We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Dublin hotels

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added George Frederic Handel Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #59 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
ladydanger81 Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    278
    84
    33
    8
See reviews for
108
191
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed in town on the weekend due to Christmas engagements and decided to stay here because it was close to where we were going out and because of a special rate we got on Bookings.com which to be honest made me a bit wary however we were not disappointed in fact everything exceeded our expectations -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ladydanger81 Thank you for your recent review. I was thrilled to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that The George Frederic Handel Hotel enabled you to do so. I was also pleased to read your comments... More 

Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I have rented a two-bedroom apt for three nights. The accommodations are simple but nice. The location is convenient to most of central Dublin. The apartment has all the necessities. I recommend the Handel Hotel for any families visiting Dublin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B Thank you for taking your time giving feedback on your recent stay at The Handels Apartments of Temple Bar. I am delighted to read you have enjoy your stay and recommending our accommodation to other families wishing to book their stays in Dublin. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Handels Apartments, Dublin. I look forward... More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on a Friday night coming up to Christmas....hotel is situated at quite end of Temple Bar right beside Christ Church so is very easily accessable. Room was spacious, well decorated, and had complimentary drinks and snacks. Breakfast was delicious, one of the best I've had in a while especially the fresh fruit with berry compote.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lOU083 Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of the George Frederic Handel Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that The George Frederic Handel enabled you... More 

Calolziocorte, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the GFH hotel was very pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located in Dublin city center, just at the beginning of the Temple Bar area. All the major dublin location are at a walking distance and easlily reachable. The rooms were quiet and very clean. The in-house restaurant-pub provides great irish style breakfasts for 10 additional euros. Prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Therabbitdancer Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to do so. We truly appreciate your time and high remarks about our hotel services and breakfast, I will share these with the team. Thank you also for choosing The George Frederic Handel Hotel on your last trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Termonfeckin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went into Dublin for a pre-Christmas celebration. As we were going to the Christmas Carols in Christchurch the location was perfect. The hotel is generally in a good location for easy access to the city centre. We found all of the staff very efficient, professional, welcoming, and helpful. Our room was very clean and well-appointed. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TermonfeckinMlou Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your stay at The George Frederic Handel Hotel. My colleagues and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We place a great emphasis on delivering a good customer service and it is a wonderful encouragement for everyone to... More 

Roscoe, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights. The basics are fine - the room was clean, the shower had hot water and they provided towels, soaps, tea and biscuits. The location is excellent for restaurants and bars. In fact, the hotel is on top of a restaurant/bar which can be noisy. The room was quiet for room to room noise. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apparently I misheard the room number told me at reception, and went to room 308. My swipe card unlocked the door - and I saw the room was filled with someone's belongings. Thank God, no one was in it at the time. They would have had a fright. I then checked my number and I that I was meant to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie M Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I was truly disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced and I regret not having the opportunity to resolve them myself. I can certainly assure you and other guest that the key which was issued for your room "302" was only working at the... More 

Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located just next to Christchurch and on the outside edge of Temple Bar...so close to a lot of places to go out but far enough removed so that you are not in the middle of the chaos. If you are traveling to or from the airport there is an Airlink bus stop a 2 minute walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M1967 Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of the George Frederic Handel Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect to enjoy all of what Dublin has to offer and I am pleased that our Hotel enabled you to do so. I was... More 

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avoid disappointment, don't stay here. I travel a lot to Dublin, thought I would try somewhere new, huge mistake. It is odd to be reviewing a hotel, that I booked on Hotels.com and yet when our party arrived in Dublin, the unit we got was in a completely different building under a completely different name. We were actually taken over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ubergirlcanada Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at The Handels Apartments of Temple Bar. I am sorry to read you were disappointed with the Apartment you were allocated with, the original booking was made for a one bedroom apartment for up to 4 guests which was booked just for 1 person staying. Handels Apartments of... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late on Friday night, got shown to our apartment... If you are expecting an apartment that looks like the pictures there is a chance you will be disappointed. It was old and tatty, dishwasher was full of smelly murky water, cigarette burns in the chairs and sofas and the whole apartment smelt of smoke. We complained within 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenjen19842014 Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at George Frederic Handel Apartments. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction. I am glad i could resolve the issues you have had while staying with us in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Frederic Handel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Frederic Handel Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Frederic Handel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Frederic Handel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#67 Family Hotel in Dublin

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay