We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 160 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Portobello Bed and Breakfast

77 South Circular Road | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland (South City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Portobello Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Portobello Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
86%
Ranked #31 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
H S Augsburg
  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (15)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here alone last October, now travelled with my mother. Again, this B&B was a pleasure to stay at. The location is excellent, bus stop in front of the house. Room Nr. 3 is absolutely silent and neat. Everything is clean. The hosts are absolutely friendly and helpful in any way. The breakfast is delicious. We had to leave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked Portobello B & B based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Quite frankly, we were disappointed. I generally don't write negative reviews (as you'll see from my other reviews), but the whole point of Trip Advisor is to make other travellers aware of your experience - whether good or bad. So, in an effort to be fair, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EileenCoughlin, Owner at Portobello Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

There seems to have been some misunderstanding regarding Paul's suggestion that you might like to transfer to another guest house as due to circumstances you could not be accommodated in your preferred room. As you were so upset about the preferred room not being available, and not happy with an alternative, it was in good faith that he suggested that... More

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Portobello for four nights in Dublin. The owners, Paul and Eileen, were very pleasant and Paul loved to chat with guests and to be helpful. The room was small and somewhat cramped and the bathroom was quite tiny, with barely any room to move about. The house was old and a bit musty but not dirty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My experience at the Portobello B&B was a good one. The location was fantastic, on a quiet residential street, but still at a walkable distance from the city center (15 minutes). Paul, the owner, greeted us warmly and showed us to our room which was situated downstairs, at the back of the house. The room was quite big, clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Naples, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very good value for money accomodation. The house and the rooms are very nice and clean, it has a free parking space and it is located at walking distance from the city center. The breakfast was good. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The Portobello B&B was quite a great find for us. The couple that run the place are extremely warm and friendly. We had a fine time talking with them during the excellent breakfast they put on. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. And, the Dublinbus stop is right outside the door. If you don't want the bus, central Dublin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Portobello B&B from May 30-June 5. The location is fantastic, a very pleasant walk to town or if you are not feeling up to it there are bus options right outside the door. The accommodations were wonderful, very clean and comfortable. There is a lovely back garden which we were encouraged to use as well. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reykjavik
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed there for three nights last February. I loved it. But there are some drawbacks. The location suited my purpose (I was on a business trip to a nearby establishment) but it took me some time to find out how to get there by bus. Dublin transport is not easy to navigate once you get to the centre, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

N53°19.930' W6°16.388' Dublin's pricey tag is obvious and it got some pretty pricey pillows too. City centre midrange rooms will cost upwards of €120 and Temple Bar B&B's and hostels harvest in noisy and fleapit reviews. Read the terrible reviews for confirmation. If you're willing to endure a little bit of taxi trauma (taxi drivers from the airport are rip-off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winsted, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

-clean room -bedroom was nice but bathroom could use a little updating however, bathroom was clean -about 15min walk to Temple Bar area -VERY kind and helpful staff -no comment on the breakfast-- we did not have any For the price, this location is good and the accommodations are good too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Portobello Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Portobello Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Bed and Breakfast

Address: 77 South Circular Road | Portobello, Dublin Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Portobello Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello b&b
Portobello Hotel Dublin

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portobello B&B is a small family business (establishment) run by Eileen and Paul Coughlin since 1997. It is a 3 * townhouse approved by Failte Ireland, the official Irish Tourist Board. We are LOCATED in the Portobello area of the South Circular Road which was known as "Little Jerusalem". The Irish Jewish Museum is situated in nearby Walforth Road. George Bernard Shaw, the famous playwright was born in Synge Street in 1856 and his birthplace is open to the public. Portobello B&B is a Victorian brick townhouse built in 1881 and we have single, double/twin and family rooms. *WE PROVIDE FREE CAR PARKING. *COMPLIMENTARY WIFI ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portobello Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer