We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 178 Dublin hotels

Hazelbrook House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hazelbrook House to your Saves list
Hazelbrook House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
39%
Ranked #137 of 178 hotels in Dublin
A recent review
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    58
    68
    41
    24
See reviews for
21
70
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Cork
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here a few times since 1997. Back then, they were more friendly and have changed hands since then....but they are ok now too, I just enjoyed the staff more years ago. The parking is very tight in a garage out the back. The accommodation can vary from decent front rooms looking out on to the busy Gardiner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Totalamnesia All of our beds have been fitted with Memory Foam Mattresses (most of the 4 star hotels in Dublin do not have Memory Foam mattresses) so your comment about our mattress is rejected. We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with three friends. We had a room with one double bed and three singles - and the smallest bathroom in the world! The room was clean and suited us for one night. The shower was awful, no pressure and no temperature control, it went from freezing to scalding every 30 seconds.....It's hovering on a fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Igloo It was great to have your group stay with us, our large family rooms have bathrooms that are equal in size and quality to any hotel or guesthouse in Dublin of an equal star-rating, however, each person is entitled to their own opinion. As explained water pressure can vary depending on usage, we have a very clear eco... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reading the list of negative comments reminds me of the comment "opinions are like ar**holes....everyones got one!!" Yes, there may have been some minor problems if you like to nit-pick but overall this is a well run little B&B. Simone and her staff made 10 lads aged between 25 & 57 very welcome upon our arrival. Check in was easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Matt It was a pleasure to have your group of great guys stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we look forward to your return visit, we are constantly trying to improve our customer service and your feedback is very welcome. Our city centre location means that we are within walking distance of all major attractions including award winning restaurants,... More

glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel to find the accomadation had changed the 4 bed an 3bed turned into 4doubles the rooms were being used an meant one of us had to b on our own it had no wardrobes an cold water in most the price we paid was without breakfast an there was no facilities for food in saying that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Rondo67 Firstly, we really enjoyed having your group of 8 fun ladies stay with us at Hazelbrook House, as you know, we made every good effort to keep your group together and I even gave you my own personal hair-drier when all the house hair-driers had been borrowed. I did explain that we had removed all of the out-dated... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Small rooms with terrible customer service and staff. Rooms overheat at night and the doorknobs don't even work. Toilets flush every 5-10 minutes and bathrooms are not clean at all. Messed up my groups reservation and are blaming us for the mistake and keeping our money. Save the stress and stay somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Reyn You have made false representations here on TripAdvisor in relation to your stay at Hazelbrook House and your comments are defamatory and libellous. You and your American buddies booked ONE-ROOM for 5 people on an OTA and then you proceeded to try and sneak another 5 people into the room, however, our Night-Porter stopped your breach of our... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 4 friends, all in one room, for a rugby weekend. Room was very clean, beds comfortable and bathroom adequate. The hotel is right in the centre of Dublin. For £60 each for two nights, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Racheal It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we remember your group well and we thank you for choosing Hazelbrook House for your stay in Dublin. We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very small room with very little space Old-fashioned style inside Not very clean and tidy Staff didn't have a good level of understanding of the English language Handy to center of Dublin Area was dodgy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Natasha I am sorry that your experience was not as good as it could have been when you stayed at Hazelbrook House, I am not sure which room you stayed in and I am sorry if it was one of the rooms that had not yet been refurnished. We take great pride in our rooms and premises and it... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

-Great location - right in the city centre -Cleaned everyday -Walking distance to all main attractions -Welcoming and friendly staff -It is what you pay for, if you expect more than a bed to sleep in and a shower to wash in book into the hilton! We didnt spend much time in the room as we were out enjoying Dublin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

With a group of friends we've stayed in Hazelbrook House, a place that I would like to discourage people from going to. The bed me and my girlfriend slept in was very soft. As a result we woke up every morning with pain in our back. The showers were ice cold (other guests told us that this was the case... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Jim I am somewhat confused by your opinion piece, you say it was a cold December and yet you wanted to sleep with your window open, but could not due to alleged mis-behaviour by others, you say you know what ‘hash’ smells like, I personally do not, but I can share this information with you. A group of young... More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place was a real bummer. The location is decent and pretty close to the sights, but upon arrival my whole mood changed because of the front desk employee. I had arrived earlier than expected, so I asked if I should wait a bit and she snapped at me, saying the room was ready and that's what she'd been looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review

Hi Cola When you BOOK DIRECT, you can select the B and B rate or the Room Only Rate, you BOOKED the cheaper rate and then expected to have breakfast for FREE also. Further, Our Full Irish Breakfast is NOT €10, it is in fact the same price as every other Guesthouse in Dublin. Regards, The Management and Staff, Hazelbrook... More

Been to Hazelbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House

Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook House Hotel
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin
Address: 85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazelbrook House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Budget Places, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hazelbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazelbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.