We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterloo Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
23 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Waterloo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    99
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
70
81
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we arrived in the entrance I knew this was going to be awful, and it was. The room was very very small and the furniture was cheap and awful. The bathroom was tiny with no window, we had no escape as it was a rugby weekend, to me this was a hostel not a hotel, would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterloo_lodge, Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JackieMJo, We are very disappointed to read your comments and find them extraordinary. Waterloo Lodge is cared for by all the staff and we feel that reviews by previous guests confirm our good standards, good staff and good location. Because the building is a Georgian House, rooms will differ from others, this was the Georgian way of living. I... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with a large motorbike, purely because the B&B offered off-road parking if we booked with the room. It was a 15 minute walk into town but far enough away to be quiet at night. Clean room and lovely breakfast. Would recommend to other bikers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterloo_lodge, Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary H, Thank you for writing such a kind review. It’s wonderful when Guests take the time to give other visitors to Dublin City helpful information about our location and our facilities. We are delighted you were comfortable and we hope you will visit again soon. All the best. Staff at Waterloo Lodge. More 

County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not impressed at all with this b&b. They told us that our room would be ready for 1 o' clock and when we arrived at half 2 the room was still not ready. Staff were nice on arrival and did apologise. We paid nearly €250 for a twin room for one night excluding breakfast which was a complete rip off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterloo_lodge, Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Laura12496, We are very surprised to read your comments, we recall speaking to you when you stayed for the Ed Sheeran concert and we are sorry you did not raise your grievance with us at the time, we would have been delighted to assist you. Breakfast is only an additional cost when room only is reserved. There are a... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I stayed at Waterloo Lodge while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton. The location was near perfect. It is fairly near St Stephen's Green and well-placed for the majority of Dublin's southside. However, the hotel itself was only average. Frequently, messages were not passed from one member of staff to another - leading to a special arrangement for breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lithgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Even though I only had a short stay here I found it to be very good & central with The 39A Bus Stop at The Front Door also it was walking Distance to The city however it was only a couple of Euros to The City & about 12-14 to The Ferries. At The End of The Street were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterloo_lodge, Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brian F, it is very kind of you to take the time to write a review which, will be of assistance to people considering visiting Dublin City. We are delighted you found your bedroom quiet and our location close to downtown. We hope to have to pleasure of welcoming you back to Dublin in the near future. Warm Regards,... More 

Castlederg, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Stayed in the Waterloo Lodge from the 1st of April to the 3rd of April. Great Bed and Breakfast. Friendly Staff. Lovely cooked breakfast and wide array of continental choice. The Hotel is in a fab location with the bus directly outside taking you straight into the city. Hotel was also very clean and there was no restrictions on times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 29 hours after arriving in Dublin at 0500. Given access to the three bed family room at 0630 the first day, and had a decent breakfast after a quick nap. Grocery, hardware, and ATM all less than five minutes walk. Staff were friendly, the room was clean, and the Aircoach bus stop was a seven minute walk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Good location. Easy to find and helpful that you can precook parking with a room. Beautiful room, clean, comfortable and in a lovely building. Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. Would recommend to anyone and stay again if we visit Dublin again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Stayed here with two friends for the England v ireland game. The good parts are we had a spacious room with a good bathroom power shower. Bed and towels were replaced overnight and walkable into the centre of Dublin. On the flip side we payed 360 euro for 2 nights for 3 people. There were loads of hotels closer to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterloo_lodge, Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JackieMJo, We are very disappointed to read your comments and find them extraordinary. Waterloo Lodge is cared for by all the staff and we feel that reviews by previous guests confirm our good standards, good staff and good location. Because the building is a Georgian House, rooms will differ from others, this was the Georgian way of living. I... More 

trinidad/west indies
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a stop and rest after a long flight from South America On arrival the atmosphere was cold and unwelcoming! The rooms were clean and bedding comfortable, but I found the triple room small, for the price it's bb sizes with hotel prices. Hmmm going to breakfast was the most uncomfortable experience we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#28 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#35 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay