We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tara Towers Hotel

3.0 of 5 Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tara Towers Hotel
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    100
    104
    69
    51
See reviews for
59
128
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in to the bar area after a long hospital appointment for some food at 7pm. I chose stir fry, obviously microwaved from frozen, it looked and tasted like brown slop. My companion had southern fries as a side....cheapest of cheap, inedible. When we told the server it was indelible, she shrugged, saying "sorry about that". Zero customer service, scruffy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a training room for 2 weeks. Room set up nicely, clean, warm and plenty of room. Ate at lunch from carvery and portions are good size . Reception staff and General Manager could not go enough for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mullingar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dull, shabby and no restaurant open for guests staying at a hotel in Dublin. Only bar food available which was the worst I ever tasted. Only the locals who had a loyalty to the place drank in the bar. I will never set foot in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Headford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe the hotel is in not bad location; however the service, food, rooms were horrible. We paid €94 for outdated room and tasteless breakfast. Sometimes the cheaper option does not mean worse than others, but this hotel - believe in me - not worth a penney we paid. Disgraceful, should be off the booking lists, stay away from here as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M Kasparas Good Morning and Thank you for taking time out to post your comments, I am disappointed you were not happy with your stay, and we look in to address and issues with our accommodation and food beverage and staff Thanks you again Kind regards Patricia More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Stayed in hotel was okay but a bit dated but good value. Friendly staff. Very close to dart so handy for travelling to and from town. Called into local pub "The old punchbowl" on a Tuesday night & really enjoyed the trad session. Returned on the Wednesday for food and "Bluegrass" night. Would recommend for anyone staying in Tara Towers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased you were happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you once again to the Tara Towers Hotel Kind regards More 

Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Stayed while attending a gig in the city. Only reason we stayed here was it was very cheap. €70 for two incl breakfast. Perfectly clean and acceptable if looking for a hotel with a budget. Hotel is clean and safe. Night bar is OK. Staff a good and friendly. Breakfast is best avoided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Castlebar, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Stayed here new years eve. While I wasn't expecting something quite flash as I had read the reviews here I was still shocked our experience. When we checked in the receptionist showed little interest in us. Common courtesy to speak to guests, ask them have they travelled far, tell them what time breakfast is things like that. Nothing. The same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear corporal747 Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel. The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability Tara Towers Hotel opened more... More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This hotel was booked as part of a 2 night stay over the New Year period. The hotel was basic, but clean and comfortable, with a good view of the sea from the room. It is located outside the centre of Dublin, but the number 4 and 7 buses run regularly and can be caught approximately every 15 minutes. Something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased you were happy with your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Tara Towers Hotel Happy New year & Best regards Patricia More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We only stayed here for one night as it was the cheapest option for us at that time. However we would not choose to stay here again. The staff barely acknowledged us while checking in and the rooms were dated, in poor condition and not particularly clean. Seriously disappointing. The reception and bar area was nice enough but the nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenifer Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and apologies you were unhappy with your stay. The Tara Towers Hotel is over 40 years open and was designed in the 70s and is a well established hotel in Dublin We took up management of the hotel approximately 6 years ago and since then we have had several... More 

Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We did not rush for the breakfast as in the information booklet was noted that the breakfast is until the noon. However, when we came downstairs we were told that they are finished at 10:30. Very disappointed as breakfast usually one of the great things when you stay in hotel. We told in the reception that it means that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vjmartinkai Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and apologies for any inconvenience The feedback we have received helps to address situations when the arise, and develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers very best of hospitality... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Address: Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

411 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (38)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Twin Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay