We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The House Hotel

#6 of 57 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The House Hotel
Add Photo

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    435
    193
    67
    34
    11
See reviews for
73
328
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (740)
  • Mar-May only
    (207)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (194)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

2 minutes walk to the bars and restaurants on Quay Street and the stores on Shop Street. Cool lobby and inexpensive parking up the block. Great hot breakfast with additional cold buffet. Rooms were a bit small and the sliding smoked glass bathroom doors don't fully close but still a great hotel for the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is nicely located close to the historical section of Galway, but our twin room was tiny. If you stay here, definitely go for the deluxe or super-deluxe room. The sitting areas were O.K., and the breakfast was fine, but the small room really turned us off. We did like that we could walk to the old town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just a one night stay when I ended up having to stay in Galway city at short notice. There's only one place to be if you want to be at the heart of the buzz in Galway. Stayed here loads and will keep coming back... Great breakfast as usual too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I checked in at 4pm on a Sunday.The process was slow ,and I was not happy with my room,room 101.It was cold and musty and there was a funny smell in the bathroom.The food here is good and it is well located.At least they changed me to room 107 after I complained but I don't know why I wasn't given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us there at the House Hotel, Galway. It is such a delight to read your comments regarding our location and food. We have just launched our new Summer Lunch & Dinner Menu. I'm glad to read you have enjoyed it and I'll pass your... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good hotel with spacious rooms (we had a superior / deluxe room) and in a great location close to Latin quarter. Cooked breakfasts ok but buffet (particularly fruit) selection could be better and not really comparable to what we were offered at other similar hotels in Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here before for cocktails in the bar on saturday night. The were fab. Recimmended the place to many ppl and when my friend got engaged and visited from uk i thought no better place for two girls to get some cocktails than house hotel. How wrong was i.. it was a Wednesday night and despite town being packed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit in our Cocktail Bar. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed our cocktails on Saturday night. Thank you deciding to come back along with your friend. I am disappointed to read that your return visit wasn’t as enjoyable as your previous one. We always... More 

orland park, il.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow was it PINK. My wife was surprised that I would pick such a girly hotel. When we checked in the lobby bar was packed and I was the only man in sight. We did like it the staff was very helpful, room comfortable, and very short walk to what we wanted to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
buffalo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was fine. The location is great! The staff was nice and friendly and when we slept past breakfast they were happy to come up with some pastries and cereal for us. The bright pink decor in lobby is a bit different...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been many times before and enjoyed it but the last few times I felt standards were definitely slipping...this visit was the nadir. I met my friend for lunch and we started with a cocktail and a glass of chardonnay - cocktail did not have the requisite amount of alcohol with an overriding taste of lime and the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time on posting a review after your recent visit in our Cocktail Bar & Bistro. I was glad to hear you have enjoyed your meal and drinks during your past visits and I am disappointed to read your last review. Here at The House Hotel we always pride ourselves on excellent customer service and... More 

Chiba Prefecture, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you plan on sleeping at night during your vacation in Galway. Do not stay here. We stayed there on a Saturday night. We could not sleep because they had loud music blaring from the bar downstairs. We requested they turn it down 3 times and they flat out refused. Obviously they cared more about selling non-residents their overpriced cocktails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm shocked to read your review of your recent stay here at The House Hotel. Yes, we do have late bar & DJ on a Saturday night but we try our best with allocations to ensure that everyone has a good nights sleep. On this occasion it appears our Night Porter's did not handle your request in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

404 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (33)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (275)
Viewed
Deluxe Room - 213 (45)
Viewed
Deluxe Room - 305 (49)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room - 216 (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay