We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Frederic Handel Hotel

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 10% Off!
George Frederic Handel Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
LenoreH1955 Dumont, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    267
    336
    103
    37
    10
See reviews for
136
231
58
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (753)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (211)
All months
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let's start with the good points. Great location. Easy to get anywhere in Dublin. Not that expensive. Once first impressions were over the staff was very helpful and friendly. Now onto the reason for the blah rating. When we arrived the lobby was being redone. Construction all around with wiring hanging. I wouldn't mind but when my husband and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Obviously undergoing refurbishment in the reception area but don't let that put you off. Rooms were comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was plentiful with enough choices to keep both meat eaters & vegetarians in our party happy. Staff were incredibly helpful when we had a very early checkout & offered a take-out breakfast as it was included in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The apartment I rented was lovely! It was spacious and the staff was very accommodating! The only complaint was the noise! The apartment was located in a very noisy location! Early in the morning was loud and all through the night!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding your recent experience. Our ample-sized clean apartments are certainly a treat by Dublin standards, and we’re glad that you found them comfortable and clean. Our convenient location in Central Dublin and our iconic public spaces are frequently cited as a highlight of the guest experience here, and... More 

Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, good value, warm, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff and amazing location. Basically everything you want from a hotel. Have stayed there twice so far. Would stay again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to craft your thoughtful review of the George Frederick Handel. It is a great pleasure to read your review and find that we have performed at a high level across the board on both of your stays with us! We look forward to your next stay with us. Warm Regards, Michelle Doyle... More 

Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel three times, each time for business trips. It has a great location near the Four Courts and Temple Bar. The hotel is clean and newly renovated. The staff at reception are exceptionally nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your exceptional review and 5-star rating! It is a real treat to read your feedback and find that you were impressed with your experience here for the third time. Perhaps it is most noteworthy to comment on your mention of our staff, who pride themselves on excellent customer service. We take great pride in our... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here for our friends Hen Party, we stayed in the apartments. Couldn't of wished for a better location. Rooms fully equipped with fridge, kettle, Iron, hairdryer etc. The only trouble being the Wifi nobody could connect, we didn't mention to reception so maybe they would of sorted if we had of?? 2 bathrooms which is a great plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debs, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and of course for your patronage. We are delighted that we superseded your expectations for the Hen party! With regards to the Wifi , I assure you we would have rectified it immediately had we known. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place i stayed had scratches on the wall and the sofas were pretty wrecked, the bath also had chips in it and the shower was bad. The toaster didn't work so we had to go out to get my daughter some breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the George Frederick Handel as your host for your recent visit to Dublin City. We regret you were disappointed in our service and amenities and hope you give us another opportunity to provide the level of hospitality you deserve should you return to the city in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Doyle Guest Relations... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not quite a boutique hotel. Clean. Friendly check in staff. Car park is a bit of a hike from the hotel. We wary if you intend to have 'multi-entry' at the hotel as there isn't a daily rate. Suggest you park in the area outside the hotel, drop your bags and park the car. If you like night life, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the George Frederick as your host for your recent visit to Dublin City. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to extend superior hospitality in all areas. We do regret that the parking was an issue for you, and we apologize for the resulting... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 19th&20th June in apartment No.34. Although very clean and decor fresh, the furniture was tiered. Coffee table needs skipping and bath had several large chips in. However if most concern was the uncontrollable scalding water from the shower. Very dangerous and someone is going to get injured from this. The mixer didn't work so scalding out of the tap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was disheartened to read we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. I have passed all of your concerns in relation to this apartment onto our Maintenance team who are looking into this presently. Thank you for bringing this to our... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought that this hotel would live up to it's name but it didn't. There is nothing to do with Handel at all. That was disappointing. It was a glorified hostel, there really isn't space to lounge around the reception area. For the money i spent i was so disappointed with the room and breakfast wasn't included. The only perk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle_Doyle2014, Guest Relations Manager at George Frederic Handel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was disheartened to learn that you found us to be less than perfect on your recent trip to Dublin. We are aware of space issues in the lobby as we undergo some renovations to improve our overall guest experience. We are thrilled that you found our location to be so helpful, we are very fortunate to have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay