We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tara Towers Hotel

3.0 of 5 Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tara Towers Hotel
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    104
    68
    49
See reviews for
57
126
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (363)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in hotel was okay but a bit dated but good value. Friendly staff. Very close to dart so handy for travelling to and from town. Called into local pub "The old punchbowl" on a Tuesday night & really enjoyed the trad session. Returned on the Wednesday for food and "Bluegrass" night. Would recommend for anyone staying in Tara Towers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed while attending a gig in the city. Only reason we stayed here was it was very cheap. €70 for two incl breakfast. Perfectly clean and acceptable if looking for a hotel with a budget. Hotel is clean and safe. Night bar is OK. Staff a good and friendly. Breakfast is best avoided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Castlebar, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here new years eve. While I wasn't expecting something quite flash as I had read the reviews here I was still shocked our experience. When we checked in the receptionist showed little interest in us. Common courtesy to speak to guests, ask them have they travelled far, tell them what time breakfast is things like that. Nothing. The same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was booked as part of a 2 night stay over the New Year period. The hotel was basic, but clean and comfortable, with a good view of the sea from the room. It is located outside the centre of Dublin, but the number 4 and 7 buses run regularly and can be caught approximately every 15 minutes. Something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased you were happy with your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Tara Towers Hotel Happy New year & Best regards Patricia More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed here for one night as it was the cheapest option for us at that time. However we would not choose to stay here again. The staff barely acknowledged us while checking in and the rooms were dated, in poor condition and not particularly clean. Seriously disappointing. The reception and bar area was nice enough but the nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenifer Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and apologies you were unhappy with your stay. The Tara Towers Hotel is over 40 years open and was designed in the 70s and is a well established hotel in Dublin We took up management of the hotel approximately 6 years ago and since then we have had several... More 

Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not rush for the breakfast as in the information booklet was noted that the breakfast is until the noon. However, when we came downstairs we were told that they are finished at 10:30. Very disappointed as breakfast usually one of the great things when you stay in hotel. We told in the reception that it means that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vjmartinkai Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and apologies for any inconvenience The feedback we have received helps to address situations when the arise, and develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers very best of hospitality... More 

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

As a hotel I can't comment but while visiting a relative in the nearby St. Vincent's we called in for lunch and had there carvary! The food was poor the mushroom soup was more like salt soup with a bit of mushroom! We then moved onto the mains the portion sizes were decent an the taste was just ok nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for availing of the Tara Towers Facilities and taking time to post your comments, I am sorry you were unhappy with your experience while dining at hotel , the feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, address problems so we can offer our customers the best of Irish hospitality I appreciate and respect your... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

been there now around 7 times. the good thing about the hotel is it is out of the way of dublin city,and a room overlooking the irish sea is a fairly good view. only down side was on my final day, monday 15th went down for breakfast to find nothing available and no staff in the breakfast area.but on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your loyal custom and for taking time to post your comments, and I am very pleased you were happy with your stays at Tara Towers Hotel, the feedback, this helps to pin point areas which need addressing , facilities and customer service issues I hope we will stay with us in the future Best regards... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on a cheap city break and really liked this hotel. The reception and bar areas are welcoming and our rooms were spacious warm and very clean. We liked the location slightly out of the city - no need for taxis as the buses run regularly and the stop is right outside - airport bus also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helsut Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am very pleased you were happy with your some of stay at Tara Towers Hotel, and we will pass on you comments to the staff a I hope we will choose the Tara Towers for a future stay in Dublin Best regards Merry Christmas More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Well I paid about 129 to stay here for 2 nights - it's not near the city centre it's basically as if a hotels been plonked on the hard shoulder of a motorway. Nevertheless it's clean and the staff were helpful. BUT be prepared to re-mortgage your house if you want to have breakfast in bed €15 euro for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel. The hotel is located on the Merrion Road facing on Dublin Bay we are 4.8km from O'Connell Street Dublin City Centre, with 3 Main public bus routes stopping at the hotel and Rail station is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free β€” and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Address: Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

407 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (38)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Twin Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay