We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Dublin hotels

Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green to your Saves list
Ranked #96 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Fergus K
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    80
    41
    11
    16
See reviews for
26
63
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was pricey room for what it is. Small with bed pushed into corner. Views of dirty flats not very appealing. I suppose it was expensive because of its great location to Grafton street. Had to pay and extra €7 for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great base for a short weekend stay in Dublin. There are a good number of restaurants and bars within a stone's throw of the hotel, and the popular Temple Bar area is also close by. Great location for shopping too. Reception staff were very friendly and always smiled and said hello when coming or going. Had breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wondering what to expect having read certain reviews on here. But we were pleasantly surprised, okay its not 5 star luxury, but its within walking distance of all major attractions and we used the airport express bus 20 mins and only 10 euros return. Staff in hotel where all very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble, hotel is joined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear GBJ-Cookies, Thank you for taking the time to review Stephens Green Travelodge. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel and the area. I will make sure to pass on your feedback on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Dublin for 2 days with my wife and grown up children. Hotel was close to all the amenities. Staff were excellent and did all they could to help us. Rooms were comfortable and clean although the room did show signs of ageing and the corridor also. Basin had a crack in it and a cracked floor tile also.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear 647iank, Thank you for taking the time to review. I am delighted to read your found your room clean and comfortable and most importantly that you would be happy to return. I will ensure to pass all of your comments to the team who I am sure will find motivating. We look forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned to Dublin after a 22 year absence. My how things have changed. we stayed in various hotels from budget to 5* and have a fair appraisal of what's what. At the end of the day expect to get what you pay for ( in general ) and if things are better, then that's a bonus "Travelodge St Stephens Green"... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear 5530davidm, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you were happy with your stay and are happy to return. I will ensure to pass all of your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Stephens Green Travelodge. Kindest Regards, Claire O'Mahony More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at this hotel, so conveniently located and while possibly with slightly tired décor, who could quibble with its (weekday) prices. It was a perfect place for us to stay, with a convenient café/bar on the ground floor and within yards of shops, restaurants, public transport, merry crowds, and museums only slightly further away. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear Christine K, Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us here in Stephens Green Travelodge. I am delighted to read that the staff were able to accommodate you in your requests and you found them helpful. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel and to Dublin in the near future. Kindest Regards, Claire O'Mahony More 

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place close to town 1 minute walk.service great thow watch for carparking fees beside travelodge the underground one next to it very expensive cost me €50 for one stay of 24 hours ..bit noisy at night outside with revellers but did get a good sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear 732harryn, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and felt you received value for money. We are fortunate enough to be located right on the doorstep to Stephens Green and Grafton Street. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Claire O'Mahony More 

Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not your typical travel lodge, more of a value hotel room rather than the usual sparse travel lodge room. comfortable and clean with toiletries included in bathroom. great location for shopping and Landsdowne road. great breakfast at the café next door.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear mam0809, Thank you for review of Travelodge Stephens Green. We appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Also that you felt you received value for money. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Claire O'Mahony More 

Killala, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked into this hotel because of its location next RCSI (Our sons conferring) and they take dogs . The reception was OK but once inside the hotel proper the corridors and public spaces smelt badly (Damp +). The room was , the best way to describe it was greasy this applied to all surfaces , and to the bathroom... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear A9954XZchrish, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us here in Travelodge Stephens Green. Also that your room was not up to standard. I would be most grateful if you could afford me the opportunity to discuss your comments in detail, therefore I... More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Centrally located on the South side of the River Liffey, close to St. Stephens Green, Grafton Street and Temple Bar. The hotel has a small reception area, off which, there is a small sitting area and the café/bar. My room which overlooked a quiet side street, it was fairly large with all the usual facilities, but the room needed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Com1987, General Manager at Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green, responded to this review

Dear peebee43, Thank you for your review. I am happy that you found your room clean and large. Also that you enjoyed the I take all your comments on board and please that I have advised Maintenance of the plug and shutters. We do hope to welcome you back to the Travelodge Stephens Green in the near future. Kindest Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green

Address: Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Saint Stephen's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Dublin

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay