We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
Ranked #58 of 177 hotels in Dublin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Naoimh M Belfast, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (508)
  • Photos (395)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    203
    84
    35
    15
See reviews for
50
192
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect hotel in a great location with a very spacious room. We booked for €68 for an overnight stay and was well worth it. The staff could not have been better. They were so friendly and helpful. Would definitely return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us here in our well appointed rooms. Please be assured that I will pass your kind and encouraging comments onto the team. There is no better job... More

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband & I used the hoteldirect.co.uk website, and booked one of their 'secret hotels', only to be delighted that we had booked The Alexander, a hotel that we have stayed at many times over the past 15 years. The price for this hotel was approximately 50% of the Alexander's listed price for a double room. The room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I was delighted to see that you got a pleasant surprise when you booked your accommodation to see that you were returning here to us. Many thanks for your kind comments in relation to the team... More

Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this place for 2 nights. When we arrived we found out that they had bumped us up to a suite because the place was packed. Lovely surprise for us! The room was massive, things were clean, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly in both directions and suggestions of things to do and see. My only complaints... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here as we aim to make all our guests stays as comfortable as possible. Many thanks for you kind comments about the team which I will be sure to pass on as such kind comments... More

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our last stop on our journey around Ireland.The receptionist, Danielle was very helpful when we asked her advice on where to go in the evening.The room was a pleasure.Apart from our phone not working,I couldn't fault the room.The bed was massive,6ft by 6ft! and very very comfy.The breakfast was above average and the service was very good.Easy access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting such a positive review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read your kind comments about our staff and in particular Danielle who is a valued member of the team. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments as there is no better satisfaction than praise for job well done. I... More

Diamond Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a let down I booked a room on line in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel for my partner & I as a special treat as we where flying home to Australia the following afternoon. We had spent 10 weeks traveling Europe & had a fantastic 2 weeks in Ireland. I made an error when booking by not selecting a double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for posting a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I was so disappointed to read that you had issues with your reservation and room type. I am very sorry that the information about the change to your reservation did not filter its way to the Front Desk. I have investigated the matter and... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Alexander from 02 August to 05 August during our brief visit to Ireland. The hotel's location is ideal, just a 5 minute walk from City Center, Trinity College, and Grafton Street. The hotel itself is very nice and our room was comfortable and quiet. The staff are terrific, with a special shout-out to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us here in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. Many thanks for your kind comments about the team and in particular Sian. Sian is a valued member of the team and I will be sure... More

Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for about four nights, and were pleased with the size of our room after being in London for a few days. The restaurant was good and the breakfast even better. Front staff very helpful, and I was thrilled that they provided 1 euro water for purchase. Yes, this is a big "tour bus" hotel, but the groups... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed a comfortable stay in our well appointed rooms. I was however disapointed to see that you had some housekeeping issues but please be assured that I will be bringing these to our Accommodation... More

Cullman, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is centrally located within the city centre, and has a great staff! Conveniently located within walking distance of Hop On/Hop Off Bus Stop #5. The hotel does have air conditioning, but we seemed to think the weather outside was cooler than the air conditioning allowed. The rooms were very large and clean. The shower had excellent water pressure,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I am delighted you found our team friendly and welcoming as it our aim at all times to make your stay... More

Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely stay in Alexander but come on guys 7 euro for a small glass of wine. Ridiculous!! But otherwise everything else was fab. Go there on a regular basis and never remember wine being so expensive. The room was fab bed really clean and cosy and loved the shower. Staff as always are friendly and very helpful with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor I am delighted to see that you have stayed with us in the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel on a regular basis and that you have enjoyed comfortable stays with us here. Thank you for your kind comments about the team which I will be sure to pass onto them... More

Midlands, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a significant business traveler maybe I am a bit more demanding but I try to give honest reviews based on my global experience. I was staying at the hotel in August so perhaps my review does not reflect the hotel throughout the year but this hotel is very much geared towards the American package tour when I stayed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that our service and the friendliness of our staff stood out as a real positive and I will be passing your kind comments to the team. I regret that you had a number of issues in your room and I would... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

395 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Classic King Room (94)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin #47 Family Hotel in Dublin #57 Business Hotel in Dublin #61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer