We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spanish Arch Hotel

Quay Street | Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Spanish Arch Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Spanish Arch Hotel
Review This Hotel

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    112
    57
    29
    40
See reviews for
35
128
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went over to Galway only for a night, Just booked day before ! Have stayed in Jurys but full so decided to stay near by The Spanish Arch was available. Booked, got there went to room and could not believe what i saw, 4 single beds no lockers One light inside the front door, a T V that would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an evening meal at the spanish arch hotel bar/restaurant. We arrived at 7 and was seated immediately but the bar filled up quickly and was full before we ended our meal. There were two bands playing and the crowd was lively and good fun. We are in our fifties and did not feels out of place as the crowd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am a Galway local and live a street away from this location. Me and my friends often pop in for a post work drink to listen to the great band they have ( feedback) and have a bite to eat . The restaurant waiting staff have always been very personable and attentive. This week I came here after the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Colony, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Nice, small room above & great music in pub below. Sloooow service & elevators. Take the stairs & get back out in the streets sooner. This is a great location to walk & enjoy to music. Had sufficient room, clean, simple, & heater to dry our wet clothes. Didn't need to get our car out of car park to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed at this 'hotel' on Saturday 17th January 2015. This is more a good pub offering accommodation. The reason for that statement is the 'hotel' does not do food, not even breakfast not as that was a problem, as there were plentiful establishments on the doorstep that catered for every taste. The rooms were basic but good, the heating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Hotel is a kip. Didn't like it. Beds were shocking. Had 4 beds in room and they were all the same. Curtains were old and not hanging properly. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We were there as a group and didn't mind what kinda rooms we got. But for the price of 100 each for two nights you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We spent New Year's Eve at the Spanish Arch's Bar and what a night it was! The atmosphere was absolutely buzzing, the band were amazing playing a mix of modern and classic tunes, the bar was reasonably priced, well stocked and well staffed, the atmosphere was absolutely fantastic, all in all an absolutely great evening!!! Amazing craic!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here for a night on a last minute trip to Galway. The rooms are quite small but given all we wanted was a place to get ready and sleep it did us fine. The location is excellent right in the middle of Galway nightlife and the bar downstairs always has a great atmosphere with a live band at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jojo8814, Thank you so much for your fabulous and helpful comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Galway, and hopefully we will see you again. Sincerely, Frank. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I dont normally do reviews as i always feel everyones expectations are different with what they deem as reasonable... however after experiencing this "hotel" and after the disappointing response and conclusion to my complaint with the "hotel" manager, I Feel it is only human of me to express my concerns and hopefully prevent anyone else experiencing what we did. Below... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KingstonR7, All Points noted. We are again as I have pointed to previous contributors, a High Octane Entertainment location. It is well known as the Latin Quarter. On the Sunday Night that you checked in, our bar closed according to our License Type, at 11pm. We did not have music after that time, In fact Live Music stopped at... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This place is terrible. If looking for a good noisy bar, you have hit lucky, but the sleeping experience requires much in the way of liquid sedation. I arrived at 7pm on Saturday and saw no-one at reception (used loosely, it is a corridor) until checking out at noon the next day when a pleasant man called Conor kept saying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SpanishArchHotel_Rec, Manager at The Spanish Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Clo134, Thanks for your contribution. All I can say really is that we are located and advertised of the fact that we are located smack bang in the middle of Entertainment Central here in Galway - the Latin Quarter. It is musical, it is loud, it goes till late and starts early the next morning. It suits some, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question