We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Canal Hotel

#48 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here while on business in Dublin - not bad. Good location, food at the bar was good and the rooms were fine. The "gym" is tiny alright, just a small room with a few machines. Would stay again though

Helpful?
Thank slipshaney
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grand Canal Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food in the bar. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Donna Curry More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for the Ireland v wales game. The location was amazing and so easy to get to. On arrival the reception staff weren't very pleasant and barely lifted their head to say hello! The room was nice and clean. However I had specfically requested a double bed and unfortunately when I got there it was 2 singles... More 

Helpful?
Thank 007laura007
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Canal Hotel. I am delighted that you found the location to be convenient. I am sorry that you felt that the welcome received was not as it should have been or that the service in the restaurant was not up to standard. We will take action to ensure... More 

Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a night here in January. The hotel was in a nice location and was nicely decorated with comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. There was a lovely bar downstairs which looked a mix of traditional and modern and seemed quite trendy. Had some lovely features and again staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebeccalyons1977
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed over in the hotel as I was attending a party with colleagues from work, People were disappointed that they serve craft beers only but soon found tipples they enjoyed for the night. We enjoyed some bar food which was to a very high quality. The room was to a high standard with a comfortable mattress although expensive for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank frankt1965
Monaghan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, room very comfortable and clean. Great selection of food for breakfast. Within easy walking distance of Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Also only about 15-20 minutes to walk to city centre. Free carpark for guests who book directly with the hotel website. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
County Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly and welcoming staff. Clean room, bright and airy. Very comfortable and quiet. Close to a lot of amenities and within walking distance of city centre. Great selection of craft beers and good food that's not too expensive. Even though it was a rugby weekend there was no noise around the rooms. The staff were very attentive to the customer.

Helpful?
Thank cdy2016
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and bathroom were nice and clean, lots of light, comfortable beds. The temperature though was extremely high to the point it was difficult to sleep and the thermostat didn't seem to work. WiFi is almost unusable.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Canal Hotel. I am sorry that your thermostat was not working in the room. With regards to the wifi we have recently upgraded our system so there should be no issues. I have asked our Computer support company to do a full survey on all of the access... More 

Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One night stay in November. Overall hotel was fine, room, bar service. Night porters were friendly and got us a late drink. My only irritation was the reception staff were very rude! One young gentleman was in particular very rude and unhelpful when asking for directions to the nearest service shop, as if I was bothering him!! On check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your November Stay. I am sorry that you didnt feel that the staff on Reception were as friendly as they should have been but am happy to hear that you were well looked after by the porters and bar staff. I hope that you are in Dublin again soon and... More 

Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in last few days, it's clean and functional in need of some modernisation. My initial engagement was poor, I was 'beckoned' to check in by a member of staff to check in while they were on the phone to a supplier, I was checked in while all the while they were on the call, not a word was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am horrified to think that you were checked in whilst a member of staff was on the telephone and can only apologize. I am sorry that you did not receive the service expected whilst checking in and can assure you that we have made it known that this is not acceptable. I hope that you will indeed... More 

County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I said here for a week as part of a business week in Dublin. Was going to be in Dublin early and needed to drop off my car. I rang ahead and even though I was not checked in the hotel said it was ok to park. Big benefit is the free parking and your room key gives you access... More 

Helpful?
Thank JWMD
Caroline_Haughey, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Canal Hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the service that you received was to the standard we strive to achieve. I will pass along the issue TV reception to the relevant team member to improve this. If you are in Dublin again for business... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

593 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (223)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (66)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#17 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#35 of 171 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#4 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay