We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gate Hotel

80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gate Hotel
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    49
    9
    31
See reviews for
11
33
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Arrived on a Friday evening, hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, it actually looked like it was closed down! No lift in hotel if you have heavy bags, couple of flights of stairs to rooms. Lady that checked us in was very friendly and efficient. Room was very big, 3 double beds for 2 of is! Bathroom nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The main entrance is rather offputting, as it looks like the way into some sleazy bar. However, once you have gone up the dark staircase you reach reception and it is quite pleasant. The hotel is above a bar so could potentially be noisy, depending on where your room is located. The staff are absolutely charming and welcoming - this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for st patricks day.some parts a little dated im genral very very clean.we were a group of 4 girls i have to say we were well looked after the staff are all so friendly the food and bar entertainment next to none. The outside of the hotel does not do the inside justice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2015 by myself. I was a bit nervous having read the reviews but can honestly say it was lovely. Very comfy bed, lots of character and at a price that cannotbe beaten. Short stroll to all attractions, staff friendly. There is a pub downstairs so a bit of noise as expected. But if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilrush, Clare, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Group of us stayed last night, booked a few rooms. From the outside, this place is not at all inviting, quite the opposite in fact. Once inside, it gets a bit better. Fine place if all you need is a bed. It's old, dated, wonky stairs etc. But as I say, grand if all u want is a place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is above a pub, so I was expecting some noise. I wasn't expecting a Techno party going on below me though. The sign on the door said they had earplugs, but with such a bass, that doesn't matter. There were stains on the walls, the bathroom was clean, but the trashcan fell apart as soon as I used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed their end of January and were well impressed,it is old looking from outside and inside hallways but the rooms were excellent they must have been renovated .we stayed on the second floor it was a bit noisy but its Dublin so we didn't mind at all.breakfast was good the place looked familiar from the night before .for value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I can not get over the horror scene that I have just stayed in!! The stairs are wonky the heating didn't work at all, the room smells like a dirty hamsters cage.. That being dead rotted hamsters living in there! We were in a 7 person room and I shivered myself to sleep and woke up with a rash on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Hotel staff rude rashes from the bed lying staff swore at us. Stairs are a hazard building is falling down. Radiator broke so they tang a random man having a pint to fix it in a room full of girls. He couldn't fix it so.told us to drink jack Daniels. Random men in the door way weeing and not safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
annie99Dublin, Manager at Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leeanne, Thank you for your review on The Gate Hotel, you were the " ladies" in room 301 you commented on Bernie our staff member how sweet she was also how pleased you were with breakfast your fellow guests did not make it down and you requested breakfasts in the room as they had so much vodka and Jack... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I am a regular of the Rock club (fibberd) below and was going there that night so knew I wouldn't be in til after 3 am. When it was perfectly quiet. So yes before that very loud but it is the very middle of dublin city centre and prices are extremely good. I was lucky to get a new room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question