We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spanish Arch Hotel

2.0 of 5 Quay Street | Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spanish Arch Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Spanish Arch Hotel
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    109
    57
    29
    39
See reviews for
35
125
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (326)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this 'hotel' on Saturday 17th January 2015. This is more a good pub offering accommodation. The reason for that statement is the 'hotel' does not do food, not even breakfast not as that was a problem, as there were plentiful establishments on the doorstep that catered for every taste. The rooms were basic but good, the heating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is a kip. Didn't like it. Beds were shocking. Had 4 beds in room and they were all the same. Curtains were old and not hanging properly. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We were there as a group and didn't mind what kinda rooms we got. But for the price of 100 each for two nights you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent New Year's Eve at the Spanish Arch's Bar and what a night it was! The atmosphere was absolutely buzzing, the band were amazing playing a mix of modern and classic tunes, the bar was reasonably priced, well stocked and well staffed, the atmosphere was absolutely fantastic, all in all an absolutely great evening!!! Amazing craic!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here for a night on a last minute trip to Galway. The rooms are quite small but given all we wanted was a place to get ready and sleep it did us fine. The location is excellent right in the middle of Galway nightlife and the bar downstairs always has a great atmosphere with a live band at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jojo8814, Thank you so much for your fabulous and helpful comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Galway, and hopefully we will see you again. Sincerely, Frank. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I dont normally do reviews as i always feel everyones expectations are different with what they deem as reasonable... however after experiencing this "hotel" and after the disappointing response and conclusion to my complaint with the "hotel" manager, I Feel it is only human of me to express my concerns and hopefully prevent anyone else experiencing what we did. Below... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KingstonR7, All Points noted. We are again as I have pointed to previous contributors, a High Octane Entertainment location. It is well known as the Latin Quarter. On the Sunday Night that you checked in, our bar closed according to our License Type, at 11pm. We did not have music after that time, In fact Live Music stopped at... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This place is terrible. If looking for a good noisy bar, you have hit lucky, but the sleeping experience requires much in the way of liquid sedation. I arrived at 7pm on Saturday and saw no-one at reception (used loosely, it is a corridor) until checking out at noon the next day when a pleasant man called Conor kept saying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Clo134, Thanks for your contribution. All I can say really is that we are located and advertised of the fact that we are located smack bang in the middle of Entertainment Central here in Galway - the Latin Quarter. It is musical, it is loud, it goes till late and starts early the next morning. It suits some, and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Circumstances: 15 of us in there for a stag, drinking and watching the soccer, some of them also got food which they were all delighted with. Venue: Very nice Irish pub, warm and friendly. Before we left a band started and the atmosphere really picked up, looked like a great spot to spend the night but we had a stag... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lesser Educated Descendant of Cork, Love the Alias, hope the above isn't too inappropriate, It is relevant here in Ireland..... Lol We always welcome the lads in in the afternoon for the Matches, and if we can be of any further assistance on the day, we hope to be able to provide it. Come back soon. Frank. More 

Wales, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

For a group of 6 fellas on a rugby weekend, this place was perfect - slap bang in the middle of Galway's bars and restaurants. The late night entertainment on the Friday and Saturday nights were full-on bands, and the drummers gave it some welly! It was a popular venue for the younger element. Yes, it was a little noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Guys, Glad you had a Good Cultural Visit to the City of the Tribes. Hopefully we will see you back soon again. Sincerely, Frank. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The hotel was clean, the food was good, parking was almost next door, and the location is in the middle of everything. A bit of noise at night is just what you would expect from a happening place like this on Quay St. We loved the excitement of being in the center of everything. Coner Hegarty was so helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KBNB, Thanks for your kind comments. I will make sure that Conor is aware of your high accolade for his services. He is indeed a gem, and a true ambassador for us and Galway. Warmest regards, Frank. More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location in the tourists area. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is clean and basic. The room was comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the lift was smelly and the carpet needed replaced. With regards to value for money it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi June, Many thanks for your contribution. All comments both positive and constructive are taken on board and will be acted upon. Kind Regards, Frank. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Spanish Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Arch Hotel

Address: Quay Street | Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Spanish Arch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Spanish Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Arch Hotel
Spanish Arch Galway
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Galway

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay