We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3.0 of 5 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    1,124
    351
    88
    29
See reviews for
412
1,068
186
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2494)
  • Mar-May only
    (555)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (714)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (726)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (499)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have just come back from this hotel and yes it was OK. Few minor issues were :- 1) when we checked in the room wasn't ready, so left luggage with the reception, when we went back there was a bit of difficulty finding them again there seems to no labelling or numbering system to know whose bags are whose. 2)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had booked reservations for this hotel in January for 3 nights. Excellent staff and very professional!! Clean rooms & good size for a Europe hotel. The hotel was in a great location in the center of the city were you can walk to night life, shopping, restaurants etc!! Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault the hotel or the city. The hotel was well kept and clean. The facilities were excellent and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. It's in an excellent location, in a quiet street off o'Connell which ensured it was quiet enough for couples and families, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the best hotel you can get for a quick getaway in this fabulous city. It is very central, 5 minutes by walk to Henry Street (which is a shopping paradise) and 10 minutes to Grafton Str and Fleet Str. (Temple Bar). Moreover, if you're travelling by bus from the Airport you can get Aircoach tickets which are relatively... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here in January for a long weekend and it was absolutely perfect! Stayed in just a standard double room, which was lovely! bed was large and comfy, room was a good size and the bath and shower were perfect. Never ran out of hot water like some hotels do, never had any issues! Room was always warm, nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you're going to Dublin and know nothing about the city, this hotel's location off of O'Connell street is ideal! There are restaurants, pubs, museums, shops, and the beginning location for the hop on hop off tours. The hotel has 2 restaurants, we did not eat at either because there were so many restaurants nearby. Our room was quite small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here this weekend with friends. Hotel was really well located, directly opposite the bus stop from the airlink bus, and round the corner from O'Connell street. We arrived at 10am, but werent able to check in, as they said check out was at 2.30pm. On the day we were checking out, we were told check out was 12pm -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I always enjoy staying at this hotel, I always feel it is reasonably priced for it's position and the breakfast is very tasty. The only criticisms I have is the poor choice of TV Channels and the pillows could be a bit better other than that it is a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth H Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted you have let us know you are a repeat guest and we are very thankful for your loyalty and recommendation. Due to the nature of TripAdvisors anonymity we cannot fully search your past reservations. Maybe next time you stay you could stop by the desk where we would... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room as small but as not staying in there for long periods of time was okay. It was clean and did what we needed. Pub next door didn't distrub us and the hotel was less than 30 seconds from the main street. Only thing that I would say was house keeping knocking at half eight each not the best tim,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma1073 Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased to read that we are a good place to stay and we are very thankful that you chose to stay with us. Our clean and well located hotel is great for any person looking to base themselves while exploring Dublin. We hope you choose to stay... More 

Mochdre, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Couldn't fault this hotel. I booked it through a travel company from a wowcher deal. I hadn't received any info from the company as to when I could check in so when my husband and I enquired at the hotel desk what time this was we were told it was 2.30. It was 10am at the time but they said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seamus B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R Thank you so much for your five star review Sarah R. We were delighted you choose to say with us in Dublin City Centre. We believe we are an Excellent Hotel with Excellent Staff also. Our team work very hard daily in providing guests knowledge about Dublin City and providing them with a warm welcome to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin

1,028 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (515)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (208)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (122)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (484)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay