We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 162 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Abbott Lodge Guest House

88 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 9, Ireland (North City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Abbott Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Abbott Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com Hostelworld.com
42%
Ranked #106 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rebecca S Neukirchen-Vluyn, Germany
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    54
    41
    31
See reviews for
22
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neukirchen-Vluyn, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was moderate. But the room was definitely not what I expected. We could not open the window because of disgusting smells from a kitchen nearby und there was a lot of garbage under our window. We booked the hotel for bed and breakfast, but decided to leave out the breakfast. I know it is a matter of taste,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spend 4 nights with my boyfriend in Abbot Lodge, it wasn't anything special. We took bed and breakfest. I am so dissapointed because I forget my silver bracelet in the room.Two days after when I notice that I missed the bracelet I called them and asked them, did they find my bracelet because I was sure that I left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the greatest hostels I've ever been. The staff is warm and friendly, it feels like home! The hostel is in a old structure, but really fascinating! The room was cleaned every day and the shower was hot and with a strong jet! The breakfast is very good and generous! And finally it is also in a central location!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Abbott Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you for your kind review of The Abbott Lodge in Dublin City Centre. Our key selling points are the fact that we offer comfortable accommodation at great rates, Full-Irish Breakfast, we are a few minutes’ walk from all places of interest, we are two minutes’ walk from award winning restaurants and traditional Irish Bars, we are 5... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Positives: they allowed us to check in at 9am although we were suppose to check in at 1pm. Negatives: I was only expecting a basic hotel as I only paid £37 (including breakfast) although cleanliness is important and it was absolutely disgusting! It was thick with dust so much so that my partner had an asthma attack. There was suspicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our room looked nothing like the pictures; very small, dated and too warm. It was a bit dusty but not dirty. The tv was tiny, one of the channels was blue. There was water in the kettle on arrival. There was no shampoo or shower gel, only soap. The shower was poor. The bed was pretty uncomfortable. There were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bray
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice place. .. good value for money. I could not believe that there could be such good value accommodation in heart of city center. . Room was nice and clean and breakfast was good. All in all. .8 out of 10

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The central heating gives you two choices: wether you feel like in a burning hell or you die freezing, there's no lift and the rooms are dirty. the shower is veeery bad, not onlt for the size of it but also because it looks like it's a tube leaking water more than an actual shower. Breakfast is poor and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Arrived at this hotel and found first impression would be a disappointment . The rooms we stayed was dull and somewhat a room of horror . My experience was to never to return to this place again as I have negative points . The breakfast wasn't bad its the only positive side . During our stayed most of us did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Abbott Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kenny Thank you for your kind review of Abbott Lodge, as you have stated we offer clean comfortable rooms in Dublin city centre, we are a few minutes walk from Temple Bar, yet our room rates are 30% cheaper than similar rooms in Temple Bar. Our Full Irish Breakfast is well known to our international and national guests. Please... More

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Abbott lodge after a brilliant day in Dublin to walk into a guesthouse of horrors!!! After our unwelcoming greeting to the guesthouse we were showed to our rabbit hutch of a room (sorry I meant "double guest room") the room was small I could reach from one side to the other . The room also boasts filthy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I went in this hotel 2 weeks ago with my friend for 2 nights to visit the town. the hotel is in the center of the town near the airport bus stop ( only 20 metres! ). the rate was very low. the room was very big and clean, my towels were changed daily. the bathroom was clean too. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Abbott Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott Lodge Guest House

Also Known As:
Abbott Lodge Guest House Hotel
Abbott Lodge Guest House Hotel Dublin
Address: 88 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Abbott Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbott Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.