We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Official site=free wine
Save Saved
You added George Frederic Handel Hotel to your Saves list
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
80%
Ranked #53 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
brunomili1 São Paulo, SP
  • Overview
  • Reviews (556)
  • Photos (90)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    252
    74
    27
    6
See reviews for
91
168
45
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Despite it's well located, I would defnetly not recomend this hotel. We had many issues during our two day stay: first the hotel is under a renovation, so the breakfast is being served is a small improvised area at the lobby, it costs 10 euros but has just a few options. Still because of the renovation, there is no toilette... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in Apt 17, a one bed unit for 3 nights. We arrived with our 2 young kids fresh off an international flight at 6am. Couldn't check in for 7 hours which was fine except the tiny dining hall was closed and the lounge was shut for construction. No real lobby to speak of. There was construction and noise all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
São Paulo, SP
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days, but there was some problems! First they didn't have enough shower towels, and they just give us smalls face towels to take the shower! Second the shower was broken, we could not regulate the shower temperature, its was just too hot to take a good shower, but at the second day they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were three ladies staying in a tripple room in GFH when visited Dublin. Three good beds in a nice room. No view from our room, but quiet during night. Noice from construction work inside and outside during daytime. Breakfast was ok, not great. Friendly staff. Would choose to stay there again next time visiting Dublin. Perfect location in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2 of us single American ladies would stay here again. Great price for the quality of lodging. Very modern and clean. Staff was extra friendly and helpful. Right there in Temple Bar, and we had a view of the Christchurch Cathedral. We really liked the traditional breakfast spot around the corner. Will definitely stay here again. No complaints! Beds on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFH-Manager, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theblondeneedle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review, we really appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The George Frederic Handel Hotel, and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Alexandru Hurduc More

Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have to tell you I was captivated by the thought of staying in a hotel named for GFH - on a street where history was made with the Messiah first being performed on the very street. Whatever fantasies I had crumbled pretty quickly. Wanting nothing more than a long nap after my overseas flight, I had the misfortune of being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for a few nights and had lots of help from friendly staff on how to get around Dublin and things to do. The hotel in general was clean and well kept, so was our room which had a view of the River Liffey. The room was not too big (not tiny either), but this did not bother us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFH-Manager, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear babyluv410, Thank you for leaving us this review, our guests feedback is very important to us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we really are very fortunate with our location. As you say, it is close enough to be able to easily get places and far enough away to get... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here several nights on two occasions and found the self-catering apartments to be comfortable, clean and cheap. The staff are friendly and helpful too. There seems to be a bit of a gap between the quality of some apartments though. One room we stayed in was warm, cozy and with extremely comfortable furniture and beds while on the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
alltech@elivefree.net
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I complained about my stay here in one of the apartments in January. I was very kindly offered a form of recompense by management at the time (as outlined in their reply to my review at that time). I stayed in another apartment last week (one night) - no. 35. it was a fabulous surprise. A spacious very nicely decorated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hotel in the end of Temple Bar District and has a very good location. The staff is also very friendly and service minded!! But if the owner of this hotel has some money to invest I strongly advice him to use it on a aircondition system and Upgrade the plumbing. We where staying in the hotel in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFH-Manager, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IreneS67, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I deeply regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, however I am pleased to be able to inform you that we have already begun a lot of the maintenance and upgrades that you mention, and more... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage George Frederic Handel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to George Frederic Handel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Frederic Handel Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Frederic Handel Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your George Frederic Handel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dublin #66 Family Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George Frederic Handel Hotel is located on Fishamble street in Temple bar. Although the hotel was built in 1996, it is located on one of the most historically important streets in Dublin. The site on which the hotel now stands once housed the music hall where Handel's "Messiah" was first preformed. To this day, Handel's famous work is still recited once a year right outside our front door. Our beautifully appointed 3 star hotel boasts individually appointed and upgraded rooms. All of our bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, flat screen 32" satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hot beverage facilities and crisp white linen. We can offer Double, Twin and Triple rooms or if you need a little more space, we can facilitate you in one of our executive doubles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Frederic Handel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer