We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uppercross House Hotel

26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Uppercross House Hotel
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    77
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
52
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not a very nice experience for us. The staff were polite, breakfast was very good, the lobby/entrance was nice and the rooms were clean, however that was about it. The room looked like someone scavenged a second-hand store for furniture and the price was astronomical for the quality. It was not terrible, however I would not stay here again nor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Croate80, I am disappointed to see that you have rated your stay with 2 out of 5 given that you mentioned that the hotel and rooms were nice and clean, the breakfast was very good and the staff were so polite. It would appear that we ticked all the boxes apart from your budget. We have a very competitive... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stay in this gem for 3 nights and was immediately bowled over by the friendly and down to earth staff. A very homely feel about this place and was super impressed by the geniune help I got when looking for directions and where was good to go around the place. Its got a great little pub downstairs and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear halo J Many thanks for your glowing review following your stay with us here in the Uppercross Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we met all your expectations and it's sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Ann Marie Brannigan General Manager More 

England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I joined my girlfriend on her business trip and Could not have been made more welcome by the hotel staff. Roisin is the friendliest receptionist I've ever met, she is absolutely fantastic - the perfect person to welcome you to the friendly city! On a previous stay my girlfriend left an item at the hotel and they really went all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flamingredgirl Many thanks for taking the time to review The Uppercross Hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that the reception staff were so helpful and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you be returning to Dublin. Kindest regards, Ann Marie Brannigan General Manager More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed at the Uppercross for three weekday nights on business. As every time for the last five years, nice and comfortable and quiet, good food at the restaurant downstairs, Mother O'Reilly's. Could not ask for anything else, really, especially free Wifi that was very reliable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards, Uppercross House. More 

Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, a bit old style but clean and fresh. Good size free car park. Good wi fit throughout the hotel. Bar/restaurant Mother Reillys is really good with good selection of food and drinks and a good atmosphere. All in all I will be back for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards, Uppercross House. More 

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted twin bedroom was given a double, it was comfortable but could have been a bit cleaner in general the water free was a nice touch , it's close walk to luas stops , breakfast was very basic cereals and cooked fry, good for he price but would have to greatly improve for me to re book

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ros22 Thank you for taking the time to review the Uppercross Hotel following your stay. Our records show that you booked a double room through a third party and not a twin room. We endevour to accommodate guest request on arrival but unfortunately as we were fully booked on the night you stayed, we were unable to change your... More 

Thurles, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

we had book a hotel in Tallaght and when we got there they had no booking for us so as my partner was doing the spar great Ireland run on Saturday we needed to stay , i booked Uppercross on the lidl break web site paid my deposit and we set out to get to Rathmines from Tallaght . we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi fifidIreland Many thanks for your glowing report following your stay here at the Uppercross hotel. I am sorry to hear that the start of your trip in a Tallaght hotel was met with disappointment but delighted to hear that we were able to meet all your needs and provide a haven away during your Dublin trip. We strive to... More 

Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed in this hotel for one night great deal on Lidl breaks €100 for 2 people for B & B plus 2 course meal with tea and coffee p.p. Our room was lovely and big with a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. Had a few drinks in pub attached Mother Reilly's which was designed like an old fashioned Irish pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon fifidIreland, Many thanks for your review following your stay at The Uppercross Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as your meals in our bar & restuarant, Mother Reilly's. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Many thanks, Ann Marie Brannigan General Manager More 

london
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The positives were the reception staff and cleaning team who were friendly and straightforward. Also parking available and serviceable rooms with original artwork and no clutter. The overwhelming negative was an unscrupulous and avoidant manager. One of our group was unable to join us with a month's notice and we informed the manager by email. On arrival we were shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kingsgate, I refer to your above review regarding your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, from the information given above and without a name or date of stay, I am unable to respond specifically regarding your booking. In general, the only reason we would be unable to change a reservation from a twin room to a single room, for example,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Room was up stairs directly above reception, with no intervening doors to muffle sound. The rear bar was also just down another flight of stairs. Despite the constant loud conversations from below, thanks to earplugs had managed to get asleep early. Then there was a false fire alarm in the middle of the night. Cue more loud conversations from downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities