We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mespil Hotel

50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    267
    646
    263
    64
    27
See reviews for
218
438
66
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1267)
  • Mar-May only
    (391)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (345)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (277)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (254)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mespil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Wicklow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Couldn't fault the hotel, it's clean, comfy, reasonably priced and in a great location. We booked a room for 3 people and our room had a double bed and two singles, the room also had a couch, saorview tv, a DVD player and a refrigerator ( major plus ). The room was also very spacious, the only complaint I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our family room spacious, well equipped and good value. We have included a DVD player and fridge in these rooms and we have a nice selection of DVD’s and board games available at reception... More 

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour through GateOne travel and were happy enough with the hotel. The Mespil is located about a 20 minute walk outside of the city center (or about a 10-12EUR cab ride). The staff was very efficient and courteous. Breakfast was very good. Free WiFi daily with vouchers available at the desk. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. I hope you had an enjoyable tour with Gate 1 and great to see that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and delighted to read that you appreciated the free Wifi and enjoyed the buffet breakfast and... More 

Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Mespil is a very nice hotel, with clean and decent sized rooms. The breakfast buffet is awesome and reasonably priced for Dublin. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. For a moderately-priced hotel, it does everything right. The only drawback is that it is not in the city-center, which is a short taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found your room spacious and comfortable. Delighted to read that you found the buffet breakfast ‘awesome and reasonably priced’. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff, which is greatly appreciated. Although... More 

Castlebar, Co Mayo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Was meeting up with old friends lately and it was suggested that we should stay overnight in the Mespil. Our rate of room only €99 rose to €119 when we added two breakfasts. One couldnt fault the room and we had a comfortable night's sleep so no major points of disappointment but we did have a couple of drinks in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our location overlooking the Grand Canal. I’m not sure who suggested the 10mins from Grafton Street – they obviously like a fast walk – we suggest 15/20 minute walk at leisure. Sorry... More 

Vereeniging, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A very noisy hotel, the guests were extremely noisy through our the night, with the last straw being a taxi drop off at 4:30 in the morning with music blaring. I would not stay in the hotel again. Curtains don't close properly so light continues to filter into the room. The Americans are loud and inconsiderate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Unfortunately you stayed with us during the Farewell ‘Westlife’ Concerts and both nights of this event were particularly busy with concert goers… I apologise for the noise element however it really was an exceptional weekend and I have informed our accommodation department about the curtains not closing. Sorry your... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mespil for one night while we attended a concert. We found everything about our stay good. The staff are friendly and very well mannered. The hotel is clean but if I had to find any fault it is a little bit dated. I'm sure the times we find ourselves in don't lend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us while attending a concert and great to see that you enjoyed the location and found the hotel good value. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and great to see that you enjoyed breakfast.... More 

galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in the Mespil for the first time last weekend. I returned again last night for another stay. On both occasions I was really impressed by the genuine good nature of the staff. I was quite demanding at the weekend - needed a fridge for my room, needed to borrow glasses from the bar, asked for late check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were very impressed with the service you received on both visits. Your kind comments in relation to our staff have been passed on to the team and thank you for highlighting this. Great to know... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at The Mespil for 2 nights with friends for the Leinster v Ospreys rugby game at the RDS in March. Great location for the RDS/Aviva or for City Centre (Grafton St). Both about a 15-20 minute walk. Also plenty of buses nearby if you prefer. It took us about 6 hours to walk to Grafton Street but that's cause... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us during the Leinster v Ospreys Rugby weekend – it was a great weekend in Dublin. Our location is ideal for Aviva Stadium, RDS and for city centre as you mention...and I like how it took you 6 hours... More 

ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This Hotel is really well located right in the heart of Dublin. It is when an easy stroll to lots of ameneties etc. Free Wifi was available via a bitbuzz voucher. Annoying that you had to keep logging in to a web page though every time you put your phone down. I hate this ! The room was large enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to hear that you enjoyed our location close to many Dublin attractions. Thank you for your comments in relation to the complimentary wifi – and Bitbuzz our Wifi provider are in the process of solving the issue with phones going into sleep mode – so that is good... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've stayed in the Mespil a few times in 2012 for 2 -3 nights each visit. This is located in Dublin 4 on the canal basically within walking distance of business areas in D2/D4. Staff are very efficent and friendly. The rooms are large with TV, WIFI and coffee making facilities. Make sure that you have the cooked breakfast. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. It was great to receive your feedback as you have compiled this over your recent stays with us in 2012 and thank you for taking the time to post it. We are delighted to know that we are your ‘go-to’ hotel in Dublin and that you enjoy the location,... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(7)
  • Grand canal(5)
  • City center(4)
  • Great location(3)
  • Good value(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

916 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (48)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Grand Canal Hotel
#48 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#34 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin City Inn
Dublin City Inn
#101 of 172 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay