We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4.0 of 5 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
#51 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
541 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    220
    85
    37
    15
See reviews for
54
201
26
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (128)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Templepatrick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here with a group of classic car enthusiasts in early September 2014. The rooms were excellent, smartly furnished and modern. The hotel staff were very efficient, courteous and professional. Important for us was the secure carparking offered by the hotel and the area they screened off. This got very appreciative comments from my fellow travellers. I have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my sister on a 2 night city break to Dublin in July 2014. Very comfortable and spacious hotel, large beds, spacious bathroom and free Wifi. We even arrived early and they kindly checked us straight in and took us to our room. Takes about 15 mins to walk into the heart of Dublin, but theres plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at hotel after overnight flight from Atlanta, Georgia and was checked in quickly to our room with king size bed. Our room was comfortable with ample air conditioning. The room had a window which could be opened to allow fresh air. There was a desk with chair along with 2 other chairs and table. There were 2 high intensity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman, OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a taxi to the O'Callaghan Alexander and the driver had trouble figuring out which one it was as there are 3 or 4 in the area. The O'Callaghan Alexander was a nice refuge at the end of a long day of walking Dublin. The staff are very friendly and helpful with anything you need. The room was comfortable, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbeville, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two night stay on our driving adventure across Ireland. The room was nice and bed was comfortable. Secure parking within walking distance. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were very helpful and seemed to go out of their way to serve. It was our first time in Dublin and they pointed out everything they thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Smart hotel, but the mattress on the bed completely collapsed no matter where you tried to sleep on bed (and I am not a heavy person); it was so uncomfortable I took to sleeping on the floor. Very disappointing as the facilities, maintenance and location are very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChaletChevran Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was so delighted to read that you found our facilities both smart and up to our usual first class standard. The hotel is in an excellent location in the Dublin's city centre which is ideal for... More

London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling as a group (GCCG) on a classic car tour of Ireland and this busy hotel was a stopover in the capital for which we added an extra earlier day to acclimatise. The location is good and secure parking was provided nearby. Our room, at least, was perfectly acceptable, smart and with a big comfy bed. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Classiccarguy Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms and, as you say, the rooms at the back of the hotel provide a lovely view of some of Dublin's newly renovated docklands.... More

Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel caters business people and big tour groups. Staff is extremely friendly and that makes up for the rooms that could use some refurbishing. There seems to be a problem with the airco because once again the room was too warm. You could easily open a window as the hotel is centrally located yet very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yves J Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you found the team friendly and welcoming and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them as knowing that we contributed in some way to the enjoyment... More

St-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the rooms are basic. matress is old! breakfast is ok with good choice. but tea is not good. the gym is small are dirty.. there were many empty small bottles of shampoo in the bathroom next to the gym.. also the wather fontain was empty...bad impression

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrzicool Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast but sorry to hear you did not enjoy your cup of tea. I was also very sorry to read that you were disappointed with our bedrooms. The hotel is undergoing... More

Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well located ~5mins walk to Trinity College and close to many central Dublin locations. The hotel provides spacious rooms with good facilities. Decor is perhaps tending to a tad on the tired side in places but nothing that is off-putting. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Highly recommend if you need to visit TCD or nearby businesses.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ed L Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment in the coming months and I would love to welcome you back when this is completed. In this regard please contact me directly on... More

Do you own or manage O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

399 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Reginald's Tower
Reginald's Tower
Architectural Buildings
Merrion Square
Merrion Square
Landmarks/ Points of Interest