We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
36/37 Pearse Street | Dublin City Centre, Dublin 2, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    86
    25
    16
    15
See reviews for
38
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here before and after rugby and what a great pub - don't be put off when you go into the first bar - there are loads of multi level nooks and crannies on several levels .The bar staff coped well with loads of people and it has a great atmosphere with friendly locals -.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Glad you were happy with visit here and that our hard working staff looked after you. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Having been here a number of times I can say with some confidence that the service is consistently cold and unwelcoming. And the prices! €9 for a G&T, €1.50 for a packet of crisps. Don't bother with the carvery if you're a vegetarian, I was charged €7.50 for some oven chips, coleslaw and limp, unexciting salad. There are no vegetarian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am disappointed that our food was not to your taste but the vast majority of our customers are meat eaters so we tend to cater for their tastes rather than the 3% vegetarians. This is not to say we do not have vegetarian options on, we do, but unfortunately they tend not to sell and end up being thrown... More 

Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed here for a weekend break in Dublin and overall it was very good however a bit over priced for what is essentially a bed and breakfast, it is central to where all the action is located by Trinity College. Breakfast was ok, however was a bit greasy for my own taste as deep fried, didn't spoil my first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Pretty frustrated with the poor customer service at O'Neills. I booked a room and had to cancel it, and did so 24 hours in advance. I was still charged the FULL AMOUNT of the room. No partial refund, or refund of any kind. Although their cancellation policy of canceling 72 hours in advance is posted on confirmed reservations, outside circumstances... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that the reviewer was unhappy about the late cancellation charge which is the standard procedure in hotels worldwide. To clarify our cancellation terms we require 48 hours notice in the event of a cancellation. The room was held by us for many months prior to the late cancellation and furthermore we only ever receive the cost of... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Although we could walk to the downtown area, it was a little further away than we thought. It is quaint and the pub part was lovely with lots of wood paneling. Food was excellent and Guinness was awesome! We used the hop on and hop off bus and enjoyed the ride and the sights. We got off at the old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Mountains, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Firstly, there must be some way of avoiding the inconvenience so many people seem to experience when arriving when the pub is closed. Our early flight arrival made this unavoidable but even after advising them beforehand we stood on the doorstep ringing the bell for 15 minutes before some guests who were leaving found someone to help us. We left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

We welcome all reviews however late because we can try to rectify any shortcomings we may not have noticed ourselves, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for the indifferent welcome you say you received which I agree should never... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I gave this hotel a 4, as it could do with a bit of refurbishment - for the same price there are some lovely hotels with new beds etc. The shower was extremely powerful (I think the most powerful shower I've ever been in), but the bathroom had some black mold on the ceiling, which looked to be spreading to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I booked this as a getaway for myself and my husband, just two nights. We arrived and the gentleman behind the bar was very helpful and friendly. I understood this was a town house and that there was a lot of stairs to get to our room. When we got to the room the first impression was good, until we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

I appreciate your review but I am disappointed that you found our townhouse not to your liking however glad that you enjoyed our pub downstairs. I find it frustrating that you experienced so many problems with your room yet failed to mention any of them when staying here. The heating was on but guests control their own room temperature and... More 

Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at O'Neill's. Check-in was quick and efficient with the staff member guiding us upstairs to drop off our bags until our rooms were ready. The room was nicely appointed, nothing over-the-top fancy but clean and comfortable. Our room was above the street and wanting to have the windows open for fresh air, we found it rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in September. The place is run by three brothers who are friendly hard working and have a nice friendly pub. The rooms were clean and of good size and were very reasonable for the location. The Best thing about the guest rooms were the location. Although the street itself is unremarkable, it is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay but I must point out that breakfast starts at 8 pm Monday - Friday and at 9 pm at weekends, sorry for the confusion and many thanks for posting your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question