We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gate Hotel

80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gate Hotel
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    46
    8
    30
See reviews for
10
31
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed their end of January and were well impressed,it is old looking from outside and inside hallways but the rooms were excellent they must have been renovated .we stayed on the second floor it was a bit noisy but its Dublin so we didn't mind at all.breakfast was good the place looked familiar from the night before .for value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can not get over the horror scene that I have just stayed in!! The stairs are wonky the heating didn't work at all, the room smells like a dirty hamsters cage.. That being dead rotted hamsters living in there! We were in a 7 person room and I shivered myself to sleep and woke up with a rash on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel staff rude rashes from the bed lying staff swore at us. Stairs are a hazard building is falling down. Radiator broke so they tang a random man having a pint to fix it in a room full of girls. He couldn't fix it so.told us to drink jack Daniels. Random men in the door way weeing and not safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
annie99Dublin, Manager at Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leeanne, Thank you for your review on The Gate Hotel, you were the " ladies" in room 301 you commented on Bernie our staff member how sweet she was also how pleased you were with breakfast your fellow guests did not make it down and you requested breakfasts in the room as they had so much vodka and Jack... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am a regular of the Rock club (fibberd) below and was going there that night so knew I wouldn't be in til after 3 am. When it was perfectly quiet. So yes before that very loud but it is the very middle of dublin city centre and prices are extremely good. I was lucky to get a new room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Co.Donegal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

First impessions from outside is not what it is inside,a lovely hotel tucked away off O Connell St. Room was warm with a very comfortable bed ,as i booked a single i expected a single bed but a got a double bed which was great.Nice and quiet with a large shower and tea and coffee in room. Downstairs they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Very good location, nice staff. But the room was too small, you couln't even sit down in the room. The walls are thin, you can hear everything from the neighbours. The wifi did not work much on my floor. But for the short stay I had in Dublin, it was useful, because it was close to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Booked it with trepidation.Like other reviews seemed a bit scary at arrivals but once in I thought it was amazing value for money.Staff were brilliant and breakfast was really nice again staff were so lovely.Its so central too no regrets

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Meath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I stayed here by accident. I really did; it was a terrible accident. The photos of the hotel are nothing like those protrayed on the booking.com website. I had to climb over 2 people sheltering from the rain in the doorway to find the buzzer, to be let in eventually. Got checked in pretty quickly by a really friendly receptionist.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Had a blast as this place . Arrived on the saturday morning we were greeted by a lovely ladie called bernie . Who looked after us . Every1 was so friendly a will defo be returning here for anotha crazy weekend . Thanx guyz a had a wonderfull birthday xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Seedy, smelling of disinfectant and air freshener, and with ghastly amplified music emanating from below, making the floor hum, it was so loud. Impossible to sleep with that thunder. A nightmare.Don't touch it with a bargepole.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Hotel

Address: 80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Hotel Dublin

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay