We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

Mespil Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Mespil Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #75 of 177 hotels in Dublin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kaoc1 Vancouver
  • Overview
  • Reviews (955)
  • Photos (871)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (143)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    489
    194
    49
    20
See reviews for
155
323
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Mespil as we were here for a wedding nearby. We had stayed here before a few years ago and were more than happy to return but this time we were disappointed. The rooms were tired and dated and really could do with upgrading, in fact the hotel itself could do with an make over! The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to see that your recent stay with us was disappointing and unfortunately we did not meet your expectations. Good to know you enjoyed the location and later in the year we will be upgrading many rooms, so perhaps you might consider giving us another try. If I can... More

Vancouver
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay here. The location was perfect for me - close to the city centre (about 15 minutes walk to St. Stephen's green) but out of the hustle and noise of areas like Temple Bar, so I was able to get a peaceful night's rest. The hotel is also served by a shuttle for the hop on/hop off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to see that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us and you enjoyed the quiet location. Good to know that you got the hop-on, hop off bus from the hotel which is a great service. The Air Coach also worked well for you and great to... More

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We flew into Dublin and were happy to see smiling faces at the reception. We had initially booked 3 rooms but had to cancel one at the last minute. The reception proposed an alternative for our 3 nights and allowed us to visit a two bedroomed apartment/suite that I would say is as good as any suite I've stayed in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to read that you had an enjoyable stay in one of our Duplex suites for your family. Thank you for the kind mention in relation to our reception team in organising the accommodation for you. You are correct in mentioning the price for children’s breakfast as children under... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel twice with my girlfriend and both times it has been a good experience. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are quite nice. It is a bit of a walk to get into the city centre but it is still within walk able distance. The restaurant is lovely and the breakfast buffet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had another comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning and an evening drink in the bar. The Wifi was temporarily down one evening which I apologise for however good news all is back up and running again. Great to see... More

Tum Tum WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel. Rooms very nice, great breakfast and charming staff. Location excellent. We were able to walk anywhere that we chose. The view from our room was the canal. Breathtaking! As this was a stay on our guided tour, I do not know prices but it was a great place to begin and end our trip to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the canal views from your room. Thank you for the kindly mentioning our staff and good to see that you enjoyed breakfast each morning. We hope you enjoyed your tour of Ireland and returned home safely... More

Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Take the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus right from the hotel, and you can see all of Dublin , then pick where you get off to visit. Even if you're a teetotaler you'll enjoy the Guinness Storehouse and the Old Jameson Distillery tours.Trinity College & the Book Of Kells are a must-see.The front desk staff are very helpful in arranging other tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us while discovering Dublin. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus is a great way to see the city and stops at all the main attractions also. Thank you for the kind comments re our Front Office team. I hope we will have... More

Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveling from the states, we were looking for a nice place to stay for a few nights. This hotel is a prime example of "looks can be deceiving." The rooms are NOT as regal as the website indicates; requiring upgrades to the fixtures and beds. We had to wait over an hour for our room to be ready and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the hotel during your recent stay. Our location is 15 minutes walk to the city centre via St Stephen’s Green and this walk is generally enjoyed by our guests as it is through Georgian Dublin. Or alternatively there are... More

Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night on a recent family break to Dublin. The staff were friendly and courteous, we had a really spacious room for the four of us, it was very good value for Dublin and close to city centre and plenty of good restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had a comfortable family stay with us and enjoyed the location, close to the city centre and plenty of good restaurants close by. Great to hear your family room was good and spacious for the four of you and thank you for kindly mentioned... More

Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel did not live up to any expectations. It was not very clean, and quite dusty, and there was a strange odour in the room. Furniture and fittings were all dated and worn. I've stayed at Travelodges that were better, and almost half the price. It is not at all what is advertised, an example being the 'many canal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our location is overlooking the Grand Canal so I am a little unsure about your comment, saying you can’t see the canal from the bedrooms or any of our Front Desk Team saying it either – as... More

Davis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Mespil Hotel is conveniently located near a small district with pubs, shops and other conveniences. The rooms are clean and good sized. Our stay include complementary breakfast, which had many food choices and was quite good. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Trinity College area. The Grand Canal is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the location, overlooking the Grand Canal and within walking distance to good shops, bars and restaurants. Great to hear you liked the breakfast buffet each morning and thank you for the kind mention in relation to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

871 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (162)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
254

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;