We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amberley House

Hotel website
34 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 10% Discount!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amberley House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amberley House
Amberley House
Amberley House
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
28
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good size room, we only booked a double but also had a single which was handy. Room was spotless and had a homely feel to it. Complimentary biscuits and water was also a very nice touch. The staff made us feel very welcome, and even kept our bags safe for about 6 hours after we left their room. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Heidi_McKiernan, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Dear Wallismaster, Let me first thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests perspective as your feedback is essential in order to improve or maintain the service we provide. I am delighted you liked your room and our facilities as we do feel these extra touches such as complimentary water on arrival,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the hotel about 2 weeks before arriving it was a good price and is a great location for everything. My room was very clean and tidy. I like how they kept the room key when I went out so I didn't have to worry about loosing it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heidi_McKiernan, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Dear WoodyJ07, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of Amberley House. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location, as we do pride ourselves on being so centrally located, close to all major tourist attractions, shopping districts and nightlife. I will pass on your kind words to our housekeeping team... More 

County Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was spotless and clean with a beautiful big window dominating one wall. The bed was comfortable and cosy. We were given complimentary sweets and biscuits, coffee and tea, and three bottles of water, which was a nice treat. The television was modern with a usb connection, which was handy. The bathroom was small but very clean. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heidi_McKiernan, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you once again for booking with The Amberley House. We appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards. Thank you again for this nice review, hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Silviu Tanase More 

Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a week in the 2 bed apartment. It was beautifully redone... all new furniture & very modern. The desk staff were very helpful. Close to everything. Only downside is that there was construction right outside our bedroom window which was loud. Maybe some kind of soundproof windows would help with noise. Other than that we were very happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heidi_McKiernan, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Amberley House. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our ‘Helpful staff’ as our customer service is very important to us. I will pass on your comments to the team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I decided to book the room in Amberley house as I was visiting Dublin on my own and wanted to have a cozy lodge with private bathroom. This hotel is one of hotel chain in Dublin, this one has a nice and comfortable design, it is a complex of rooms and apartments, probably next time I would choose the apartment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heidi_McKiernan, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Amberley House. I was very much pleased to read your wonderful review and I am pleased also to note that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next trip to Dublin and it will be my pleasure to assist you... More 

Glenbeigh, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled with our daughter and her family so needed 3 rooms. First, our room was lovely, spacious, clean and updated. Quietly located at the back, it had a brand new large bath with a tub and heated floor. We took a 2 bedroom apartment for the family which was in another building, but close by. It was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at Amberley House. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and loved the decor and furnishings in your room. It is always our aim to ensure guests enjoy their time here with us and it is disheartening to... More 

Washington DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As the title says, the location is great but... Property: We had a one bedroom unit that was in the next block from the check in location so had to haul our luggage there. The unit had dated furniture that was so bulky it took up too much room. The four seat dining table had to be pulled into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Our range of apartments are in the building next to your guesthouse. I am sorry you didn't like the TV that was mounted on the wall, most guests enjoy this feature. Check-in time is actually 4.00pm for our apartments so our reception staff had helped out in checking you in two hours early at 2.00pm. Our accommodation staff work hard... More 

Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor behind reception. Not only is traffic/road noise quite loud, but you can also hear the telephone ring, or the buzzer to let guests in. As other guests have commented the mattress is pretty dire and desperately needs replaced. Room clean though I did find an empty water bottle tucked up in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback following your stay. I am sadly disappointed that your experience was not a positive one due to the noise and the discomfort of your bed. Comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our top priority so I ensure you I will look in to these issues myself. More 

Community of Madrid, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was only a 5 minute walks from where our tour bus left. We only stayed here one night, but the road noise was awful! My mom literally put tissue in her ears to try to block it out! And there wasn't hot water for the showers. The staff was very friendly and the rooms seemed clean. Wouldn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, General Manager at Amberley House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and your room clean. I am however disappointed that the shine has been taken off your experience due to noise outside. We appreciate your comments and concerns. We truly care about our guests comfort. I would like to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question