We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 87 Dublin accommodations

Kinlay House

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kinlay House to your Saves list
Kinlay House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
66%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lydia M Pinerolo, Italy
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    50
    24
    13
See reviews for
7
56
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinerolo, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for only one night because i had an early flight the next morning. i booked the 18 mixed dorm and it was perfectly fine. clean, comfortable bed. friendly staff. really great location just across the street from Christ Church, and maybe 5 minute walk to Temple Bar area. staff was helpful with booking the airport shuttle (7 euro).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Enniskerry, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Kinlay House is a cheap, friendly and clean hostel with a really good location. It is just a few minutes walk away from Temple Bar, where most of the pubs and bars in Dublin are. You get free Wifi-access and a free breakfast (toast, butter, jam, peanut butter, cereals, milk, coffee, tea). I stayed in a 20-Bed-dorm which is divided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Generally hostel is not bad but mixed room where I was staying wasn't clean enough under my bed was can and empties of shampoo and I couldn't see that someone was cleaning. And shower room was very cold .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorking
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kinlay House has had mixed reviews, and here is another. The location is excellent, right by Christchurch Cathedral and Dublin Castle, short walk to Temple Bar and Trinity College. Airlink bus 747 stops outside. We found the staff welcoming and helpful, which we note is not everyone's view so perhaps they have taken note of the reviews. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kinlay D, Guest Relations Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Unfortunately the bright green light is from the fire exit sign that we need to have for your own protection in case of a fire hazard . We have taken on board your comments and we are constantly looking at ways we can improve our hostel. Hope to welcome you back... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is on a very good location and has got a very good structure, but I don't know if would stay there again. Staff is not helpful, they are there to do their jobs only. Wifi virtually doesn't work, for me or for any of my friends. Also asked some people in the hostel, also didn't work with them.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, Guest Relations Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We recently upgrade the whole system , to allow our guest free Wifi , so we will check this. I apologize for the incovenience , we have have fixed the problem , so we don't expect to have any future problems. We look forward to hopefully welcome you back to Kinlay House Best Wish ,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

On a positive side, hostel location is ideal to enjoy Dublin's night-life or to get to the main high street. And my positive experience ends here. On a negative side, hostels all windows face the high street, so if you light sleeper would recommend to bring your own noise cancelling ear plugs. The room I stayed in was really small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, Guest Relations Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry to hear that you found the hostel noisy , however we do provide ear plugs, free of charge at the front desk, also we do apologize on the heating .We have had issues when we were really busy however these have since been rectified and we don't... More

Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Was cheap, in a good location but was pretty poor. Staff were not friendly or helpful, no lockers in rooms and power points were clearly damaged and dodgy, but when inquired about them was told no one has complained before. The plastic was broken, no way with sparks flying when plugging something in has no one ever complained before.... Was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, Guest Relations Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property . We are sorry to hear you found our staff to be unhelpful , as we pride ourselves on costumer service and always try to ensure our guest enjoy every minute of there stay with us. We had checked our sockets since your review and found no faults however we... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A great hostel! Cheap, clean, friendly atmosphere, warm rooms, and clean sheets, well maintained equipment for cleaning clothes! Close proximity to city centre aswell as vicar street and the Olympia theatre, perfect for anyone of any taste!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Really cheap when you consider it is located only a minutes walk away from all of temple bar's pubs and bars. The staff are friendly and helpful, one night we couldnt work our keys but they helped us without implying we were a burden. Considering the location and the price you might expect to hear a lot of noise and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed for 7 nights in a six bed girls only dorm, which had an in room en-suite. The hostel is clean and warm, nice staff, great location, the room was generally quiet and the dining area was well used spot. Free breakfast with coffee which was basic but "help yourself" so I would have a couple of coffees which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin
Kinlay House Hotel
Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.