We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isaacs Hostel

2.0 of 5 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
10% off direct bookings
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Isaacs Hostel
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    161
    82
    42
    38
See reviews for
13
60
126
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (461)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are a couple from Portugal and we stayed at isaacs hostel 5 nights. At the reception people are Very friendly and helpfull like moast of Irish people. At night it has a little bit of noise (you can sleep anyway) and it means that people are having fun, witch is good. The breakfast is not perfect but It's ok.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redlands, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel was excellent. They have plenty of hang out spots inside the hostel and offer a bunch of fun activities ( they even have a sauna!!). On top of that they're in a great location! It's a pretty big hostel so you're bound to run into some awesome new friends. If you're energetic and looking for an eventful time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Isaacs Hostel, what a lovely place! There are many facilities, such as kichen, free breakfast, wifi, ecc. You can also rent a bike. The hostel is very clean too. I really like a common room with a fireplace, so warm and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed 2 days on Isaacs, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the location is excelent (with bus and train access). You can go on walk for the majority of important places in Dublin. The hostel also has simple free breakfast. The negative for me are the bedrooms, it is very easy to ear noise from the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. In respect of your comments re noise,we do apologise if you were disturbed by noise, for lighter sleepers we can offer ear plugs. More 

Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been in Dublin for 3 days and when I booked, Isaacs seemed to be the best option to stay because have the breakfast included. But the truth is, Isaacs is Definitely the Best Option for lonely travelers. You meet many people and It comes to a point that in the hall you have a "big family".. The guys from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks of your review - delighted you enjoyed your stay. We provide towels in the private rooms but not in the multi-bed rooms - however we do rent them at reception for a nominal fee. We also have hairdryers at reception which we give to customers. More 

Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: - Good location, near to bus station and train station. Bus stop for airlink bus from Dublin airport is within 3 minute walking. However, it can be a little bit confusing at first to find the hostel if you dont have a detailed map of Dublin. It's a bit shady if you walk from Talbot street though. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a million for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay - we will have a look for the bed you were taking about and rectify it!! More 

Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay, staff were energetic and pleasant... This was my first stay at a hostel and I had no idea what to expect but I was pleased with the value and the rooms were perfect for what we needed. Wifi only worked in common area and the reading area which was nice because it gave you a chance to socialize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

Hurray - finally someone who gets why we only have wifi in the common areas - do come back and tell everyone!!! We have ear plugs at reception for our lighter sleepers. More 

Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This past weekend I stayed in Dublin at Isaacs Hostel. I went on the Cliffs of Moher bus tour, which was a 15-minute walk away from the hostel. I wouldn't necessarily recommend traveling here alone. The area around the hostel is not well-lit. If you're taking a cab from the airport to this hostel, it's about 24 euros. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of the Hostel. The Hostel showers and all communal areas are cleaned regularly throughout the day, On occasion guests before you may not always leave the showers as they should so find and for this we apologise if unusually you found the facilities not up to standard... More 

Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The hostel itself is lovely and the staff are nice but the guy I dealt with was cheeky. I checked on the internet before I came here to check for beds etc and the price was about 16euro so I was shocked to hear the man quote '26 euro' to me. As a frequent traveller 26 euro is a crazy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you feel you were hard done by on the price. However Dublin is experiencing a big increase in demand and all hostels prices are based on availability and demand. The price you were quoted was at the higher end of our pricing, however it is a reflection of the demand on that particular date. Normally... More 

Havre St. Pierre, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We had a very nice stay 10 nights at this hostel. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the showers and toilets were always washed in the morning. It is very well located, we did everything on foot. They even provided us with a map. We had a fairly large room. There is a kitchen to prepare meals, and another place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay. We do provide ear plugs for the lighter sleepers. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay