! More 

Napa, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Pros : Location, price and staff. Scotty was very friendly and helpful. Price was very good. A 5 minute walk to city center. Cons : Room quality could use a little care. Bathroom was on the moldy side so skipped a shower. I still recommend this if you are looking to save money close to city center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Bryan. We have taken your points on board. We're going refreshing and repainting our rooms for the off season. Thanks for you kind and constructive comments. More 

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed here two nights. First impression was that it was small but clean and seemed reasonable and on a par with what we had paid in Cork and breakfast was included. I was surprised how laid back they were re. checking in - no credit card lodged or registration form to be completed. Couldn't have been in a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our boiler is on a timer and was working perfectly that morning. I think the problem here was with the setting of the temperature dial in your shower. It has since being rectified. Thanks for staying with us. More 

Cavan, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.This place needs a bit of TLC.stayed in room 2.Needs a lick of paint and the bathroom was in need of an upgrade.Shower door is broken and the water just goes on the floor.Tiles look dirty.Smell of sewage coming from toilet.no bedside lamps,no mirror in room.simple things really and it's not cheap €80 per night for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, I wish your stay with us could of being better. We are going refurbishing this bathroom and bedroom in the coming weeks. We have taken note of your comments and appreciate them. With our continued investment in the house we hope in providing you with much better product in the future. On a side note, hotels on Muckross rd... More 

Limerick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I had reserved this B&B online where it said no need to reserve parking but after reading comments phoned to see if there was secure parking for my car , on arrival there was no space for my car and the young guy who checked me in couldn't care less and told me park on the road or road way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to say that your review is well over the top and I certainly dont appreciate the way you abused my young member of staff. The young gentleman that checked you in has the most friendly demeanour and is noted to be very kind and courteous to all guests. He was shocked with your very aggressive nature... More 

utrecht
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Somewhat dates accomodation but for this price perfect. Very clean rooms. The B&B has a nice admosphere. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Even spanish speaking. Breakfast is great with lots of choice. B&B is close to city center, Killarney park entrance (although closed for construction at this time) and Ross castle. Great wifi We stayed here with our two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks very much for kind review! we are very grateful for this. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and are glad we could help you out while you stayed here. Hope you had a great time in Ireland and hope to see you again. More 

Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The guesthouse is located on the main road 5 minutes walk from city center. We got a very quite nice room. The house owners were pretty young but very nice and friendly. The continental breakfast was alright.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks very much for kind review! we are very grateful for this. It was a pleasure to host you. Hope you had a great time in Ireland and hope to see you again More 

Bloemfontein
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It is with trepidation that I write this review. The staff members were extremely friendly and seems eager to please the guests. During our stay of three nights we met and were served breakfast by three different staff members. Unfortunately it seems as if one person is responsible for house cleaning and making breakfast per day. The result is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard L, Manager at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks positive and constructive review! we are very grateful for this. We were short staffed at the time. We have taken note of fruit bowl and have it well stocked. Hope you had a great time in Ireland and hope to see you again More 

Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Really kind and efficient staff, excellent location, nice room and ensuite, very reasonably priced. Close to town and all amenities. Staff gave good advice regarding local tourist attractions and signposted in the right direction. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question