We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uppercross House Hotel

26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Uppercross House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    89
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
57
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just back from a stay at this lovely hotel. Myself and two friends stayed as we were up at a concert in Croke Park. The location was perfect despite us thinking it might be a bit far out. There is a great bus service available on the doorstep which takes you right into the city centre. Check in was seamless,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FlutterbyV Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay whilst attending a concert in Croke Park. Should you wish to contact us to let us know what room you stayed in we will certainly investigate the door banging on our corridor. annmarie@uppercrosshousehotel.com We look... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very friendly hotel staff and located in Rathmines in Dublin. The bar serves a great Guinness and the food is fantasic. Couldnt recommend higher. A great feature of this hotel is the internet access. Free Wifi throughout the hotel and bar, with 80-90Mbps broandband. Perfect for watching Netflix or a Facetime home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros: The room was nice and clean. The wifi worked pretty well. The hotel offered a full Irish breakfast free of charge. Cons: No elevator The owner of the hotel was VERY VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. He spoke down to the customers and took comments personally. He tried to patronize the customers by teaching them life lessons. He reached the extent of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uppercross, Owner at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelingOwl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly, in relation to the elevator, we do have a lift in the newer part of the hotel but as you were staying in the Georgian part, there is none on this side. Secondly, as the owner of the hotel, I pride myself on my customer service and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with my wife and daughter on 4th of July. Disappointed with time we got into our room 4.30 totally ridiculous time to expect a resident to wait. Room was ok beds and pillows poor definitely require replacement. Breakfast was not Irish. No potato bread poached egg just tasted of vinegar like previous review. Really disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard L Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I cannot tell the particulars of your booking with the details provided however the most a guest would expect to wait on check-in would be 15-20minutes at a maximum. On the weekend in question, we were fully booked the night before due to the... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 4/7/15 for one night, rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable. The staff in this hotel are lovely, friendly and very helpful nothing seemed too much trouble. The bar is lovely and bar staff friendly too food is nice. The hotel is in Rathmines on the main street, plenty of bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire, It was refreshing to read your lovely review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write one. I have passed on your nice comments to the staff. We really appreciate it and are glad that you had a lovely stay. Kind Regards, Eimear Lawlor More 

ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well lets start with the good points. Hotel is located about 30 mins walk from stephens green and grafton st, and parking is ample and free at the hotel. Taxi rank across the street @ €10 into the city centre. The hotel appears to be an expanded guest house that has had extentions put onto it over the years. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe007, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad your overall stay was satisfactory and that you were happy with the staff, cleanliness and food. However, I am very sorry that you did not have a good nights sleep. If you wouldn’t mind taking the time to contact us and let us know which room... More 

Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception very friendly and ready to help. Clean and in time ready room with welcome water and coffee kit filled daily. Cosy restaurant, great pub in the cellar. Good location, near to Rathmines, close taxi and Luaz station. Good shops, cinema, swimming pool and many different type of small restaurants and take aways nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andr_sistv_nh, Thank you for your very nice feedback. We really appreciate it. We hope you can stay again. Kind Regards, Eimear Lawlor More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't blown away by this place, the room itself was stuffy with a musty smell. The breakfast was grim - an Irish fry. Aka 2 reheated sausages, bacon, mushroom and a tomato and a poached egg that tasted like vinegar... Baffled. Where's the potato and soda bread ? I'm not a tourist... So like I'll get over it. But if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 2009queens, I was disappointed to hear that you weren’t happy with your room or breakfast when you stayed at this hotel. If there were short comings on the morning of your stay we will certainly investigate. I appreciate your honesty. Kind Regards, Eimear Lawlor More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was attending the ACDC concert and needed a place to crash after the event. I booked into the Uppercross and was not disappointed. Its in a good location with a taxi rank just across the road. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities are available in the room. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Front Office Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you very much for nice feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time out to do that. Hopefully we will see you the next time you are back in Dublin. Kind Regards, Eimear Lawlor More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as we're going to a concert, twin room booked. Great location 10-15 mind from the centre by bus the 140. Perfect for my needs, checked in early at 12 and the room was ready. Only slept in the hotel so no idea of the food etc. Would book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat, Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad you were happy with your stay. Maybe if you come back again you can try some food in the restaurant/bar! Kind Regards, Eimear Lawlor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Rathfarnham
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Abrae Court Guesthouse
#77 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#33 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#98 of 172 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#80 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay