We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Galway hotels

Clayton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Clayton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
lukiedeb Limerick, Ireland
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    345
    117
    36
    16
See reviews for
232
370
36
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1028)
  • Mar-May only
    (260)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (369)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (239)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for a wedding in Sept 2014. Friendly staff delivered good service for the function, bar and restaurant. Or room was clean and modern and the hotel has plenty of spacious public areas. Lots of options for breakfast which was presented very well. Wedding food was dire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night midweek while on business, staff very friendly and bar food good. Noise from function, even midweek combined with noise from A/C unit in room resulted in a grumpy man for a day of meetings. Management -if room allocation is a issue as I have since read from other reviewers take it over from reception, no doubt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smithy5210, Thank you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. You've certainly raised some interesting points and I will be discussing these with the Front Office team in order to minimise any disruption or discomfort our guests experience when they stay. We normally can accommodate guests unconnected to the functions/events in... More

Wallingford, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What does clean mean? Bed linens were clean, if it could be vacuumed or dusted, it was clean; however, in the common space, wall coverings torn, aged goop on walls, smeared stainless steel elevator doors, signs torn off walls leaving screw holes, etc. This place is only seven years old, but it looks like not a cent has been spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles R, Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time in the Clayton hotel, you've raised some valid points but at the same time I don't think your review is balanced nor particularly fair. That said you've certainly given me some food for thought and I'll be working with... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights with family while my Dad had an op at the Galway Clinic. Staff were really friendly and courteous from reception to breakfast, the bar and cleaning staff. We were driving to and from the clinic and also into Galway and beyond but taxis were available and the hotel is on a bus route too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clareNoI, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I can only surmise that this must have been a worrying time for you so I'm delighted that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I hope we'll see you back here again soon... More

Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the Clayton in August for 5 days with my wife and 2 young children. I cannot praise the hotel enough. From the top class service to the excellent food, we had a fabulous stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable with everything you need including very comfortable beds. I would highly recommend anyone, young or old, to choose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Noelie12370, Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us and I really do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay again. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General Manager More

Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is not very centrally located. It was easy to drive into Galway but do not expect to be in walking distance. There are no views and you are by the highway. Otherwise - it is a clean hotel, beds were comfortable, but the tubs were pretty high to step into. I was traveling with my elderly mother. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keysmelanie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. Whilst it's true we're not located in the city centre it is still pretty accessible and for exploring the wider region our location on the main road network into and out of the city is ideal. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The rooms are spacious, and the shower was great. Be sure to book a room on the third floor or higher. They hold events here, and the music can be heard on the 2nd floor. Also ask to be away from the highway noise. While it's true that the bus stops there, you may not want to take it after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OlderThanDirtNC, Thank you for your review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. Your kind comments regarding the rooms and Front Office staff in particular are very welcome, certainly everyone on the team here at the hotel works very hard to ensure that all our guests are welcomed and that their stay is an enjoyable one. Our location as... More

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Annemarie greeted us when we arrived, she was very professional great personality, and a great asset to your hotel.Always has a smile on her face not just with us but to all her customers, Mike in the bar is not only hard working as he never stops, but so pleasant too always making sure we were looked after, and asking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marion m, Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and certainly I'll be reviewing all your comments with the team here to ensure we're doing what we can to improve our service. Your acknowledgement of the hard work AnnMarie... More

Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself & my Husband stayed in The Clayton last August. Along with our two children, for a three night stay. We were given a gorgeous, spacious family room. The room had 2 large comfortable double beds. A flat screen tv & a seating area with a table & armchairs. There was also a small dinning table with 2 chairs. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grainne K, Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you all had such a good time and I know the Front Office staff you mentioned will all be thrilled with your recognition of their hard work. Please let me know when you're anniversary is, I'll certainly do everything I... More

Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is ok, also, the rooms are modern and spacious. The hotel, however, is terrible. In my room a lamp and the TV did not work. Also, the rooms facing the highway are extremely loud, I measured 80db at midnight. The most important problem, however, is cleanliness. My room had a "difficult odour". I could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philosion, Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback after your recent stay. I do apologise that your room wasn't as comfortable as you had the right to expect and I'm sorry that you feel your concerns were ignored. I can assure you that we regard all comments from our guests as valuable to help improve what... More

Do you own or manage Clayton Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel

Address: Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Clayton Hotel