We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 160 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Trinity Lodge

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 South Frederick Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trinity Lodge to your Saves list
Trinity Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #89 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    75
    71
    34
    32
See reviews for
52
88
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is perfect, you can't take that away and I'll say this is the only good undeniable factor. The room is ok too, we got a two double-bed one. Now it doesn't feel like a real hotel: - No 24hr reception, even though they stayed until 10h30PM to welcome us. - No elevator, my god, I've never thought I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing hotel, basement room, dark and had to crane my neck to see the sky Reception in another building across the road, hotel receptionists defensive and not very helpful , breakfast not included but luckily available nearby, at more reasonable rate Will not stay there again ,nor will my sister

Was this review helpful? Yes
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Now when I say loud, it's not the location, but the showers. We could hear a loud pumping noise everytime the neighboring room ran the shower. We're not sensitive, but this noise woke us up every single morning!! Other than that, we found the hotel OK. Service was friendly and location was TOP. I would consider staying again, but only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here over this weekend, our second time at the place, this time in room 4 on the first floor, after our previous stay in the basement room. I must say I just do not get the undeserving negativity of a number of the reviews here. This establishment is perfectly located, the lack of restaurant amply compensated by some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind words. We do feel the same but everybody has an opinion. We hope that our responses give people a fair and accurate picture of the hotel. Nobody denies that there may be issues (within and outside our control) and we did acknowledge them all the time if it was the case as all... More

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I satyed in Trinity Lodge last weekend 31st Jan &1 st Feb . Brilliantly located and rooms large, well heated and well appointed. Sadly though for my second visit as on the previous disturbed by nosie from guests in the early hours. a loud knocking on our door at 2.40a.m and later at 3.40 a.m when gentleman visitor leaving to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying at the Lodge for the second time. We are delighted that you have liked (as most of our guests) the location and the rooms. It is unfortunate that 2 rooms staying for 1 night while you were here last time have disturbed other guests (that have posted all bad reviews... More

Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was a horrible experience. I stayed at this hotel the same night that some of these other commentators stayed there (see other comments below). It was a night when a massive party broke out, and there was no one on duty to call. They give a number to guests and tell them to call between the hours of 10PM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I only have to say that you have been forwarded again today the e-mail sent to you by the owner last week-was nothing that we misled you or anybody about. Afterwards we got a reply from you saying that you have been away and could not check your e-mails. Regarding your comments there... More

Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you wish to feel safe and secure in your hotel room in Dublin, you are best advised to avoid Trinity Lodge and choose a hotel with 24 hour reception. This hotel leaves its guests in a vulnerable position throughout the night, without any access to staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. However, I have to say that it refers to the same night that the last 3 reviews are. We did explain what was the issue (that we do not have this type of guests staying in) and please consider that it is a city centre hotel that does not have a night club... More

York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was going to give a better rating for this hotel, but unfortunately it just isn't a good return for the money. We were charged 110 Euros for two people in a double room for one night. Not bad, right? The actual location itself is gorgeous, very clean and well-maintained, and when the staff are actually there, they're very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and thank you for appreciating the location, the staff, the cleanliness of the room and the fact that the hotel is kept in good condition. Regarding your other comments I would like to reply as follows: -The room on the ground floor is equipped with security closures that the guests can operate themselves.... More

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is really a gem! We were so lucky that they had room last minute. Trinity Lodge has an EXCELLENT location to all main Dublin attractions. The road it is on is perpendicular to Trinity College and is really just a few minutes walk (less than 10) to the Temple Bar area. Just two streets over from the popular... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tina C, Thank you for your kind review and nice words about the hotel. I am glad that you have enjoyed the location, the service of our staff and the room. We hope that you will be considering Trinity Lodge again if you will be travelling to Dublin. Kind Regards, Roxana Cernat Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from Dublin today after spending 2 nights at the trinity lodge. After I had booked this hotel I then read the reviews and I'm totally shocked at some of the horror stories. In fact this is one of the nicest places I have stayed in and there's been a few. The room had 2 double beds, dressing table,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mandimic, Thank you for selecting our hotel for a stay beween the years. I am happy that you appreciated the facilities in the room and indeed there are new carpets throughout the hotel. Regarding other reviews some of the guests do point out some real issues - and we are grateful that they are brought to our attention -... More

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel Dublin
Address: 12 South Frederick Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Hotel in the Heart of DublinSituated in the heart of Dublin's business district & cultural quarter, near Trinity College, this family-owned elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses .The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style& comfort .Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, the city's museums and theaters are just a few steps away. Aviva Stadium, RDS, Grand Canal Theatre, IFSC, Dublin Convention Centre, The O2 Arena, Croke Park, Gaiety Theatre, National Concert Hall are all within easy reach. Stephen's Green Park, Christchurch and Saint Patrick's Cathedrals, National Gallery of Ireland, Leinster House, Dublin Castle, National Library of Ireland, Iveagh Gardens, James Joyce Museum are all located within walking distance from us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.