We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor House Dublin

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Direct
Anchor House Dublin
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    216
    81
    32
    8
See reviews for
77
189
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (456)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here the last weekend in March 2015 for 2 nights with 2 of my female friends and we had a great time! We paid very reasonable rates for the triple room and we knew we weren't staying in a posh hotel so had no high expectations, we simply wanted somewhere central, reasonable and clean to put our heads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

People expect too much for their money. The place is clean and staff were very friendly. The shower pressure was poor but once again for the price you pay it really wasn't a problem. Enjoyed the stay and would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Good Afternoon! Thanks so much for your recent review of the Anchor House Dublin. We are always striving to provide a positive experience for our guests and we're delighted we were able to do so for you! We try our best to provide our guests with a memorable time here in Dublin and help them get the most for their... More 

Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival to the hostel we had a reservation that we had made through a third party website. Once at checkin the staff in the front could not get their credit card machine to work and I was asked to go outside to the ATM to get the money. Mind you this is during St Patrick's Day week and already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here at The Anchor House Dublin. We are always striving to improve our service to our guests based on the feedback we receive, whether good or bad. We always want to have our guests leave with positive memories of not only Dublin, but the Anchor House as... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and four friends just stayed at the Anchor House for a weekend and I have nothing but praise and good memories after my stay. The Anchor is located in an ideal location to enjoy the City. The rooms were ideal, nice clean comfortable rooms with excellent washing facilities. The best thing for me were the staff. Everyone was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello Rhodri! Thank you so much for taking the time to say such lovely things about The Anchor House! As a family run B&B, we are always striving to provide our guests with memorable as well as positive experiences and we're delighted that we were able to do so for you and your friends. We always love a friendly bit... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hi to all, The Okeefes had yet again a wonderful stay at the Anchor guest house . We have never been disappointed at all every one is so very friendly and really go out of their way to help you in what ever way they can Gerry and Joan and their staff make the whole place feel like home. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello Helene! We were delighted to have you back! We're thrilled that you have such a lovely relationship with us here at the Anchor House! We are always striving to provide a lovely and memorable experience for our guests and we're delighted that we've been able to do so for you each time you come visit! We look forward to... More 

thurso
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my sister and cousin and we shared a triple room on the top floor. This seemed much more like a hotel than a bed and breakfast and was a curious mix of things done well and things badly neglected. Often it was small considerations,that wouldn't have cost much to implement, that would have made all the difference.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience here with us. We are a family run bed and breakfast so we always strive to make our guests feel comfortable and ensure they have a positive experience. We apologize we were not able to provide such an experience for you. We have looked into... More 

Dover, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in January for a getaway with hubs. The owners were helpful and always kind and endearing. Breakfast was great start to our day.The area I loved. Close to everything including train station. Just a quick walk to all the tourist attractions. The rooms were warm, kept clean and no complaints. Just a short walk was O'Sheas which had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Hi Shelly! Thanks so much for your kind words about your stay here with us at The Anchor House! We're always striving to provide a positive and memorable experience for our guests during their time in Dublin and we're delighted we were able to do so for you and your husband! Always remember to book direct on our website to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for three nights.. We love Dublin and it was great to be so close to temple bar and the city centre. The place has a nice homely feel to it, even if things seem a little dated (for example very old tv and iron/ironing board) Anchor house inn was clean, the staff were friendly and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us here at The Anchor House. We're always striving to do our best to make sure that our guests have a positive experience with us as well as in Dublin. We're delighted to hear we were able to do so for you! We've taken your comments into... More 

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This bed and breakfast has really got it all..... the best pub on its doorstep (O'Shea's Pub) and the best customer service. The family owned B&B is well worth its money in gold. Booked 3 months in advance for 3 people on new year's eve 2014/2015 for under £100. It came to every expectation and more. The breakfast was fab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Anchor House Dublin. We always love to hear about our guests' experiences, good and bad, in order to be constantly improving in order to provide the best possible stay. In this case, we're delighted to hear you and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Brilliant location, great staff and cosy room. Fantastic value. We had a great stay in January - we had to change our party number at a late stage and they were so accommodating. Would highly recommend this B & B

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your experience here at The Anchor House. We are always striving to do our best in order to provide our guests with wonderful memories of their stay in Dublin. We're delighted to hear that we were able to do so for you. We try to be as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question