We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

3.5 of 5 36/37 Pearse Street | Dublin City Centre, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    86
    25
    16
    15
See reviews for
38
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been here a number of times I can say with some confidence that the service is consistently cold and unwelcoming. And the prices! €9 for a G&T, €1.50 for a packet of crisps. Don't bother with the carvery if you're a vegetarian, I was charged €7.50 for some oven chips, coleslaw and limp, unexciting salad. There are no vegetarian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break in Dublin and overall it was very good however a bit over priced for what is essentially a bed and breakfast, it is central to where all the action is located by Trinity College. Breakfast was ok, however was a bit greasy for my own taste as deep fried, didn't spoil my first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pretty frustrated with the poor customer service at O'Neills. I booked a room and had to cancel it, and did so 24 hours in advance. I was still charged the FULL AMOUNT of the room. No partial refund, or refund of any kind. Although their cancellation policy of canceling 72 hours in advance is posted on confirmed reservations, outside circumstances... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that the reviewer was unhappy about the late cancellation charge which is the standard procedure in hotels worldwide. To clarify our cancellation terms we require 48 hours notice in the event of a cancellation. The room was held by us for many months prior to the late cancellation and furthermore we only ever receive the cost of... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Although we could walk to the downtown area, it was a little further away than we thought. It is quaint and the pub part was lovely with lots of wood paneling. Food was excellent and Guinness was awesome! We used the hop on and hop off bus and enjoyed the ride and the sights. We got off at the old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Mountains, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Firstly, there must be some way of avoiding the inconvenience so many people seem to experience when arriving when the pub is closed. Our early flight arrival made this unavoidable but even after advising them beforehand we stood on the doorstep ringing the bell for 15 minutes before some guests who were leaving found someone to help us. We left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

We welcome all reviews however late because we can try to rectify any shortcomings we may not have noticed ourselves, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for the indifferent welcome you say you received which I agree should never... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I gave this hotel a 4, as it could do with a bit of refurbishment - for the same price there are some lovely hotels with new beds etc. The shower was extremely powerful (I think the most powerful shower I've ever been in), but the bathroom had some black mold on the ceiling, which looked to be spreading to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I booked this as a getaway for myself and my husband, just two nights. We arrived and the gentleman behind the bar was very helpful and friendly. I understood this was a town house and that there was a lot of stairs to get to our room. When we got to the room the first impression was good, until we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I appreciate your review but I am disappointed that you found our townhouse not to your liking however glad that you enjoyed our pub downstairs. I find it frustrating that you experienced so many problems with your room yet failed to mention any of them when staying here. The heating was on but guests control their own room temperature and... More 

Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at O'Neill's. Check-in was quick and efficient with the staff member guiding us upstairs to drop off our bags until our rooms were ready. The room was nicely appointed, nothing over-the-top fancy but clean and comfortable. Our room was above the street and wanting to have the windows open for fresh air, we found it rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in September. The place is run by three brothers who are friendly hard working and have a nice friendly pub. The rooms were clean and of good size and were very reasonable for the location. The Best thing about the guest rooms were the location. Although the street itself is unremarkable, it is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay but I must point out that breakfast starts at 8 pm Monday - Friday and at 9 pm at weekends, sorry for the confusion and many thanks for posting your review. More 

Englewood
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

They serve cafeteria style, pick your own table, get your own food and drinks. Food was good, and it was a very busy place. Hard to find a table, bar busy also. We did not stay there, only went for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your lunch and hopefully you might stay us next time you visit More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Address: 36/37 Pearse Street | Dublin City Centre, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Neills Victorian Pub And Townhouse
o`Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse Hotel Dublin

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay