We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 162 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Portobello Bed and Breakfast

77 South Circular Road | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland (South City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Portobello Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Portobello Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sandyb5061 Solihull, United Kingdom
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
31
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely lovely B&B, very welcoming, clean, comfortable, would highly recommend to anyone. Large choice of breakfast we had full Irish both mornings, and was perfect, could also have cereals, fruit, toast or continental. Best nights sleep in ages, very comfortable bed. owners very friendly, and helpful, rooms are quiet, and warm with radiators and I think underfloor heating

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

this B and B is in a great location. Off the main routes of city center but an easy 15 minute walk to all. The room we had which was on the top floor was clean and comfy. B&b's aren't known for being super quiet so noise is always an issue but this was one of the more quiet especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A really fantastic stay - I was down for business and arrived late which was no issue at all. There was parking around the back which was very useful as my meeting was later in the morning. The room was beautifully decorated. There was a very nice family feeling to the place and Eileen even supplied me with a plate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ternat, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this B&B: The B&B is conveniently located within easy access of the city centre and with a bus stop right outside the door (bus 16 even takes you all the way to Dublin Airport). The rooms are clean and airy and the beds are very comfy. We really enjoyed the breakfast with a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jasper, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Though Eileen and Peter were welcoming hosts, it seemed perhaps they could use some help maintaining this accommodation. My parents were happy with their room and we all found breakfast to be satisfying but unfortunately our ground floor room had a very unpleasant odor which made sleep difficult. (We guessed perhaps a local cat had snuck in through the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights exploring Dublin,. It's not in the city centre but it's quiet even though it is on a main road. A frequent bus brings you back from the city centre directly to their gate (the same No 16 brings you directly from the Airport) and just across the road is the bus to take you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location, lovely owners, wonderful breakfast. We fully enjoyed our stay here. My husband had recently broken his ankle and Eileen and Paul worked hard to make sure we had an accommodating room and extra pillows for his leg. Easy taxi ride to downtown and within walking distance to many great restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Augsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed here alone last October, now travelled with my mother. Again, this B&B was a pleasure to stay at. The location is excellent, bus stop in front of the house. Room Nr. 3 is absolutely silent and neat. Everything is clean. The hosts are absolutely friendly and helpful in any way. The breakfast is delicious. We had to leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked Portobello B & B based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Quite frankly, we were disappointed. I generally don't write negative reviews (as you'll see from my other reviews), but the whole point of Trip Advisor is to make other travellers aware of your experience - whether good or bad. So, in an effort to be fair, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EileenCoughlin, Owner at Portobello Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

There seems to have been some misunderstanding regarding Paul's suggestion that you might like to transfer to another guest house as due to circumstances you could not be accommodated in your preferred room. As you were so upset about the preferred room not being available, and not happy with an alternative, it was in good faith that he suggested that... More 

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Portobello for four nights in Dublin. The owners, Paul and Eileen, were very pleasant and Paul loved to chat with guests and to be helpful. The room was small and somewhat cramped and the bathroom was quite tiny, with barely any room to move about. The house was old and a bit musty but not dirty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Portobello Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Bed and Breakfast

Address: 77 South Circular Road | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portobello Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello b&b
Portobello Hotel Dublin

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay