We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swallow Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
98 Fr Griffin Rd., Galway, Ireland
Swallow Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    22
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
39
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We struggled to find somewhere to stay in Galway and this place was perfect in the end. We had a nice private suite out the back with en-suite at a great price, the hosts were both very friendly and loved our two small children and the buffet breakfast made a nice change from full irish ones. Never eaten so many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The owners of this B and B were very friendly and accommodated me last minute on the day of arrival without a booking. It is a short walk to the centre of Galway City. Wifi is available. These things aside however it is a disappointing accommodation option for the following reasons.. The room ( number 6, a box room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theswallowgalway, Owner at Swallow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Swallow. A single bedroom is €45 at the height of the season. With reference the duvet cover, had you brought this to our attention at the time we would of been happy to change it. Thank you for your feedback reference the blinds, we will take this... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very reasonable price and in a great location. The owners are very friendly and I always enjoy staying there, it is couple of minutes walk the Galway City Centre. I really like the rooms at the back of the premises. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us arrived on spec on Saturday afternoon without a booking complete with motorcycles. We were accommodated without any hassle and were provided with safe parking and clean accommodation, with decent facilities. Our host was extremely friendly and breakfast (though not a fry up) consisted of continental and egg options. Loads of tea and coffee also provided foc. Location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Navan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot rate this bnb highly enough, Two of this nicest people I've stayed with, I spent 4 days and will surely come again. Very helpful and funny. The rooms were tidy and bnb is located a short walk from both Salthill promenade and the heart of Galway city. Thank you Jimmy and Patricia. hopefully see you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Stayed here on a bike tour of ireland,brilliant,owners were,more than welcoming, arrived in the rain, they dried all our wet gear,accommodation was great, small chalet style rooms on suite with all facilities, tv, tea,coffee etc. Ten minutes walk to city centre. Breakfast buffet style, ham,cheese,fruit,crossants,cereal,juice,tea/coffee followed by scrambled eggs and toast, a banquet.Would recommend this b/b very highly and will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Can't rate this accommodation high enough, stayed here last year and this year its got better, very friendly patrons, buffet style breakfast, followed by scrambled eggs and toast, unlimited fresh coffee and fruit. Accommodation clean and comfortable, 10 minutes walk to city centre, be back next year cheers. The john deere trike man.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We messed up & found ourselves in Galway with no accommodation on a Friday night. Thanks to 'Dickie' - a taxi driver - we were taken to The Swallow whose owner Jimmy couldn't have been more accommodating. We ended up staying for 3 nights because it felt like coming home every evening....breakfast was good too....although he'll tell you himself that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Great place just down the road from the city centre and a quick stroll round the corner to the beautiful seafront. Leisurely breakfast where the owners see to your every wish and keep the tea and toast flowing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Perfect location for town centre and also sea front. Clean rooms with ensuite, and wifi. Lovely breakfast selection, hosts made us very welcome. Thanks for the suggestions of what to do, definitely will stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#14 of 57 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#3 of 57 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#10 of 57 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#1 of 57 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#24 of 57 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
the stop b&b at Kilcullen House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities