We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Galway hotels

Pillo Hotel Galway

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headford Point, Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pillo Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Pillo Hotel Galway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #12 of 56 hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
OCR777 Birr, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (692)
  • Photos (72)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (3)
  • Room tips (97)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    235
    110
    39
    15
See reviews for
100
279
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birr, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stay at the Pillo Hotel 2-3 times a year and we are always happy with it. The staff are wonderful and so friendly. The rooms are bright and spacious and the food is fab. Free underground car parking is a plus and it is an easy walk into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and it was lovely to read that you are a regular guest. I will pass on your kind feedback to all of the team. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager More

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This modern hotel is located just outside the centre of Galway. It has an underground car park and has all modern conveniences. The staff are very attentive and polite and the room was modern,clean and had air conditioning, which was most useful. The bar food was good value for money and breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were efficient and polite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including your room, air conditioning, food and the service that you received from the team. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Siobhan... More

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in Pillo hotel for 2 nights lovely comfortable hotel in easy walking distance to Galway City. We had lunch on first day which was lovely breakfast both mornings was very good and great selection. However on second morning at 5.30 appox I was awoken by bin lorry testing equipment outside our window as if that wasn't bad enough deliveries... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Liz, Thank you for your review. I apologise that your sleep was disturbed on your second morning. The manager that you dealt with Niall did inform me and the kitchen of your complaint, and we will endeavour to have more timely delivery times. I am glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable and enjoyed the food. If... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary in May but were disappointed with the service. However upon e-mailing the hotel they asked us to return so they could make up for our bad experience. We returned in July and had such a wonderful experience. It was so refreshing to see they'd taken every one of our comments on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Corinna, Thank you taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are delighted that we were able to have the opportunity to look after you both again, and that your stay this time was so enjoyable. We always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests, however, if guests for some reason do not receive... More

NW Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was very easy to find, it has a very spacious underground car park. The decor is modern and clean. The lady who checked us in was extremely polite & helpful. The room was spacious with the much appreciated air-conditioning which could be controlled in room. A real comfy king size bed, there was ample hanging space, a safe,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, It is always lovely to read when our guests have had a good experience and are happy to share it with us. The fact that you had a good stay and were well looked after, is a testament to the work that the team here at the hotel put into ensuring that our guests are happy. We are... More

cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff here are most unsatifactory when its comes to local tourist attractions. We asked them to direct us to the route for the Aran Islands. One member of staff began showing us a brochure of the Doolin to Aran ferry! She was not Irish so we were willing to excuse this. I asked a receptionist with a local accent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Mairin, I apologise for the mis-information which you received about the route to Rossaveal. I am very sorry that it caused you to miss your ferry. Please be assured that I have followed up on this to ensure that we are providing the correct information for all tourist attractions to our guests. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night recently and was impressed, breakfast was excellent,rooms were basic but well kept and any staff I met were very helpful and friendly a little out of town but that didn't bother us

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Trevor, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Your kind comments about breakfast and the team have been shared with them. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when returning to Galway. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Mananger More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a four day break at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay and the following lists the pros and cons of our stay: Pros: - the staff were very helpful especially in the dining room - the reception staff at check-in was efficient but not very cheery - the breakfast was the best standard we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments on our breakfast and dinner and also the service that you received. I am sorry that you had some disturbance from other guests. We do ask that guests have consideration for others, unfortunately it is not always easy to control but we do... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from overnight stay. Hotel was fully booked out due to the Arts Festival.Room was spotless and spacious. Slightly outside the town (10 min walk) but loads of taxis outside.had dinner and breakfast and both were fabulous. Lovely quiet hotel with very friendly helpful staff.would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PilloHotel, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you posting your review and your recommendation to others. It was good that you got to visit Galway during the Arts Festival and I hope that you got to enjoy some of the entertainment that was on offer. I have shared your feedback on the cleanliness of your room with the Accommodation team and also how much... More

Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Pillo Hotel for a weekend and drove the 2 1/2 hour drive on the basis that as advertised by the hotel they were within walking distance of the city centre and had secure car parking. My car was broken into in the so called secure car parking area and the walk to the city centre is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pillo Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pillo Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Galway

Address: Headford Point, Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Galway 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pillo Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Courtyard
Galway Marriott

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway #9 Luxury Hotel in Galway #12 Business Hotel in Galway #14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, the Pillo Hotel Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to Galway City. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
104

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Pillo Hotel Galway and other travelers.
3 questions
A TripAdvisor Member
7 days ago
11 days ago

See all questions (3)

See which rooms travelers prefer