We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Dublin hotels

Clontarf Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
82%
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
Todd H Los Angeles, California
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    405
    186
    77
    57
See reviews for
300
851
36
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We wanted to stay one more night after our one week CIE bus tour of Ireland so we wanted to stay in a castle. After searching online for a castle hotel near the end of our tour I found the Clontarf Castle Hotel. The price was lower than other castles and the reviews were good so we gave it a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked the hotel for a short (two night) visit to see a poorly relative. My wife had stayed before when I recall getting a very good value deal for her and her cousin. This trip there were no such offers so it was considerably more expensive. I'm not sure that the hotel was good value but the meal that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
san jose, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Awesome hotel. We stayed only one night and had an excellent time. The grounds were impressive with a hotel built in and around an old caslte. The lobby was impressive and very nicely decorated. We were looking for a hotel close to the airport, but not too close. It's about a 20 minute drive. The room was VERY comfortable with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and special service you received from Front Desk team. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our management and staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visit the Clontarf Castle regularly and are always given a warm welcome by Dympna. All the bar and waiting staff are every friendly and helpful but we find Dympna goes above and beyond. The food is very good in both the the knights bar and indigo lounge. Unfortunately the restaurant lacks atmosphere so we very rarely go there. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and special service you received from Dympna. Our Fahrenheit Grill restaurant has recently undergone a refurbishment which ads alot of character and depth to it. It also currently offers a fantastic early... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I booked directly with the hotel to stay here for two nights last week, costing around £270. Upon booking a £8 deposit was taken, fair enough, but when we checked in I had to swipe my card so they could hold the remaining balance plus a 100 Euro security deposit which would be released when I checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am extremely disappointed to read you were unsatisfied with your stay and I would like to sincerely apologise for this. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and I have since investigated these issues and will contact you directly to discuss this further. Many thanks again... More

Colts Neck, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

9/5/2014 had a wonderful experience at this Hotel, Rooms were Simple yet elegant. The Service was professional and very helpful. Our plan included daily breakfast and we enjoyed dining in the Fairenheight Room daily. The Pub and Bar offered a variety of the Old and New. This hotel is located slightly outside of the hustle and bustel of Downtown Dublin,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food in the Knights Bar and Fahrenheit Grill. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our management and staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wrote a letter of complaint on the 26th of August and I still have not received a response. There was constant hassle with rooms and reservations since I stepped foot inside the door of the hotel. It took away from the 2 days i stayed here and now the fact I had no response to my complaint letter....speaks volumes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I can confirm we did receive your letter and duly responded to the postal address provided on the 30th August. I am extremely disappointed to read you were unsatisfied with your stay and I would like to sincerely apologise for this. I can assure you that this is not our usual... More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one night in this Castle so we could have the opportunity to experience the "Castle" living. First don't let the name fool you -- although this may have been a castle historically, it is now a first class hotel which lacks the character you will find at other hotel properties throughout Ireland. We enjoyed our stay at this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. The reception area features the original castle walls, however Knights Bar and Fahrenheit Grill restaurant are also part of the original castle. Our bedrooms were built as part of our refurbishment with modern facilities, the sizes... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot praise this hotel or it's staff enough !! We have just returned from a two night stay here and have had the most fabulous time. The staff were exceptional a lady named Louise on reception made our stay perfect, even though the people infront of us were very rude to her she just got on with her job... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and special service you received from Louise. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our management and staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is top notch; we highly recommend it!! Niamph & Robert are exceptional; they are an asset to the Castle staff!! We will definitely come back. The location is right outside of the hustle and bustle of the Dublin City life. The food was excellent and the neighborhood felt safe; beautiful views for walking or jogging. This place and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear the hotel and staff exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and special service you received from Niamh and Robert. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Clontarf Castle Hotel. yours sincerely, Denise Whelan... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1,133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (791)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (319)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (268)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (71)
Viewed
Double Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities