We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 10% Discount!
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Amy C
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    327
    93
    35
    10
See reviews for
129
219
57
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (723)
  • Mar-May only
    (195)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (211)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After leaving accomodation until the last minute we got ourselves an apartment at this hotel. At £120 in the middle of temple bar and an apartment we weren't expecting much. However, from the minute we arrived and were showed around our room we were amazed. The apartment had a double bedroom and a double bedroom with a single bed. Upstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A perfect location for exploring Temple Bar and a pleasant wander up to Dublin city, shopping and the River Liffey. The room was good and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we needed assistance in organising public transport which is also handy to this hotel. Good value for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trishgwatt Thank you for your review, your comments are very valuable to us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff, they pride themselves on their friendliness and helpfulness. It's true we are very fortunate in our location as all of the city is convenient either by foot or public transport. I am glad that... More 

San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a no frills, unremarkable hotel room- basic, clean, nothing fancy, and good location on the outskirts of Temple Bar. The bed was a little too firm. A strange thing about the hotel is the ceiling fan. In order to keep the fan on, you had to also keep the entry light (so we slept with eye masks on).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aljv, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate your feedback. I apologise if you were unhappy with the ceiling fan in the room, we are in the process of removing these and replacing them with separate fans. I am happy to report that our Reception refurbishment is now nearing its end so... More 

Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel by telephoning and found the receptionists friendly and welcoming. When I arrived at the GFH hotel they proved equally welcoming though copying photographic ID was a little unusual. The bedroom on the top floor was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The hotel is let down by "Oscars Cafe Bar" which doubles as its restaurant for breakfast. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JBlunt, Thank you for leaving us this review, we really value our guests' feedback. Our ID procedures in the hotel are quite strict, but it is to ensure peace of mind for our guests as so many of our bookings are made online we want to ensure the credit card and financial security of all of our guests. So... More 

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is the main feature here as the hotel is right on the edge of the Temple Bar district - it's a very short walk to the action, but the hotel does not suffer from the crowds or the noise. In addition the staff during my visit were excellent and could all my questions - ranging from places to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philsHK, Thank you for leaving us this review, we really value getting your feedback. I will be certain to pass on your compliments to our staff, they pride themselves on their friendliness and helpfulness. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again should you return to stay in Dublin. Kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from one night stay lovely helpful reception staff arrived early but room was available so checked us in spotlessly clean breakfast self service for tea toast etc then a very cheerful waitress took order for cooked delicious will return and recommend ideal location

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear totoe_12 Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I am glad that you so enjoyed your stay here with us and that we were able to assist you with an early check in. This is not always possible but where it is we will do our best to ensure our guests are relaxed and comfortable... More 

Dorset. UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fortunately our previous booking at an alternative hotel went wrong so we booked an apartment here last minute. We were delighted with everything, location, cleanliness and value for money. Our next visit to Dublin will be back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear weymouth-wandering, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all of our guests' feedback. I am very glad that you were so delighted with your stay here at the George Frederic Handel Hotel, especially after your disappointments elsewhere. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More 

Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't speak for the hotel rooms, this review is for the apartment we rented in Dublin. First let me say the staff was amazing, the problems were with the apartment. The toilet would not flush the first time or two on most occasions. The plumbing sounded as a foghorn running through the pipes when flushing. The bathtub was unusable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beccacookson Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Handels Apartments of Temple Bar. I was disappointed to read about your stay and that we failed to meet your expectation. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you and your partner experienced.... More 

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a superb location just 5 min walk from the centre of the Temple Bar district but not too close to be noisy late on . The hotel facilities were very good although currently going through some noisy renovations, (the work was limited to the middle of the day when we were out anyway). The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patrick K, Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KeyHall, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review we really value your feedback. I am pleased to report that though our renovations are still ongoing, they are now quiet renovations and will soon be complete, with a lovely new reception area for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry that you were disappointed in our... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were notified a few days in advance of our stay that there would be renovation works at the hotel reception, this did not give us enough time to book different accommodation, which we would have definitely done. We were staying on the fourth floor of the building and the noise could be heard and felt from there. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick K, General Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at The George Frederic Handel Hotel, Dublin. Your feedback is very valuable to us, it help us to improve services we offer and products we sell.As per email exchange we had, I would like to apologise again for inuring charge on your account and as agreed €11 was refunded to your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities