We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Dublin

2.0 of 5 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Announcement
Get 25% off or more!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Generator Hostel Dublin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Generator Hostel Dublin
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    278
    85
    41
    14
See reviews for
47
108
156
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (767)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (229)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (220)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Wicklow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first time staying in a hostel in Dublin but have stayed in other hostels that I have been very happy with. It is located within a 10 minute walk of the city centre and taxis are easily arranged also. On arrival it is very modern and there is a nice atmosphere around the place. The door guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Myfriend and I stayed here for two nigths in november. We usually dont stay at hostels, but we wanted to try something different and also we needed it to be as cheap as possible. Ive stayed in one hostel before, and i was sooo suprised by this hostel. Generator Dublin is a really nice hostel, it could remind a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised. I do however apologise that your name was not verified the second time, I have reiterated to the reception team how important this security check is. Hope to see you back very soon.... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a generator hostel 3 years ago in Berlín that is why i booked this one. It is not exactly in the city center but 20 min walk. It has a restaurant and bar which are pretty good, the first night i have a room share for 6 that was kind of small but ok, we had our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay although I do apologise that nobody informed you about the location of the toilets. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved my time there. You certainly get great value for your money. The staff were nice excelent lounge, bar, entertainment room, reception and brekafast areas. the room I stayed in, was nice although the bath room could be provided with at least hand soap. Overall great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your for your positive comments. Hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great value hostel. As many reviewers have said it is more like a boutique hotel when you step into the reception. Really nicely decorated and laid out, plenty of comfy chairs, WiFi, free use of computers, nice cafe. We only paid 8.50 euros each a night! The rooms were very comfortable, great to have a locker, light and power... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review on the Generator Dublin. Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay - yes we are about a ten minute walk to Temple Bar but the location is nice and quiet with a lot of services nearby. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hostel. Lively, organised, clean, personal present h 24. Modern structure with all gear. Recommended to you all. It has an internal pub where it possible to eat, drink some excellent Guinnes and listening to music lived or play pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, particularly the Guinness. Hope to welcome you back again for some more of the black stuff. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More

Coventry
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in private room with private bathroom and have no complaints. Whole room was very clean, lots of plug sockets and beds reasonably comfortable. The feel of this place is great, loved the decor and the mix of ages of guests. We had breakfast in the room price and no complaints from us: we were more than happy with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you had such a good stay and thank you for your positive comments. I agree the falafel burger is amazing, we don't have any franchise all our food is made in-house from our chefs. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Kind... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant hostel with a great look. Very close to town you could walk or the luas line runs practically outside the door. Stayed in a 4 bedded room. Room a good size, very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. Good to hear that you will be returning - until then. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More

Clara, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I went here to see what this chain of hostels were like as we plan some European excursions next summer and thought less expensive hostels would be the way to go. What we experiences was way above what we expected! The place was spotless, the bar area was amazing and the beds we possibly the most comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Really glad to hear you liked the hostel and hopefully this has inspired you to dot around Europe in all the Generator's - you will not be disappointed. Hopefully we will see you at the end of your trip, safe travels. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Common areas were the best I've ever seen at a hostel, but not much of a party. Food was average quality for the value. Rooms/bathrooms were clean, storage space was a definite plus. Beds were not comfortable (6beds, private bathroom). Security was top shelf, day staff did their job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your recent review on the Dublin Generator. Glad to hear you liked the common areas - I am surprised to read that you didn't find the party atmosphere here as we have entertainment every night of some description - perhaps it was a quiet night. Hope to see you again when you come back... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

457 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (90)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay