We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 178 Dublin hotels

Mespil Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Mespil Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
77%
Ranked #75 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
citygalSTL Saint Louis, Missouri
Write a Review

928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    477
    185
    43
    19
See reviews for
141
297
45
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was very delighted with this hotel. From the beginning, I had nothing but good vibes about them. Before I even arrived, I e-mailed the hotel twice. I asked questions about getting a taxi from the airport to arrive at this hotel and then I e-mailed them asking about golf courses next to the hotel. I had quick responses both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you really liked the location with Georgian architecture, canal views and good choice of restaurants & pubs close by. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and great to read that the... More

Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's been a few years since i reviewed this hotel. The Mespil is blessed with a great location on the Grand Canal by Baggot St Bridge, facing the Canadian Embassy, a comfortable 15 min walk to the centre of the city and with a taxi rank at the entrance. On a sunny Spring day with the trees leafing by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had another comfortable stay with us and you obviously enjoy the location, overlooking the canal and within walking distance to the city centre. Yes at the moment with the good spring weather and the trees full of cherry blossom and new leaves...it is hard... More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just came back from a lovely stay in this city and although the hotel is not in the centre it is close by. We were very satisfied with the hotel. We had a very spacious room overlooking the canal. With the central heating on it can be quite warm, but we just turned it off. Staff was very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the location central. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and good to see that you liked the view from your bedroom overlooking the canal. I have noted your comment re dated... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Dublin on business and this hotel was booked by my hosts. The taxi driver was impressed that I was booked into such a nice hotel in a posh part of town, so expectations were high. But what a disappointment. I had a room in the adjoining building which took a while to walk to. It stank of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to read that you were not impressed with your recent stay with us. Apologies for the smell of smoke – unfortunately some guests are not co-operating with the non-smoking policy but fines are now in place to help prevent the odd offender. Unfortunately we did not meet your... More

Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our tour group stayed at this hotel. We were not the only tour group - clearly this is a preferred hotel for tours. The rooms were quite sufficient. We stayed here upon arrival in Dublin at the start of the tour and again at the end before flying home. The rooms located overlooking the front of the hotel have the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you stayed with us while touring Ireland as part of a group and I hope you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the very positive feedback in terms of rooms size and comfort, to good food in both the bar and Glaze bistro for breakfast... More

Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a 2 night stay in the hotel. We had 3 twin rooms booked and were placed right next to each other which was a bonus. Check in was quick and efficient, staff are very friendly and happy to help in any way that they can. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our stay and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Great to read that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff. Good to see that the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was ‘piping hot with lots of choice’….and best news of all… you... More

Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Mespil is not conveniently located...if you want to be able to walk everywhere and not have to pay for taxis then this location is not ideal, especially in the evening. We took taxis to Temple Bar and back and that was an evening's worth of drinks for six of us...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear you found the location a little too far from Temple Bar - but there are many other areas around which are easily within walking distance… I hope you enjoyed your trip to Dublin. Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. Emma Allen... More

Kilkenny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've used the Mespil for years now and it is like an old friend. It's location is great for business and leisure alike. Close to the South side city centre without the traffic and parking problems. Also great for the Aviva stadium. There are good bars; restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate vicinity. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you regularly stay with us both for business and leisure purposes while visiting Dublin and consider the hotel ‘an old friend’. Thank you for the very kind feedback in relation to the hotel from location, to comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. Nice to hear you... More

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Efficient check in. All the staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms a decent size but can be a long walk from reception. Bed comfortable. Bathroom a bit dated. Breakfast good with plenty of choice and efficiently organised with no queues and food frequently refreshed. Free wifi. Adequate parking. Pleasant bar with decent well priced food. Overall I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. You very much appreciated the breakfast selection, Free Wifi, parking and well priced bar food and I have noted your comment in relation to bathroom being a ‘bit dated’. Thank you for the kind mention in... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the Mespil Hotel from March 20th to 26th. The booking was arranged through Gate 1 Travel, we were on an independent vacation. We like the location of the hotel and the neighborhood it was located in. Our room was good sized (372) and breakfast was included in our rate. The only issues we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin. Sorry to hear you did not get the room you requested on arrival – this is disappointing and I apologise for this inconvenience. Good to see that you liked the location of the hotel and I hope you enjoyed exploring Dublin and the countryside, while visiting Ireland. Thank you... More

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 255 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.