We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mespil Hotel

3.0 of 5 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
#75 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
989 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mespil Hotel
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    506
    206
    50
    20
See reviews for
162
334
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (989)
  • Mar-May only
    (296)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (202)
All months
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

While the Mespil may not be "Number One" in Dublin, we found it to be comfortable, clean, pleasant and with a very helpful and friendly staff. Also moderately priced. It's walkable from Trinity College and its environs, making it a good place for people who don't want to be in the center of things, and who enjoy walking a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel in a beautiful part of Dublin. Overlooking the grand canal and only a 20 minute walk to Saint Stephens green. Nice lobby with a warm and friendly check in. Room was clean but nothing special but for the price it was what to expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

+ Walking distance into Centre of Dublin + WiFi + Restaurants, supermarkets and pubs around + Breakfast Buffet - Old rooms and furniture - bath not very comfortable and old style (broken tiles, children's sink) - unfriendly staff at reception ( although we waited already 2 hours, some guest who arrived later, were served first) - hectic atmosphere as many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you had a mixed stay with us. Although the location, free wifi and buffet breakfast scored highly with you were not impressed with the room standard and the reception team. I apologise for the wait on arrival, however our reception team generally receive high praise... More

Tipperary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not a bad hotel, but nothing very special. Check in was efficient, with a welcoming member of staff. The room was nice, but the bathroom is in need of an update. The shower was very slow. Car park is small, so get there early, as it fills up quickly. Food was great. Wifi was bitbuzz, which is a pet hate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my second stay in three years at the Mespil. The hotel room I stayed in was beginning to show signs of wear and tear particularly the bathroom - plus the windows in the room don't really open. That being said the staff were friendly, it's in a great location and has all the modern conveniences including WiFi. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and good to know the free Wifi and location worked well for you. We have noted your comments re ‘wear and tear’ and we are delighted to announce... More

Deventer, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here a couple of times this year for business purpose. It is a very good hotel. Nothing very special but just very good on all accounts: Good rooms, nice beds, good working facilities, good WiFi coverage and good food. The services are also very good and the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful with all business needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to see that the hotel suits your requirements when visiting Dublin on business. Great to see that the spacious rooms, good food and complimentary Wifi fulfilled your business needs and thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We entered a large lobby and were quickly given our key. The room was well appointed, the power point was well away from the desk, so I-pad had to be charged on floor. Arriving back in the evening we decided on a shower, during which I noticed the large mould spores hanging from the vent above the shower. I informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you had a few housekeeping issues while staying with us. Thank you for raising the issues while in the hotel as it gave us the opportunity to rectify them and let you enjoy the remainder of your stay. Glad to hear you felt all other... More

chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel as it is in a beautiful and quiet part of the city while only being a 15 minute walk into the center. The rooms in back are dark and my room faced a wall but the staff gladly moved me to a room facing the Canal. The hotel is simple, rooms comfortable and the staff friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you enjoyed your room overlooking the Canal and you found the location convenient. Thank you for kindly mentioning our staff and good to know you found your room comfortable. The bedroom windows do open, so you should have been able to get ventilation into your... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of a UK & Ireland coach tour. Hotel was OK. Room was adequate, no air conditioning but windows open. Breakfast buffet is quite good and varied. Hotel staff friendly. Housekeeping didn't leave enough amenities..... coffee creamers, Location is good... lots of pubs and restaurants close.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Good to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the location with many pubs and restaurants close by. Thank you for the kind mention re our staff and good to see you enjoyed breakfast. Sorry to hear you had issues with Wifi and that housekeeping... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed one night. No problems, convenient for everything I needed to do, close to the Aviva Stadium and the city centre. Breakfast was good. Room slightly tired, but generally good value. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable one night stay with us and found the location ideal for your needs. Great to hear you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.... More

Do you own or manage Mespil Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

871 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay