We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4.0 of 5 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
#51 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
537 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    217
    85
    37
    15
See reviews for
53
200
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (537)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Abbeville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a two night stay on our driving adventure across Ireland. The room was nice and bed was comfortable. Secure parking within walking distance. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were very helpful and seemed to go out of their way to serve. It was our first time in Dublin and they pointed out everything they thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Smart hotel, but the mattress on the bed completely collapsed no matter where you tried to sleep on bed (and I am not a heavy person); it was so uncomfortable I took to sleeping on the floor. Very disappointing as the facilities, maintenance and location are very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChaletChevran Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was so delighted to read that you found our facilities both smart and up to our usual first class standard. The hotel is in an excellent location in the Dublin's city centre which is ideal for... More

London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were travelling as a group (GCCG) on a classic car tour of Ireland and this busy hotel was a stopover in the capital for which we added an extra earlier day to acclimatise. The location is good and secure parking was provided nearby. Our room, at least, was perfectly acceptable, smart and with a big comfy bed. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Classiccarguy Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms and, as you say, the rooms at the back of the hotel provide a lovely view of some of Dublin's newly renovated docklands.... More

Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel caters business people and big tour groups. Staff is extremely friendly and that makes up for the rooms that could use some refurbishing. There seems to be a problem with the airco because once again the room was too warm. You could easily open a window as the hotel is centrally located yet very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yves J Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you found the team friendly and welcoming and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them as knowing that we contributed in some way to the enjoyment... More

St-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the rooms are basic. matress is old! breakfast is ok with good choice. but tea is not good. the gym is small are dirty.. there were many empty small bottles of shampoo in the bathroom next to the gym.. also the wather fontain was empty...bad impression

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrzicool Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast but sorry to hear you did not enjoy your cup of tea. I was also very sorry to read that you were disappointed with our bedrooms. The hotel is undergoing... More

Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located ~5mins walk to Trinity College and close to many central Dublin locations. The hotel provides spacious rooms with good facilities. Decor is perhaps tending to a tad on the tired side in places but nothing that is off-putting. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Highly recommend if you need to visit TCD or nearby businesses.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ed L Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment in the coming months and I would love to welcome you back when this is completed. In this regard please contact me directly on... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, well located for all of Dublin but maybe get a cab back from Temple bar area as bit of a walk....especially after all that Guiness! Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. Staff couldn't be more helpful or pleasant. Must say a special thank you to Sian,(the receptionist) she was fantastic...she saved the day and retrieved our boarding passes which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. As you so rightly pointed out we at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel are in a fabulous location right in the heart of the Dublin's city centre and within walking distance of many of its various attractions. A taxi back from Temple Bar after... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay once a month. The hotel is clean and comfortable and good value. The staff are extremely friendly and keen to make the stay pleasurable. Breakfast is excellent . I am happy to recommend it for both business and pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oliver E Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are always delighted here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel to welcome our regular guests and I am very pleased to read that you always find the team welcoming and eager to make your stay more memorable. I will be sure to pass on your... More

Maryville, TN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the O'Callaghan Alexander for a total of 4 nights and enjoyed the stay completely. The rooms are clean and modern, the Irish breakfast was very good, the food nicely prepared on the two evenings we ate in. The best part was the staff; Danelle, Mairead, Sian, Gordon, Agatha, Laura, Tony, Chi, ..all so friendly, helpful and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SusanJane Many thanks for posting your delightful review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms. Thank you for the kind comments about breakfast and your evening meals - Chef is constantly upgrading and such feedback is vital to his ongoing... More

Halfmoon, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent three nights at this hotel in a great location in Dublin. Easy walk to many attractions. The hotel was nice but made even better by the great front desk staff, especially a young lady named Niamh. She went out of her way to be helpful with suggestions and directions. Thank you Niamh! we enjoyed all of your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb J - thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor. We are so lucky here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel to be in such a central location in Dublin within a stone throws of its many and varied attractions. I was delighted to read your kind comments about the team - we aim to... More

Do you own or manage O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

399 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Reginald's Tower
Reginald's Tower
Architectural Buildings
Merrion Square
Merrion Square
Landmarks/ Points of Interest