We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Dublin hotels

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Featured upcoming dates
    This weekend 11/27/2014
    $150/night
    Next weekend 12/04/2014
    $223/night
    Best deal 11/23/2014
    $52/night
Save
You added George Frederic Handel Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
AuroraGalway Galway
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    268
    81
    30
    7
See reviews for
104
182
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (605)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a fantastic two night stay at this hotel, very centrally located....a short ramble to temple bar and O'Connell street....friendly staff, lovely spacious room, comfy bed, great shower, I pod dock and very strong wifi!! We will stay here next time we are Dublin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AuroraGalway, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again, should you return to Dublin. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here last Christmas as my partner and I were heading to Vicar street to see Tommy Tiernan. I found the hotel accessible, very relaxed,the room was lovely and warm. After the gig we came back to the hotel and had a wonderful chat with the young American bar man, who delighted in telling us about his Irish/American ancestry.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tazie M, Thank you for leaving us this response, we really appreciate our guests' feedback. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay here, and I am pleased to inform you that since your stay the bar has undergone a full renovation and is now a bar, café and restaurant. We hope to see you again this year... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the apartments 3 bedded one. ..plenty of room for the 3 of us. Shame the single room had no window..my friend said it was like a sauna! A couple of issues the milk (UHT) in the fridge curdled in my friends tea..maybe needs replaced more frequently and the hairdryer probably needs replaced as it cut out on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HillsP, Thank you for leaving us this review, our customers feedback is very important to us. We have taken on board all of your comments; the hairdryers have been replaced with newer models, we have check all of our complimentary milk supply, and we are looking into the issues with the keys. We are glad that you enjoyed your... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are on our last night of a three day stay in Dublin. This hotel cost us €277 for a double room with breakfast for two nights. We arrived in the morning and asked if we could just leave our bags until we returned later to check in but they checked us in there and then with no extra cost.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carrie t, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate your feedback. We will always do our best to check our guests in as soon as possible, as we want to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as we can make it. I am very glad that you enjoyed your... More

Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest, Everything is good here, Check in, Staff very efficient, especially the lady breakfast attendant on duty this morning 12.11.14, overall experience Perfect, I definitely will be back. ******

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dermot212091, Thank you very much for leaving us this review, we are very grateful for your comments. I am glad that you so enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you when you next return to Dublin. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The GFH hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of everything you want to see in Dublin city center. It is a clean, quiet hotel with a fabulous breakfast! The staff were all very nice and helpful. They also gave us great recommendations for kid friendly restaurants. We were only in Dublin for 2 days, and the location of this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DiannaB25, Thank you for leaving us this review, we really value your input. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is true, we are very fortunate with our location. Our staff are glad to have been so helpful to your during your stay, and we hope to see you again, should you return to... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, quite clean with pleasant and helpful staff. All of the taps in our bathroom failed to work properly and were in need of repair, and we found some clothes left in the room; obviously no one is making proper checks. We used Oscars, the restaurant, for breakfast; the staff were excellent, and the food good. One serious complaint however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cerdic6, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate your feedback. I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay, your message was passed on through reception and the appropriate repairs have been made. I would also like to reassure you that we do perform regular checks and inspections of all of the... More

London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked an apartment after seeing images of bright and airy rooms on the web. When we arrived we were given a dark, gloomy and depressing apartment in the basement of a building that looks like a prison. There was virtually no natural light. I complained but the manager insisted that we had booked this apartment as there was one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rosie W, I would like to apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused during your stay, we do try our best to ensure that all of our guests have the most comfortable and pleasant stay possible. I understand that you were disappointed with the first apartment that we had assigned to you, we have uploaded a variety of photos from... More

Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, clean hotel with a very hospitable staff. The location is excellent, just 15 minutes walk from the Trinity College. The weather was perfect with a scent of spring. We had a great walk nearby the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rundo2014 Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the George Frederic Handel Hotel. We hope you will keep us in mind should you return to Dublin. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is lovely! It's very well situated on the edge of Temple Bar. We walked everywhere, approx 20 mins to Guinness Storehouse, St.Stephen's Green and O'Connell Street. The bus to and from the airport drops off about 2 mins walk away. The room was lovely, we had a triple and there was plenty of space. The bathroom was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gtna, Thank you or taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all of our guests' feedback. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate with our location, as it suits both business guests and tourists. We hope to see you again in the future, Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Frederic Handel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Frederic Handel Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Frederic Handel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Frederic Handel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay