We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinlay House

2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinlay House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kinlay House
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    182
    94
    42
    32
See reviews for
21
92
95
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (447)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really bad service, Would recommend staying away. Everything was fine the first couple nights I stayed there but on my last night the water ran out while I was in the middle of a shower (actually in the middle of lathering myself with soap) in my room. I waited for a bit hoping that it would eventually come back on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Apologies to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We did have temporary issues with water in the area, a problem which was unfortunate and out of our control. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we can hope you will return on your next visist to Dublin as we would be delighted to accommodate you.... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was bad. Plain and simple. First lets start with the restrooms. They were disgusting. The shower flooded with water and the floor was gross. Also out of the four days that I stayed there, the water only worked for two days. Also the security passes are ridiculous. They are sheets of paper that are very easy to lose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There We are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us here in Kinlay House. We did have temporary issues with water in the area which was unfortunately out of our control, our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. Security Passes are a necessity for our business like all other Hostels in Dublin they are in place for... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at this place in the afternoon and we were immediately asked to pay. I paid in pounds with my visa debit. We went to the room that we would have our own bathroom and we see that there is a double bed and on top of that a single bed. There was no proper shower in the bathroom,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us here in Kinlay House, we did have temporary loss of water in the area, which was unfortunately out of our control. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. In relation to the currency we do process our payments in Euro unless it is requested otherwise and our rates... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hostel! Friendly people, staff and clean rooms/facilities. The receptionists were extremely helpful and nice. The rooms were extrememly well kept. The breakfasts were really great too and they also did our dishes which was truely going above and beyond. Could not recommend this hostel enough. It was an amazing stay, thank you so much!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you for taking the time to write us a fab review! We really appreciate it and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hope to welcome you back soon All the Best, Management and Team at Kinlay House More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

well the location couldnt possibly be more perfect. its in the middle of the city center and the prices were very good. i stayed in a female suite and it looked like an old hotel room with bunkbeds but was clean and quiet. check in and out was easy, kitchen was great, common area was so-so. just didnt have that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin All the best for now, Management and Team at Kinlay House More 

Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The warm welcome that we received on a early morning from the reception staff was like a blessing to us .We booked for the wrong month but the staff was helpful and help us , they manage to let us go early to the room , the cleaning team where very fast . The room was a big dorm, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip back to Dublin :) All the best Management and Team at Kinlay House More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

I don't know where to begin with. It's a cheap tacky place. The ONLY GOOD THING is that it is located at city centre. We stayed in a 16 bedroom, for 13 nights: 1) there are no lockers. You have to rent them: 2€ per day. They are located in another building. 2) It is a real dirty place. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, it is a pity that over the 13 nights you stayed with us you didn't bring some of your issues to reception or myself as we would have done our utmost to help you. Just a few things in response,we change our linen every 3... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The Kinlay House is a very nice building. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff was very friendly. But I wouldn't call the place clean. We were very happy that we did not have to cook in this kitchen and the bathrooms and toilets were only cleaned superficially. During our whole stay (5 nights) was a brown-grey-ish dort in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we will for sure take all your points on board with the housekeeping department as we are always eager to improve our standards and keep a high level of cleanliness throughout the Hostel :) We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin All... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

Having never hostelled before, i was urged to by a friend and im so glad i did. This place was clean, friendly and so quiet considering you are sharing with 18 other people. The breakfast they provide in the morning is basic but its plenty to fill you up till lunch and included in the price. Will defo be staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review !! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon :) All the Best Management and Team at Kinlay House More 

Ballina, Mayo, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I just love this hostel! That wasn't my first stay and it won't be the last one if I will go to Dublin again! First time it was with my parents who don't like the idea of hostels at all. But they really enjoyed their stay in here. Then I was here with my friend and now again! The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kinlay House Dublin All the Best Management & Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities