We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mespil Hotel

50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mespil Hotel
Add Your Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    569
    228
    55
    24
See reviews for
184
374
57
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1108)
  • Mar-May only
    (322)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (276)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (255)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mespil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was large and clean, with a shower over a half-depth, full-length bath. Shower pressure was good. Hot water was very hot. The large windows let in a lot of light and actually open, though my view was onto an adjacent office building. This didn't matter much since I was there only at night, with the curtains drawn. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. You were impressed with the good shower pressure and plentiful breakfast each morning and your room was spacious and comfortable. Thank you for the kind comments about our Front Office team, it is very much appreciated. I have... More 

st.louis, mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights. Room size and conditions are both good. Hotel is not right on the city a little far away but plenty of Taxis are available to take you to the city. Didn't have any problem at all. Staff and the amenities were good, Good breakfast. Enjoyed our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Your room was spacious with good facilities and you enjoyed breakfast each morning. Thank for kindly mentioning our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Dublin. Thank you for taking the... More 

Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Doing a whistlestop tour so a power of travel, viewing, learning history, immersing oneself in the emerald green surrounds. Teenseyweensey tired on arrival at 2.30, ready for a quick ablute, in advance of more dashin' hither & thither. Sorry, my room not ready until 5. Some posh person still reclining. Not happy.... However, when I did return after a Guiness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us while traveling around the Emerald Isle. Although your room was not ready on your arrival, all was forgiven when you got a room with a view!! Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location in particular if you are in Dublin for sport at the Aviva or the RDS. Nice location on the canal and aprox 15 mins walk from city centre. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast adequate. Staff v helpful. Limited car parking available included in rate. Hotel has 70's feel. Some parts currently being upgraded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the location ideal for Aviva Stadium and the RDS. Great to hear that your room was spacious and thank you for the kind mention about our staff. All work in the hotel is now complete for... More 

United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here twice and each time had a decently-sized clean room with a bright clean bathroom. The staff are very nice and breakfast is good and dependable – the selection is standard, but there are plenty of options and it will fill you up before a day of sightseeing. When looking for a hotel in Dublin, there's a tradeoff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that your return visit to the Mespil Hotel was enjoyable and your room spacious and comfortable. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and good to hear that you enjoyed breakfast also. You like the location as it is a 15-20 minute... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is about a 20-30min walk away from the city centre with clean rooms. The room was spacious, however I had some difficulties with getting a confortable room temperature. The heating is a little bit tricky. Since I had only breakfast I cannot say anything to the regular restaurant in the hotel but the breakfast was good. Depending on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and found your room comfortable and spacious. You also enjoyed the breakfast and complimentary Wifi during your stay and great to hear we could assist you with an additional USB-Charger. We look forward to welcoming you back next... More 

Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my hubby for the last 2 nights. We found it to be a good hotel with nice staff and good amenities. My husband used the gym and thought it was very well equipped. The hotel is about a €10 can ride from the centre of the shopping area or about a 20min walk. There's a line... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us in one of the newly opened Executive Rooms. Delighted to hear that you found the room spacious, comfortable and well quipped and you liked the rainfall shower. The gym & Terrace... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my partner, room was disappointing, the bar and Restrauant menus likewise. No atmosphere in the bar it's more like a factory canteen, Internet is intermitant I mean it's the 21st century!! But worst of all was being disturbed in our room on a Sat afternoon and accused of smoking in the room by a female manager she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel and I apologise for the misunderstanding re the smell of smoke in your room. I feel you did not experience the best of the Mespil Hotel and if you... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a long weekend and found this hotel. It was reasonable in price and the location is far away enough from the town centre but close enough to get there. If you arrive at the airport get the air coach, it's 14 Euro return per person and so quick and convenient. On checking in the staff are friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your long weekend in Dublin and found the hotel well located and good value for money. Great to hear you found your room comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our Front Office team and good... More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from staying three nights in the Mespil - my second stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable and as before I had a great nights sleep on all three nights. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. What really stood out on this visit was the meal in the bar area. After having pounded the streets of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay while sightseeing and shopping in Dublin. Your room was comfortable and spacious and you enjoyed breakfast each morning. Your high praise of the bar food is really appreciated as we have worked hard in getting this menu right. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

888 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question