We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 & 3 Night Special Offer
Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #86 of 177 hotels in Dublin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
drp1270 Fort Worth, Texas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (761)
  • Photos (576)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (142)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    297
    185
    73
    34
See reviews for
127
265
80
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Castle Hotel Dublin, Ireland in June of 2014 and had a perfect stay. The only thing precenting 5 stars on my review is the accordian door on the shower but I really did not mind at all. The old world charm was perfect for my taste. Everyone was SO nice at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review about the Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you have had such a good experience at the hotel and that our staff members looked after you so well. I would like to take this opportunity to ask you if you can contact us... More

Avenel, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You pay extra to park your car in their extremely tiny parking spots. They were very helpful when it came to asking for early breakfast due to our early tours we had organised - continental only when before 7.30a.m. Room was okay and at least there is a lift to get you there. Unfortunately on our last morning when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a family trip to dublin and was delighted with the spacious family room prices are good and food isn't bad either .. Met the owner on check out he was more than friendly just like the staff and would defo return next time I'm in dublin

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you very much for your lovely review about the Castle Hotel here on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to see that you have enjoyed the size of your room, the food in our restaurant as well as the service been provided by our staff members. Moreover I am delighted to read that you are planning to come... More

Sedro Woolley, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the whole theme of the hotel - it was a bit like an old haunted house - lots of creaks and personality - breakfast was lovely - staff great - rooms on the 3rd floor with a skylight that does not open were a bit like ovens - needed to put on sunscreen before I went to bed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gdubwoolley Thank you for your lovely review of the Castle Hotel which is a beautiful Georgian Hotel originally built in 1769. We have kept many of the original features including sweeping staircases and high ceilings with ornate plasterwork and I certainly agree that it does have lots of personality as well as a few creaks; well the building is... More

Everett, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location- close to everything and yet not too close to be noisy. Walls are paper thin- could hear the people in the room next door snoring all night. Room was hot and muggy- staff had no fans to supply.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed: Tuesday 15th to Thursday 17th July 2014 The hotel itself is nice enough, a little tired and creaky, but not unpleasant. It's a bit of a rabbit warren, but it has character. The room was good, clean and of average size for a twin room. I wasn't disappointed with the room or hotel. I did find the bed hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adele, Thank you very much for giving this wonderful feedback about the Castle Hotel. I was very delighted to read that you were so satisfied with the service you have been offered by our staff members and I am sure they all will be delighted as well to receive such a great feedback. We would love to welcome you... More

Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate surprises. Being asked to pay on arrival, as hotel policy, is always an unpleasant surprise – a bad start. I don’t mind giving a scan of the credit card on arrival or being given the option to pay, but being compelled (with no advance notification) to check out before you get in is bizarre. Why can’t this be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I would like to address the points you raised as follows : : It is our policy to offer guests the option of paying on arrival or we can pre-authorise credit cards for the accommodation total if guests prefer. I am sorry if this option was not made clear to you on arrival. I... More

Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to Dublin and the staff at the Castle Hotel could not have been more helpful. We had made a mistake in our online booking and had mistakenly ordered a twin room. On arrival our mistake was quickly rectified and we were offered a triple room with windows on two sides of the hotel overlooking Parnell Square. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review about the Castle Hotel. I was very glad to read that our staff members have been looked after you so well and that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room. I will pass on your advice about the fresh food tour breakfast team. We... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Really comfortable beds. Good variety for breakfast. Good live entertainment in the evening. Just off O'Connell street and right near the writers museum. Not disturbed by traffic or hustle and bustle of the main street. Temple Bar about 10-15 min walk. Good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you very much for writing this great feedback about the Castle Hotel. I was happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and we would love to welcome you back within the future. With kind regards, Marleen Hermann, Customer Service More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (427)
Viewed
Double Room #230 (49)
Viewed
Double Room #331 (62)
Viewed
Double Room #429 (62)
Viewed
Large Family Room (66)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
Superior Double Room #219 (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle Hotel in Dublin's city centre, just 2 minutes walk from O'Connell St and minutes away from all major tourist attractions, shopping districts, nightlife and theatres. Recently renovated the hotel has retained most of it's original Georgian characteristics. Striking antique mirrors, splendid period staircases, crystal chandeliers whilst still providing all modern day comforts. The hotel car park (charges apply) make The Castle Hotel the ideal location from which to explore Dublin. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;