We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Quay Street House, 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    75
    49
    23
    18
See reviews for
12
39
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night with two friends on a Thursday night in June. We had booked a private room but one wasn't available when we arrived so the staff gave us a six-person dorm to ourselves. It came with a private washroom, which was across the hall. The location of this hostel is amazing! The street is crazy busy, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the centre of the city, with lots of places to go and wth all the traditional pubs wih Irish music and so, and lots of shops, the location was excellent. So was the staff, very nice and helpful. Also the facilities were nice and they were clean almost always. In general, we loved to stayed there.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very welcoming and helpful during my 6 days in Galway; They directed me to local hotspots for food, beverages, and informed me of events taking place during my stay, gave me numbers of contacts for my future destinations in Ireland - to go surfing, and explore the national parks to the south and north, and ultimately made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have choosen a Very nice location for our 4daysholidays....and the hotel was just to rest. ...but this doesn't mean don't clean the rooms and give to The guests a toast with Jam for breakfast..it's right probably for couples without any "expectation"

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Barnacles is located in the Latin Quarter, so there is lots going on. Music, food and drinks are easily accessible as well as shopping. It's close to a supermarket- Dunnes. I had a room on the third floor, so at night it wasn't that loud - nothing earplugs (which are free at reception) or music couldn't cope with. Pros: Has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent two nights in barnacles and without any doubts I can definitely say it has been one of the worst experience of my life. I have been there with my wife because we got a tour around Galway. We basically never slept because of the hostel's guests and noises of the street. People absolutely drunk knocked at our door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Davide, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at Barnacles is to provide the utmost comfort at the best price possible for all our guests whether they be backpackers, weekend revellers or those seeking a relaxing stay in Galway and I’m sorry again you didn’t enjoy some aspects of your stay.... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Pros: Central location in the heart of the action. Free wifi, single room (on a Friday night) for only 68 euro. Relatively clean (I'm confident my sheets were washed but found some...dark hairs....), did I mention convenient location? Near all of the best restaurants and bars. Cons: Noisy street (though the hotel has double-paned their windows to help with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Compact room... so pack light. 3 in a 4 bed was very tight. If you have OCD tendencies bring sleeping bag, although beds are dressed. Shower is push button so warms up..Request ear plugs at front desk for noise:as its on the main strip . Parking is a block away but you get small discount. Staff are incredibly helpful. Its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Had a great experience with Barnacles! Stayed there for a night with two of my friends as we were traveling through. Quiet, clean room and great breakfast in the morning (w/ free coffee machine). Excellent staff, and extra thanks to Yaheli for helping us find the best room and being extremely helpful and friendly! I'll be back if I make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I have stayed at Barnacles several times now both on business and personal. The rooms and bathrooms are absolutley spotless, the beds are comfy, and of course the storage cages under the beds are fantastic. The location is ideal, right in the city center and yet very quiet at night. The common area and kitchen are, as the rooms, super... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay