We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mespil Hotel

3.0 of 5 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mespil Hotel
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    555
    227
    53
    24
See reviews for
178
368
53
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1085)
  • Mar-May only
    (298)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (276)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (256)
All months
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For a long weekend break this hotel was excellent, staff very helpful, rooms good, facilities good, restaurant and bar good, thoroughly recommended and very good value indeed. The Hotel was well placed to walk easily to all areas of the city and for those who want to go further bus routes were handy and taxis always available outside the Hotle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just had a weekend break at this hotel. Can't say enough nice things about it fantastic Irish check in staff , we arrived at 9 am on Saturday ( check in is 14 00) and they were only too happy to check us in and store our luggage until the rooms were ready, all done with a smile that made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here on Saturday 28th Feb, double room. Was ok, nothing really to write home about though. Staff were all ok, room was standard too. Didnt eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. Gym is fairly well stocked if not a bit strangely laid out. Location was good, 10Euro taxi ride into the heart of Dublin, some nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and my wife stayed here from 21 - 23 February 2015. We had stayed here before on two occasions and found the hotel to be good value for money. Good Points: Free parking (Got parked at 1.45pm on the Saturday) Breakfast was pentliful and very tasty. 15-20 walk to citycentre. Bad Points: We had a room overlooking the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights at the Mespil Hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly. We arrived too early for check-in but they graciously stored our luggage so we could explore Dublin. Room was standard and clean. Variety of food available at the breakfast buffet, typical hotel quality though. Nothing to rave about. Hotel is about 15 min walk to Grafton Street and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
colchester
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Large hotel, walk to our room was like visiting a care home or other institution - long corridors, nicely painted but so unwelcoming, why not hang up a picture or two. If you have walking problems ask for a room near the stairs as it is a long walk to some rooms. Room looked recently decorated and had what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to read that you had a comfortable stay with us during your recent visit to Dublin. Sorry to hear you had an issue with the Credit Card authorisation – As you had no charges, the amount was refunded in our system, however the delay in getting it refunded... More 

Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked an airfare/hotel combination through Gate1 Travel for January '15. The Mespil Hotel was located in what seemed to be a business district of Dublin and it was about a mile from downtown. The hotel included a buffet breakfast which I thought was great even though my wife didn't care for the beans and black pudding. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were very happy with Gate1 Travel and the travel arrangement etc. that they booked for you. Nice to see that the value was excellent and that you enjoyed our location also. The Irish ‘black pudding’... More 

Pensacola, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Mespil recently (on 2nd floor) & upon arrival instantly looked for alarm clock or clock radio. But there was nothing to tell time in room, which is most unusual for this nice hotel. Needs updating for radio or whatever, so people leaving early can see local time! Would be nice to see some changes in daily breakfasts, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Nice to see that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us while visiting Dublin. We don’t provide alarm clocks in the bedrooms but we offer ‘wake up’ calls for guests during their stay. I have also notes your comment re the Green Hop-On-Hop-Off bus and I will... More 

County Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Mespil for two nights with 3 children. The room was large and had a double two singles and a sofa bed. Unfortunately the room was located on the 4th floor and the first night of our stay was very windy. The room was very noisy due to the wind and a constant creaking sound from somewhere in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your recent family stay with us even though it involved a room move, which made your stay more comfortable. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and good to see you found the location central for your needs during the half term... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, great location only a short walk into town. Room was a fair size, clean and functional ! Happily stay here again Excellent hotel, great location only a short walk into town. Room was a fair size, clean and functional ! Happily stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found your room spacious and comfortable. Great to know the location worked for you and that you would happily return. We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to post... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin

896 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay