We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleville Lodge

4.0 of 5 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charleville Lodge
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    147
    94
    39
    34
See reviews for
64
160
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A good hotel if you are looking for a cheap rooms.. It is not in the centre of the city but it's perfect if you want to discover Dublin walking around and for low cost. The room was clean and the receptionists were kind. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Prior to staying at the Charleville Lodge (Booked through a tour operator) I did the regular tripadvisor check. Two bad reviews and I was instilled with a lot of doubt and worry, which I think is completely unfair. From the airport, we used the Airlink 747 to O'Connell street. The hotel is a 10 minute bus journey from O'Connell Street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from an overnight stay with my partner. On the website the room looks lovely and clean, however in reality it's the complete opposite. We stayed in Room 32, and it was extremely disappointing. The shower door had a large amount of mould and dirt, the pillows and duvet were far from clean and had many stains, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
psteno, Manager at Charleville Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Rest assured that our bathroom refurb program is now well underway. See an image of our new showers here: http://instagram.com/p/x7I7pODYhK/?modal=true In relation to the bedding, we use Snuggledown of Norway duck down duvets and pillows. This is a very high quality product. We are sorry we cannot please everyone 100% but thankfully... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all the location is terrible its 20 minutes drive out of the centre and about a 45 min or more walk. It's located in a very run down residential area and seems to be surrounded with sheltered housing, as there is a constant stream of unsavoury characters roaming the streets. I felt very unsafe at times when waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am trying to stay positive but this hotel needs more than low prices. The staff are rude and at best average. Asked for a coffee and got a luke warm excuse of the thing. Then when I eventually went to bed, I got the worst pillows ever. Asked for more and the ones I got were no better. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Castlefinn, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Excellent place to stay seeing as I was confined to oxygen 24/7, they done everything in their power to make my stay stress free and very comfortable, and I look forward to revisiting again! The staff were 100% the nicest staff Iv ever come across in all my years of travelling, the rooms were warm, cosy and secure. Location was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Excellent place to stay if you are visiting Dublin. Easy access and on top of bus route direct to the city. The room itself was quite small and very clean and comfortable. It needs some TLC as it was dated. The decor needs improving as the paint on the walls was not done professionally and you can see the previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I was very assured with the management of this hotel, we had a slight problem with our first room, but everything was swiftly sorted out, without fuss, and any requests were kindly and efficiently delivered on, my expectation was exceeded. The rooms, are very clean, light, and spacious, a little noisy if you happen to be to the front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I spent two wonderful nights at this respectful establishment. I enjoyed very much a calm tasteful ambience of this hotel, very friendly and helpful multilingual staff at the reception, being at your service day & night. The neighbourhood is residential and safe. Travellers from the continental Europe: think about the adaptor for your electronic devices! (otherwise they might help you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This was our first time in Dublin and the Charleville Lodge looked promising as a 4 star hotel much cheaper than areas in the city centre. The room itself felt a little dated as did most of the hotel. The old fashioned door keys were a bit of a surprise. Having to lock and unlock the door with that and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Address: 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dublin

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (247)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (44)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Triple Room with One Double Bed and One Twin Bed (45)
Viewed
Triple Room with Three Twin Beds (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay