We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3.0 of 5 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    1,092
    343
    86
    29
See reviews for
401
1,037
182
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2425)
  • Mar-May only
    (555)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (714)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (726)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (430)
All months
Des Plaines, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I expect my room, which I got at a very reasonable price, to be basic, but this was even more "basic" than I expected. It is a hotel that is billed as an Best Western PLUS. Well, if this is a "plus," I do not want to see the non-plus ones. My room was minute...VERY tiny. I am American and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is clean comfortable and affordable. The breakfast here is spot on, the rooms are small but comfy and the staff are very helpful and polite. The lobby area is nicely decorated and pleasing to the eye. The location is ok just a short walk to all the main shops and sights, however the noisy night club next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HULL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a friend on a National Holidays 3 day trip, must say its one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Staff friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable with tea making facilities. Our room was 504 it was a twin and overlooked a courtyard with a xmas tree lit up. Shower and bathroom facilities were very good. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location! Near everything we needed and some points of interest. Such as the Saint Patrick's cathedral. Friendly staff!. The room is perfect! Very cosy and organized. Very good breakfast! A lot of options and tasteful. The wifi works very well and it's fast. I'll be back there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel from December 21 to the 26th. This hotel exceeded our expectations considering we were traveling on a budget. This is in a great location just off O'Connell Street and central for all buses. The staff was delightful and very helpful. I loved the security features which made us feel at ease. The restaurant was busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great wee gem of a hotel hidden down a side street off the main shopping district. Very handy for heading out into the city. Very modern & clean, helpful & friendly staff and a lovely big breakfast buffet. Rooms were fairly small, but had everything we needed. Very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in a great, central location for exploring the great city of Dublin. It is just off of O'Connell street and while a tourist area for sure, it really is a great base from which to explore any area of the city. The hop-on, hop-off buses start their tours about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I thought the hotel was lovely however the room was very disappointing. It was the size of a broom cupboard, considering we paid 219euro. The tea & coffee facilities didnt work, no view whatsoever, the only view we had was the next day of a whino passed out right outside the hotel doors. The staff however were lovely, we just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owen C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am glad that overall you found our hotel and our staff to be lovely. I am sorry to discover that you did not feel your room was good value for money, unfortunately due to the nature of trip advisor I cannot look up your reservation to see what room... More 

Sheffield
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is really easy to find just off the top end of O’Connell Street. It’s literally a 2 minute walk from the ‘Air-coach’ O’Connell Street stop. Temple Bar is around a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The Air-coach goes direct from the airport, and the journey takes around 20 minutes at a cost of 12 euros return ticket.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wilrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very good and clean hotel in the center of Dublin. Located close to Upper O' Connell Street. Buses and airlink are nearby. The reception is very helpfull and friendly. The room and bathroom are spacious. The are a lot of good restaurants and several kind of bars around. I surely go again next time when I visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dublin

1,021 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (509)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (208)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (117)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (484)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay