We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salthill Hotel

#9 of 48 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Salthill Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wheelchair accessible room was too small, we had to remove a piece of furniture to have access past the bed. Bathroom needed large grab rail in shower & shower hair. There was no hoist for wheelchair user to use pool facility. Lovely hotel & friendly but disappointed with disability accessibility.

Helpful?
Thank WheelchairUser2010
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We tried to book rooms with views but as 1 of the 2 rooms needed to be accessible could only book standard rooms. We chose the hotel as quieter area and because of the swimming pool. The whole trip was a disaster from the start. We arrived to a mob of people enjoying champagne and canapes in the reception, very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alanwalker5
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Im not long back from a wonderful weekend in the beautiful Salthill in Galway. Such a lovely place to be. Myself and twelve other Dubliners decided to spend a weekend in The Salthill Hotel. My first impression on arrival was maybe tainted by the weather which was dull, cold and raining but considering it was January and the geographical location... More 

Helpful?
Thank TCon1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very clean. Well maintained. Breakfast staff miserable no good morning no smiles. First morning greeted with a grumpy sit were ya like. No explanation as our first night. Only saving grace was a tall young man on staff who actually was pleasent. Second morning came to breakfast at 10.20 one woman on staff saw her once. No bacon two sausages... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
Bayreuth, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the room was big and relative well decorated, I could not have an enjoyable time there. Bathroom was beautiful but extremely uncomfortable and not logic. It had not any ventilation, it was more for a sauna, the sink was blocking all the time because the tap water was engineered to go exactly in the sink drain, until here is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taties
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely stay here Staff very friendly and helpful Room was huge and we got a sea view for no extra cost :) Great that the car park was free I don't think the breakfast was worth the money but what was there was nice enough - shame there was only one member of staff in there most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Princess4tom
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, the location is perfect, if you travel by car, by the seapromenade, about two miles west of downtown Galway. Great views, if you have a room on the seaside. The rooms, ours at least, are big and comfortable, the bathroom more than adequate. But service is more friendly than professional, no food after 10 o'clock. A bit akward for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matti S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location of the hotel on the sea front is lovely and the reception and bar area are impressive. Room was a really good size - no view at all but I guess to get a view of the sea you need to pay extra possibly. Breakfast was average. Visited in January and the room itself never warmed up so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil T
Fkillilea, General Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil T, Thank you for your recent review of Salthill Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and helps us to monitor and improve our service to ensure a satisfactory visit for all our guests. I can only hope that you will be... More 

Balbriggan, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The building itself is four star no doubt about it, but the staff are either inexperienced or slow. First night we arrive there were children running WILD in the lobby and corridors of rooms, running across tables and screaming staff showed no interest in stopping them. The showers were either boiling hot or freezing cold. "Toasted" sandwiches were bread with... More 

Helpful?
Thank 93Stephen
Fkillilea, General Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 93stephen, Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience at Salthill Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, all comments helps us to improve our service to ensure a satisfactory visit for all our guests. If you have the time I would be delighted to discuss this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

544 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (61)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
Seaview King Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#1 of 48 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#3 of 48 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#7 of 48 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#11 of 48 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
2.8 mi away
The g Hotel Galway
The g Hotel Galway
#10 of 48 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay