We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 10% Off!
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #60 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
the_new_mr Letterkenny, Ireland
Add Photo

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    267
    335
    101
    37
    10
See reviews for
135
230
58
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (750)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (166)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (211)
All months
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Clean, good value, warm, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff and amazing location. Basically everything you want from a hotel. Have stayed there twice so far. Would stay again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to craft your thoughtful review of the George Frederick Handel. It is a great pleasure to read your review and find that we have performed at a high level across the board on both of your stays with us! We look forward to your next stay with us. Warm Regards, Michelle Doyle... More 

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel three times, each time for business trips. It has a great location near the Four Courts and Temple Bar. The hotel is clean and newly renovated. The staff at reception are exceptionally nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your exceptional review and 5-star rating! It is a real treat to read your feedback and find that you were impressed with your experience here for the third time. Perhaps it is most noteworthy to comment on your mention of our staff, who pride themselves on excellent customer service. We take great pride in our... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here for our friends Hen Party, we stayed in the apartments. Couldn't of wished for a better location. Rooms fully equipped with fridge, kettle, Iron, hairdryer etc. The only trouble being the Wifi nobody could connect, we didn't mention to reception so maybe they would of sorted if we had of?? 2 bathrooms which is a great plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debs, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and of course for your patronage. We are delighted that we superseded your expectations for the Hen party! With regards to the Wifi , I assure you we would have rectified it immediately had we known. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place i stayed had scratches on the wall and the sofas were pretty wrecked, the bath also had chips in it and the shower was bad. The toaster didn't work so we had to go out to get my daughter some breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the George Frederick Handel as your host for your recent visit to Dublin City. We regret you were disappointed in our service and amenities and hope you give us another opportunity to provide the level of hospitality you deserve should you return to the city in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Doyle Guest Relations... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not quite a boutique hotel. Clean. Friendly check in staff. Car park is a bit of a hike from the hotel. We wary if you intend to have 'multi-entry' at the hotel as there isn't a daily rate. Suggest you park in the area outside the hotel, drop your bags and park the car. If you like night life, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the George Frederick as your host for your recent visit to Dublin City. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to extend superior hospitality in all areas. We do regret that the parking was an issue for you, and we apologize for the resulting... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 19th&20th June in apartment No.34. Although very clean and decor fresh, the furniture was tiered. Coffee table needs skipping and bath had several large chips in. However if most concern was the uncontrollable scalding water from the shower. Very dangerous and someone is going to get injured from this. The mixer didn't work so scalding out of the tap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was disheartened to read we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. I have passed all of your concerns in relation to this apartment onto our Maintenance team who are looking into this presently. Thank you for bringing this to our... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought that this hotel would live up to it's name but it didn't. There is nothing to do with Handel at all. That was disappointing. It was a glorified hostel, there really isn't space to lounge around the reception area. For the money i spent i was so disappointed with the room and breakfast wasn't included. The only perk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was disheartened to learn that you found us to be less than perfect on your recent trip to Dublin. We are aware of space issues in the lobby as we undergo some renovations to improve our overall guest experience. We are thrilled that you found our location to be so helpful, we are very fortunate to have... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night here and was not disappointed. We were heading to friends house-warming and needed somewhere last minute in a central location, and this hotel turned out to be perfect. Reasonably priced rooms in very good condition, right on the doorstep of Temple Bar. I would really recommend the George Frederic Handel Hotel to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the George Frederick Handel. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are delighted that our central location and prices got you here and even more so that you will be recommending us to others. We do our best to provide... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In fairness to this place the apartments were cheaper for 2 nights than the hotel. Scotland were playing Ireland in the footie so along with the 10,000 men in kilts we struggled to get a room, and when we did it was expensive! So we opted for these apartments. Ours was a 2 bedroom one bathroom. The plus points are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you found your apartment Clean and spacious and enjoyed the location in the heart of Dublin City Centre. I was disheartened to earn that your stay with us was less than perfect. I have passed your comments regarding... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in a prime location (for adults) a few steps away from temple bar. We were a family of four adults and were put up in an apartment. The price was definitely fair for the location and quality. This was the first place we stayed and at the time it seemed great but as it turned out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What an exceptional review. We truly appreciate your business and you taking the time to express your satisfaction. Our goal is to leave our guests with many positive memories and a yearning to return. It sounds as if we were successful in this goal in your case, and we hope that we have the great pleasure of hosting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay