We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Dublin hotels

The Plaza Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgard Road 24 | Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland
Hotel amenities
The Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
47%
Ranked #129 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Terrytonner Jersey, United Kingdom
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    66
    54
    47
See reviews for
37
123
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are very tired (wood is chipped, old television with limited channels). Piercing smoke alarm woke me up on Saturday night at 11h45 and on Sunday night a 1 am -- desk explained they are non-smoking hotel and alarm goes off when someone lights up. There has got to be a better system. Food very poor in terms of nutrition,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in October.. Room looks like something in the 1950s, extremely dated wallpaper.. Carpet etc! The bed was awful.. Simply can only describe as a portable hospital bed with wheels!! Also extremely springy.. If that wasn't bad enough the music was so LOUD!! Didn't sleep for 3 days in a row! The television had thick dust.. The noise from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hessle, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at 18:30hrs was informed that meal was at 19:45hrs, finally found dining room (lacking in staff and directions), starter was served 15mins later (impressed), then we waited and waited. Main meal arrived 21:15hrs, (our group very upset and looking for un-available staff). Main meal was disgusting, choice of chicken or pork ?? Raw vegetables and stone cold, when complained,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel and knew straight away we had made a mistake, and should have driven home. Empty reception area with lillte atmosphere, bar area with a sticky floor, very friendly red head in the bar that looked after our son with a baby bowl, had a very tasty meal in the ajoining thai restuarant. now up to the room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevcarm2010 Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable. If you had called reception they would have moved you to another room. We bought new beds last year and we keep replacing them when they get broken or unable to use. We appreciate all feedback, good... More

Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife stayed here for a week in September 2014 .We thoughrly enjoyed our stay and would definitely use it again.Agree with other posters that the rooms are a bit dated with an old crt television which you don't often see in modern hotels but hey we didn't come to Ireland to watch tv.The room staff woke us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terrytoner Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely avoid this place if you're heading to Dublin. We booked it to save money but I really think it is worth getting a place closer to Dublin city centre and paying more. Location-wise it is horrendous. Tallaght is a bleak/strange place 30 minutes out of the centre on a unpicturesque tram journey through similar depressing towns. The journey from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie S Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy stay. We do not hide the fact that we are located in the suburbs of Dublin and you can find this information on each booking websites. There is also an information that we have right to... More

Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My self and my husband booked this hotel for sat 4 th of October We only live a few miles from the plaza but decided as my nephew was having his 30th birthday in tallaght village we would treat ourselves and stay in a hotel rather than paying for a taxie too and from the party to our home .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kavnap Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your nice words about our staff and the Thai Restaurant. Regarding your negative feedback - I would like to assure you that the management is not ignoring any comments about the rooms being dated or the maintenance issues. We have 122 rooms and we... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we came to the plaza hotel, on our outward, and return journey to Donegal, on our first visit we had a lovely spacious room, and a lovely included meal....., but upon our return, we had a small room, the hairdryer did not work, the included meal was awful , and to top it all, there was a disco, playing until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linzxx Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the Plaza. I am sorry that you found the room small but all our rooms are of a standard size. The hairdryer in the bathroom was probably missing a hose - they were ordered and... More

Creeslough, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the Plaza for two nights . The reception staff were very helpful and very efficient. my room was very large but in need of some TLC There was no cover/ Valance on the bed . No head board on thee bed. . The only plugs in the room were beside the TV and beside the table. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jannmarie Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. As you might have already noticed from the previous reviews and my replies, we managed to refurbish part of the rooms and that is why the two rooms were different. I hope that they all will be re-done in the nearest future. I apologise for the... More

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful. I stayed in it because I had an appointment in Tallaght hospital the next morning. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast was fresh and also continental. All round a very good stay at The Plaza

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewa S, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatieO Thank you for taking time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will visit us again in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Belgard Road 24 | Tallaght, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Dublin

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay