We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

Clontarf Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clontarf Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
82%
Ranked #20 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
George C New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,673)
  • Photos (1,121)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (251)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    967
    393
    185
    72
    56
See reviews for
291
839
36
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Firstly, lets talk about traveling to Dublin. If you are not familiar with the layout of the city, you can spend hours finding your way around. There are no road or street signs posted in the city. So finding Clontarf was a challenge. Our GPS could not even find the hotel. After well over an hour riding around Dublin, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a magnificent hotel, beautifully set within a castle. The food is wonderful, the irish breakfast especially and the best pint of Guinness you will ever have. You get a typical Irish welcome from all the staff, the bar area is comfortable which always helps when you're spending an evening draining endless pints of the black stuff. Rooms are also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On the plus side, it is a beautiful building. Wifi is good. Parking is free. Breakfast was fine. Staff are helpful. Only a 5 minute walk to a bus stop which takes you into the city centre. On the minus side, they didn't warn us that the main restuarant was going to be closed for renovation. They couldn't get the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denisw W, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am deeply disappointed to hear that you were kept awake throughout the night by some of our guests. I would relish the opportunity to speak with you in person, if you can contact me on dwhelan@clontarfcastle.ie or 003531 8332321. Once again thank you for your review and please accept... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on the last two nights of our trip in Ireland. Room was beautiful. Hotel is beautiful and the staff were very pleasant. We ate once at the bar and once for buffet breakfast. Great service and food was yummy. Worth the pamper price. I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our food and hotel beautiful and our staff to be very pleasant. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future. Yours Sincerely,... More

Co A rmagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a night away to Clontarf Castle for our wedding anniversary and all I can say is Superb. From check in to check out we enjoyed everything. The food,the room and the Castle reception area were faultless. A nice touch was the Happy Anniversary desert left in the room on arrival. We will not hesitate to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your anniversary stay with us here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future. Yours Sincerely, Natalie Smith Deputy General Manager Clontarf Castle Hotel More

Peterborough, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a very nice three days at the Clontarf on our honeymoon. Our room was well appointed and quiet, even though there was a different wedding there each day. The bed was really comfortable and lovely. I found the bathroom basic, and the tub had anti-slip gripping that was somewhat dirty. We paid for the Romance package, which included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. Regarding your dining experience. We do offer a breakfast menu along with our full and continental breakfast which include kippers, salmon and fresh omelettes etc. I sincerely apologise that you were not accommodated well due to a... More

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel. Great atmosphere, clean comfortable rooms, good food and great service. Concierge Barry went above and beyond to help us plan our travels in Ireland. Great breakfast. Not centrally located but in a very nice area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you received such good service from our concierge Barry and you enjoyed your travels in Ireland. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future. Yours Sincerely, Natalie Smith Deputy... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently organised a lunch party for 30 people at Clontarf Castle, having found details of the terrace barbecue menu for private functions on their website. It was a hands down winner in terms of location and value compared with all other options that I looked at and it really did not disappoint. Their booking agent was incredibly efficient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your event with us and that our team looked after you so well. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our management and staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed in hotels arouind the world, some of which are famous. But Clontarf Castle Hotel is one of my favorites. The staff was warm and friendly. the concierge, Barry, was the best I have ever encountered, and the food was 5 star. The hotel is unique and charming, clean and quiet. The neighborhood is lovely and I felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and our staff looked after you so well. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the food to our Head Chef and the great feedback of Barry, our concierge. Thank you once again... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a week in Dublin. This hotel is not close to the city center, so you will spend 15 - 20 Euros each way on taxis. The hotel has a lot of weddings going on etc....kids were running through the halls at 4am in the morning!! Wifi does not work in the rooms. I spoke to the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie S, Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the hotel We are only a 10 minute bus journey away form the city centre which will cost you €2.60 from directly outside the hotel on a very regular bus route. Unfortunately we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clontarf Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1,121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (779)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (319)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (71)
Viewed
Double Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Family Hotel in Dublin #18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin #19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin #20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin Ireland is a perfect blend of boutique and luxury, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 2 miles from Dublin Airport, Clontarf Castle Hotel is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
111

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clontarf Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer