We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clayton Hotel

#10 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clayton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clayton Hotel
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    396
    138
    38
    21
See reviews for
253
417
39
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1182)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (369)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (301)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on the 16th for one night, good hotel, all the staff were very friendly, and the facilities were good, If I could reccomend one thing it would be heavier free weights in the gym but that's me just being picky. Food was spot on!

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel make it one of the friendliness that I have visited , starting with reception on arrival was met with very helpful staff this continued through out stay from bar to leisure centre . The only drawback is it is a bit of a distance from centre of city. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat H, Thank you for posting a brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I really do appreciate your kind remarks in relation to the staff you encountered whilst you were here. Everyone on the team works hard at delivering a fist class service and I know they will all be thrilled with your acknowledgement. Hopefully... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Aer Lingus Vacation Store put us into this clearly business/convention-oriented hotel as part of a rail vacation. It is so far away from city center as to be useless unless you are driving your own car. 25-40 minutes (depending upon time of day and traffic) and 12-15 Euro taxi fare from city center. How could Aer Lingus (and their operator,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear moehlr, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay in the Clayton although it seems it's more a comment about your travel agent and the promises they made rather than an opinion of the hotel and our services. We're located in Ballybrit, outside the city centre yes, but we're well served by public transport including by bus... More 

Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went to the Clayton for a conference and only for that would have missed out on a great hotel experience. Staff are simply superb, they actually seem to love their work and take a pride in it, nothing too much trouble for them, this makes such a difference on arrival. They make checking in such a pleasant experience. Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 186609Happytraveller, Thank you so much for posting such a glowing review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I really am delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and I'm very grateful for your kind comments relating to the all the staff you met. Everyone on the team here works very hard at delivering a great... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
63 hotel reviews
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having the choice for a city centre hotel or the Clayton on the periphery of the city (sorry, not meant to offend any locals; Galway is not that big!) we chose this hotel for its convenience close to a great shopping centre and next to the ring road around Galway. We had planned excursions by car out of the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kurt M, Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your recent stay in the Clayton hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I do hope you have left some attractions still to visit in the beautiful west so we can enjoy your patronage once again. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General Manager More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to many decent hotels, some good, some not so good . This is the best hotel I have been in. The first people you meet are the receptionists? lovely staff, couldn't of been any better, I had 2 days in a lovely room then they had a happy hen party all the way round me i didn't wants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheila Annette T, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I really do appreciate your very kind comments in relation to all the staff you dealt with during your time with us. Everyone on the team here works very hard to ensure all our guests... More 

Manorhamilton, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a really lovely time here,staff on reception were so friendly and extremely helpful.Annie the waitress at breakfast deserves a special mention mention.Room was spotless and very comfortable.Pool was great fun but not much for kids to do after it closes,games room would be a great addition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linda G, Thank you so much for your brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you also for your suggestion, it's very welcome. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here on business recently. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are really good, best I've stayed in for a while in Ireland. Unfortunately I'm vegetarian and ordered the Vegan Thai Red Curry as there was nothing at all else on the menu I could eat for dinner. I've travelled all over Thailand and this bore no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linda G, Thank you so much for your brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you also for your suggestion, it's very welcome. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 2 night family break in the hotel. When we arrived at 3pm our room wasn't ready. We were asked by an unfriendly receptionist to wait in bar & she would let us know when room was ready. After hour I went back & another sad looking receptionist said room was ready, no apology for wait or not letting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mommysdword, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm sorry to learn you weren't as satisfied with your stay as you should have been, I've shared your comments with all the team here and I know they will work hard to ensure we get better at what we do. The greeting on... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights with wife and two teenage sons. Had a family room. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good quality. Had dinner one evening in the hotel bar which was also very nice. Would stay here again, especially for the large size family room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerard M, Thank you so much for posting a brief but glowing review of your time in the Clayton Hotel. It's great to learn you and your family had a great break away and I do hope it won't be too long before you're back for more. Best regards Rory Fitzpatrick General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question