We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
36/37 Pearse Street | Dublin City Centre, Dublin 2, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
38
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Meals are huge. You could share one between two. Average price is €12 to €13. Very good value for money. Sometimes hard to find a seat but I think there are more seats upstairs. Service is fast. It is cafeteria style but food is fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night. Room was clean but not as advertised, no tea/coffee making facilities. Went to the bar for food. Sign outside said food til 9. Had to wait 15 minutes before i called a staff member to ask for a menu, and was then rudely informed that the kitchen closed in 10 minutes, it was 8.20pm. Plus nearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went here at the end of a walking tour at about 2 p.m. My tour offered a discount for lunch, 10 euros for your entree and a soft drink. The place seems to get briefly overwhelmed when the crowds come in with the tours, but the staff tries very hard to be accommodating. There is a lunch buffet line... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we stayed has a king bed and a single bed, which is more than enough for a couple. The bathroom is clean and tidy and is around 6m2. The only minus is that the hot water supply is limited. We arrived late in the evening and were told there was no hot water for shower anymore. The Internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you were happy with your room and with your breakfast. Unfortunately the lack of water when you arrived was outside our control as the council had reduced supply due to essential local works. I hope your stay with us was not inconvenienced too much by the temporary disruption of... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Went here before and after rugby and what a great pub - don't be put off when you go into the first bar - there are loads of multi level nooks and crannies on several levels .The bar staff coped well with loads of people and it has a great atmosphere with friendly locals -.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Glad you were happy with visit here and that our hard working staff looked after you. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Having been here a number of times I can say with some confidence that the service is consistently cold and unwelcoming. And the prices! €9 for a G&T, €1.50 for a packet of crisps. Don't bother with the carvery if you're a vegetarian, I was charged €7.50 for some oven chips, coleslaw and limp, unexciting salad. There are no vegetarian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am disappointed that our food was not to your taste but the vast majority of our customers are meat eaters so we tend to cater for their tastes rather than the 3% vegetarians. This is not to say we do not have vegetarian options on, we do, but unfortunately they tend not to sell and end up being thrown... More 

Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed here for a weekend break in Dublin and overall it was very good however a bit over priced for what is essentially a bed and breakfast, it is central to where all the action is located by Trinity College. Breakfast was ok, however was a bit greasy for my own taste as deep fried, didn't spoil my first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Pretty frustrated with the poor customer service at O'Neills. I booked a room and had to cancel it, and did so 24 hours in advance. I was still charged the FULL AMOUNT of the room. No partial refund, or refund of any kind. Although their cancellation policy of canceling 72 hours in advance is posted on confirmed reservations, outside circumstances... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that the reviewer was unhappy about the late cancellation charge which is the standard procedure in hotels worldwide. To clarify our cancellation terms we require 48 hours notice in the event of a cancellation. The room was held by us for many months prior to the late cancellation and furthermore we only ever receive the cost of... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Although we could walk to the downtown area, it was a little further away than we thought. It is quaint and the pub part was lovely with lots of wood paneling. Food was excellent and Guinness was awesome! We used the hop on and hop off bus and enjoyed the ride and the sights. We got off at the old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Mountains, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Firstly, there must be some way of avoiding the inconvenience so many people seem to experience when arriving when the pub is closed. Our early flight arrival made this unavoidable but even after advising them beforehand we stood on the doorstep ringing the bell for 15 minutes before some guests who were leaving found someone to help us. We left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

We welcome all reviews however late because we can try to rectify any shortcomings we may not have noticed ourselves, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for the indifferent welcome you say you received which I agree should never... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question