We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Dublin

2.0 of 5 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Generator Hostel Dublin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Generator Hostel Dublin
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    298
    93
    44
    16
See reviews for
50
115
164
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (821)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (229)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (222)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (197)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hostel for 4 nights in a 8 beds room , This place is awesome, the bar, the food and so the reception dudes hahaha , the hostel has a lift so you won't have to go up the stairs with your luggage, in the rooms you will find a locker to leave your stuff, the showers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to post you recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and again thank you for your positive comments about the food, bar and reception dudes... See you again for your next trip. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As an Irishman i have stayed in hostels all over the world while travelling, I went to Dublin on Sunday to meet a few friends from overseas, The property is obviously newly built but the facilities and cleanliness are hotel standard, I was very impressed with the experience i got for what i paid, large beds, power showers, and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. We hope you will return anytime you are down in Dublin for a equally good stay. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one evening after a long travel day with an overnight flight. We unfortunately couldn't check in early but there was a very good breakfast place just across the street and the hotel is also close to a little shopping district. The staff were friendly and were polite even when we kept asking about the status of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame- Such potential but the young night security officer thought he was in the CIA. Rude, arrogant and on a serious power trip. An absolute joke. Totally ruined our stay and we will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We do apologise that you were not happy with the security staff. Safety is our main concern here as we have 540 beds so security on the door is essential in order for them to ensure the building is safe. However I have passed your comments onto the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights with our family in the hostel and enjoyed it although the level of service given the price could have been better. Especially attractive is the location, quite close but still quiet. For the kids the spacious courtyard was good for games and running around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are disappointed that you felt the level of service didn't match the price however good to hear you liked the location. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed in an 8 bedroom mixed dorm, and paid only 10 euros each per night. The hostel was difficult to find the first time using Google Maps, but easy after we knew the lay of the land. It was situated in a fun part of town with tons to do (close to a store, several restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Really glad to hear that you liked the location and got to sample our food and beverage products. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very impressed with the Generator Dublin. Rooms were very large, clean, well lit and ventilated. We had a private twin room with ensuite and it was excellent value for money. The bathroom was clean and the power shower was really excellent. The common areas were always busy but they had plenty of seating, breakfast in the cafe was a decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all the outlets and that you found the staff helpful. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at the Generator Hostel Dublin was my first occasion staying in a hostel, and I was not disappointed! Paying less than £10 for 1 night, I cannot fault the level of service that I received. I particularly liked the décor in the communal areas, very trendy and modern - on par, if not better than some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review on the Dublin Generator. Great to hear you enjoyed your first experience in a hostel. Thank you for your very informative and positive comments. Hopefully you can come back to Ireland for another short break in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, absolutely great for students or when you travel in a group. Ideal for sighseeing as everything is within walking distance and the Luas is nearby. We have stayed there since its opening every year with a group and were never disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent email on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear that you are a return guest and enjoy your visit each time. Check out our other Generator hostels around Europe if you get the chance you won't be disappointed!! See you soon Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okay, so to be clear, yes, it's a hostel - as is its name - but the Generator Hostel in Dublin offers so much more, and the coolness factor of its common areas far exceed that of most hotels. My family and I stayed here for one night (between flights) in December, and we were very happy with the experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for all the positive comments. The area around the hostel is constantly changing with new outlets going in every couple of weeks, so when you come back it will be just as cool as the hostel. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

462 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay