We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Dublin accommodations

Jacob's Inn Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   21 - 28 Talbot Place, Dublin 15, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Jacob's Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Jacob's Inn Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #7 of 88 Specialty lodging in Dublin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
mbway Durham, North Carolina
  • Reviews (390)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    174
    65
    18
    17
See reviews for
17
62
75
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hostel has a great location at the bus and train station and near sights in Dublin. The breakfast is basic but filling enough. The dorm rooms are clean and the beds comfortable as bunk beds go. The security was very good with an inexpensive option to lock up luggage. Bring a towel and washrag.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Jacob's Inn with my sister in July 2014 over the Longitude Festival weekend. We arrived really early in the morning and couldn't check in until 3pm but they have huge cage lockers which you can use for a 10 Euro deposit. This fitted both our cases which meant we could go out and explore Dublin. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I feel really bad giving a poor rating because the two guys at the front desk were super cute, friendly and helpful and I really wanted to like this hostel. However, my time there was less than amazing. Our shower was clogged and was not able to be fixed until the next day (to be fair, the cute boy at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you didn't like the hostel. Breakfast is just a light breakfast we offer free of charge to our guests. The problem with crowding is that everyone often comes at the same time - earlier guests have no problem. More

Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in May in 4 bed dorm. Room was very clean, nicely decorated, along with a really nice ensuite bathroom and other things like a wardrobe etc. I think 30 euro per person is a lot for a hostel, but it was more like staying in a budget hotel so I feel the price was acceptable. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. Our larger rooms are a lot cheaper - we have 10 bed and 12 bed dorms. More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just to be very clear, this inn is designed for the backpacker, not for someone looking for a 4-5 star hotel. However, if we came back to Dublin for cheap, this would be the only place we'd go. 1) Extremely clean. 2) Extremely safe. 3) Close to downtown Dublin and everything you'd want to see. We were able to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review - delighted you enjoyed the hostel. More

Cork
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable. Great value for money. Lots of events organised-many free of charge. The only letdown was that the rooms were a bit too warm. Overall, a very nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. It's rare that it is warm in Dublin - come back in winter and you will see how warm it is!! More

Wakefield, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really think with this hostel it's who your roommates are and what room you picked. I would say don't pick a 12 bedroom room with only one bathroom. The comforter was a bit gross, the wi-fi was only downstairs but that didn't bother me. They didn't have any place to lock your things in, in your room so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Your comments are fairly positive but your rating is very bad. Regarding the comforters (duvets) - we put fresh covers on daily so I am wondering what was disgusting about it. I am going to get our housekeeping to check the room you were in and see what is wrong with the duvet. More

Gatineau
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were nice. Didn't stay long in the hostel as I was just in Dublin on a stopover but the staff were nice. Bed was good, noise wasn't too bad and the shared bathroom was good. I was able to get a little breakfast before leaving (even though it was before 7:30 am, grasp!!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatever u do .. Even if u cannot find a bed in Dublin Never stay here.. U would be better of staying in the Dublin Prison for the nite .. Or in the streets... But never here It is a party hostel and that's the way they like it- Their own sign says quiet after 11pm - They don't mean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay - we're going to look into your comments but this is not a party hostel and we do have rules in place and our night porters are supposed to deal with any noise - we will be investigating I assure you. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was amazing.The people, the free breakfast, Wi-Fi (actually works on first floor). the only thing that should be different...the toilets should be in a different room than the shower. This was a popular place, so be prepared to make new friends, everyone was so friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review- glad you liked the hostel. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Jacob's Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Jacob's Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob's Inn Hostel

Address: 21 - 28 Talbot Place, Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacob's Inn Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jacob's Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jacobs Inn is Dublin’s only purpose built backpacker’s hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station and by the tram and rail lines Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. All rooms are large and spacious and ALL have en suite bathroom facilities. Temple Bar is a ten minute walk away and O’Connell Street, The O2, Croke Park and The Aviva are all within five minutes of the hostel. Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, , FREE Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen, FREE Events and Entertainment,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge, 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Movie Nights ,BBQS and Much More! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
71

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer