We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Canal Hotel

#44 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Canal Hotel
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    478
    143
    35
    21
See reviews for
130
410
56
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1049)
  • Mar-May only
    (222)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (331)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (299)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (197)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a smart and well presented hotel, ideal for a business visit, not so much if you are a tourist, as it is about 25 mins walk from the main central district. However it was ideal for me. The room was very smart and clean, good bathroom, bed and refreshments provided. The TV had very few channels, which seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on Sunday 29/03/15 with friend as we were going to the Ireland V Poland match at Aviva. It is very handy as it is only about 15 min walk to the stadium. Its a nice hotel n many ways and very well run. As it was match day and the people started to arrive from 2.30 onwards I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found this hotel to be pretty much as advertised. It is a little further off the beaten track than a 20 minute walk to city centre. Wifi worked well and the staff was really helpful. Our room on the 5th floor was very quiet. We didn't try the breakfast at all. We ate at Gasworks Bar and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a family but were in Dublin for my husband's work. From the moment we arrived staff were exceptionally helpful. We had our baby daughter with us and she charmed everyone. We were provided with a travel cot and had a comfortable room on level five, an executive floor. The bed was very comfortable. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an insightful review. Its great to hear that you and your family had a great stay and that you found the staff "exceptionally helpful" and the service to a high standard. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Lisa More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not too expensive. Supplies what hotels should. Kind of far from most of the desired places. The breakfast should be avoided at all costs, the food and coffee are bad! There is a nice cafe in the next corner...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the breakfast. We usually get very good reviews about the breakfast so I was surprised to read that. I will make sure to share this feedback with the appropriate managers and I apologise if you were unhappy. We... More 

Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas when meeting up with friends for a catch up. Staff were excellent and the room was spacious and clean. Really enjoyed breakfast the next morning. Hotel is in a good location - however we did need a taxi to get us to/from town on our night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review after staying with us. Great to hear that you had a lovely stay over Christmas and that you found the bedroom, staff and food excellent during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Kind regards, Lisa More 

South Pacific
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm, comfortable & quiet. 2 minute walk to dart station and next stop city centre. Excellent breakfast and Gasworks bar attached with great food & regular entertainment. $10-$15 Euro for taxi to Temple Bar & Grafton Street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought the food was excellent. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Lisa More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a relaxed spoiled 3 day weekend hotel was fab staff were polite friendly professional and helpful. We loved our room 422 at the front of the hotel even though the bar was busy wexwernt disturbed. The Gasworks was ideal for bar food waitress was lovely appreciated the secure parking and transport advice given by reception will definitely stay again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. Delighted to hear that you had a relaxing weekend and that you were happy with all aspects of your stay including the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Lisa More 

San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good: I stayed at the Grand Canal for a week while traveling on business. The lobby is very nice, as is the staff. The rooms are large and comfortable. The cafe in the lobby was great for coffees and pastries while running out in the morning. The hotel is extremely close (2 minute walk) to the Grand Canal Docks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us here at The Grand Canal Hotel. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found that it was great value and that you will be back. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting dublin so close to the city centre yet in a nice quiet location surrounded by so many amenities and transport links , the food is absolutely gorgeous and the staff of who we met was , Kate , Ciara , Aran, all went above and beyond , this hotel is defintely one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had such a great stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Lisa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

557 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question