We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4.0 of 5 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    259
    92
    42
    16
See reviews for
62
226
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (633)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was great for us. We stayed for three nights as part of our day 10 day journey across Europe. The staff were very friendly. The hotel was clean and presentable. Rooms were comfortable and spacious which is a welcome find in Europe. We highly recommend staying here if you are ever in Dublin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time for posting a review on Tripadvisor I was delighted to see you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I was so pleased to read that our well appointed rooms provided you with a comfortable oasis for an enjoyable stopover in your trip. Thank you for your very kind... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in this fine city centre hotel and found the staff very friendly and focused on making my stay better. One person, the night porter, Cyril, was really helpful & engaging. A real bonus for this hotel to have people like this taking care of your customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor I was so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay here with us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I will be certain to pass on your extremely kind comments to the team here as we strive to provide excellent first class service to all our guests at... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our early morning arrival was anticipated beautifully and a room was ready for us. Unfortunately, though, the heating system was not working properly, so we were given a suite instead. It was very spacious and wonderfully well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the staff, especially Sian, was wonderfully kind and helpful. In addition to all this, being walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. While I am very sorry you had issues with the heating in your room I am delighted we were able to solve the problem promply and efficiently and that you subsequently enjoyed your stay with us in one of our fabulous well appointed suites. Sian is a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived really early in the morning and technically weren't able to check in until 2pm. The lady at the desk worked her magic and got us into a room right then and there. It was wonderful beause we were extremely exhausted and needed some rest. The staff is so friendly the locations is perfect. Close enough to the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to see that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and you were able to rest before experiencing our wonderful city. As you so rightly pointed out the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Dublin's city centre... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were fortunate to be allocated a 'trial ' refurbished room during our stay. The standard of the from was very high being tastefully furnished and of a good size with a comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful . The hotel overall had a very comfortable feel with a good ambience in the public areas. Hotel very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor I am delighted to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. As we greatly appreciate all feedback thank you for you comments about the room which will be certainly taken on board. I was so pleased to read that you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a Christmas lunch last week in Alexander Hotel recently. I requested no vegetables with butter or cream to be served on my plate. Unfortunately my meal came with mash potatoes with butter. I complained to the Manager of the restaurant and was told that he didn't give me very much mash potatoes and that there was only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you'd like a great welcoming experience with very friendly and warm staff, you cannot go wrong with O'Callaghan. The staff is superb and very hospitable. The room could be tad tiny by American standards but perfectly okay by European standards. The hotel is walking distance from Trinity College and would be about a 20-25 minute walk to the Temple-bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor As we here at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel pride ourselves on providing first class service at all times I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed the teams superb hospitality. I will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to them... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I checked in at 10pm and there was no food available. The next day I went down at 11am and was told by staff that he was "too busy" to serve food. There were only 2 people in the whole restaurant. On the same night they mixed up reservations made for a dinner meeting. This resulted in having to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

I appeciate you taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. As we here at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel are constantly upgrading and improving our service to our guests we appreciate all feedback provided by our guests and act immediately on all constructive suggestions. We do provide a room service menu which is available thoughout the night. Please be... More 

Kildare Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel in November 2014 on business. It is in a good location for visiting Dublin attractions such as Trinity college and the shopping streets. If driving to the hotel there is offsite parking in an apartment complex a block away - ring in advance for the code to the gate or leave your bags at reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. As you so rightly pointed out the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of Dublin's city center and within close proximity to many of its wonderful and varied attractions. As parking is at a premium and is very costly in the city... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was spacious and king size bed was very comfortable. Great shower in bathroom. The down side was the service at breakfast. I felt rushed, as staff kept snatching plates from my table, before I had finished eating. Apart from the breakfast service, I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms. I am very sorry to see you felt rushed at breakfast and pleased be assured that I have asked our Restaurant Manager to investigate this issue thorougly.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin

403 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (15)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay