We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandymount Hotel

3.0 of 5 Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Hotel website
Special Price
20% Off Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandymount Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sandymount Hotel
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    367
    126
    38
    29
See reviews for
166
360
47
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1015)
  • Mar-May only
    (239)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (327)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I have to say great staff more than helpful makes a lovely hotel even better. I will defiantly be back great location and super value for money clean and so friendly .Thanks to all in the hotelfir a great couple of nights stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and myself stayed in the Sandymount Hotel for two nights in November. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Bar Menu was delicious also Breakfast was excellent. We were on the 3rd floor and the room was spotless very comfortable and quiet - we will be back. Sweets at the Receptiion my husband enjoyed them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayo Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with my 12 year old son as we had traveled up to Dublin for the Ireland v USA match, its location is great for the Aviva Stadium, however due to the match the roads around and to the Hotel had been closed off, so it was a bit of a nightmare trying to get into the Hotel, and... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend with the kids, staff were very helpful the whole time, especially when we'd just arrived and our son had been hit on the head by the taxi boot (he's fine now, btw). Room was nice & large, comfortable beds. As others have said, it's perfectly located for Aviva stadium and with a DART station... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night over the weekend as we were going to see the Ireland vs Georgia match at the Aviva the next day. This hotel is perfectly located 100m from the Aviva so we didn't need to worry about car parking the day of the match! Also, there is a dart station opposite the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the 3rd time my husband and I had visited Dublin so it was nice to be staying outside of the centre. The Sandymount Hotel is a lovely friendly hotel and is ideally located for the Aviva stadium. The DART station is only a short walk away with the city centre about 2 stops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and a work colleague stayed in the Sandymount hotel in October. Firstly I must say the location was fab as we had a conference in the aviva stadium and it's literally a stones throw away. Upon entering the hotel it seemed nice and first impressions were good and the staff were really friendly. Checked in for our 4 night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

It is what it is. We were very happy with this hotel for the price and location. Sadly the first night we didn't get much sleep due to noise from the people next door (room 304) I complained first the next morning and the staff were great and changed our rooms without a fuss. The second night I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend were pleasantly surprised with this hotel! The hotel is big, the location is great and the staff was nice. Our room was the best surprise! It was spacious and warm and just renovated. The hotel is definitely a good value for the price you pay for it. The only minuses we could think of was that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aino Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We had a problem with adapters being returned, so we charge a €5 deposit which is refunded. I apologise if the Receptionist misinformed you. We are renovating a further sixty bedrooms this winter and look forward to your next visit. With kind regards, John... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel,good food,friendly staff.But I was disgusted after I had left the hotel to receive a phone call saying that I had been smoking in my room. That of course was not true. I smoke in my vehicle and naturally smoke gets into my clothes. This was presumably what was smelt in my room. They have a charge of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we have had some instances of smoking in bedrooms. I apologise if you were contacted in error. With kind regards, John Loughran Owner More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

418 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (267)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (56)
Viewed
Executive Suite (55)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay