We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor House Dublin

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Special Deal
Free Breakfast Direct
Anchor House Dublin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Hannu-Sorsa Joensuu
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    126
    224
    88
    34
    9
See reviews for
80
196
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (481)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Joensuu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Last time in Dublin (2008) we found Anchor and it was so good, that now we didn't even think about any other. Suits for us. The atmosphere. Nice, old, charming. Situation perfect. Rooms and breakfast just fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for staying with us once again, there's nothing we love more than a return guest! Many thanks for your kind comments about our B&B. Our location is very central in Dublin city centre and we are very close to everything Dublin has to offer. Remember that the Breakfast is available free of charge only when you book directly... More 

Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had booked a secure parking space, fortunately! A terrific Irish lady welcomed us, she had a great sense of humour! Our room at the back was clean and comfortable and at night we could enjoy the music from a local pub if we kept the window open. Other staff seemed to be Polish, the other "language" of Ireland it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for you lovely review of our B&B! That terrific Irish lady is no doubt our one of a kind Goretti! She will be very pleased when she hears of your compliments. Thanks for your kind comments on the rooms, our clean and tidy rooms are a service we are very proud of. Andy More 

Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this B&B were fantastic, it kind of goes downhill from there. Our room faced an alleyway and a carpark. Trucks including trash trucks rumbled down the street at all hours. The carpark and the attendants area were right across from our window where the attendant stood for most of the time which made opening the window impractical.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to post a reply. We are located in the centre of Dublin, making it very convenient for people who want to visit tourist sites in town, the town centre, as well as other places throughout Ireland thanks to the various transport links near our B&B. Due to the city centre location it is inevitable... More 

Scarborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Finding a reasonably priced Hotel in Dublin could have been a worry but this place fitted the bill. A comfortable Georgian house that isn't in the most picturesque of streets but more than made up for it once inside. Comfortable lounges and rooms. Friendly staff, what more could you want. A short walk to O'Connell St and handy for Connolly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review of our B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hospitality appealing. As you mentioned, we are located in the central of Dublin, only a short walk from the city centre and many transport systems. Remember that you can avail of a FREE breakfast each... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was spacious and a good location to walk to the bus station and O'Connell street. I can't give the breakfast a thumbs up or down as we did not have it and my family are just not big breakfast eaters. Our room wasn't quite what was depicted in the pictures and some of our neighbors in adjoining rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. As you mentioned, we are close to the city centre and many transport networks, including the central bus station, the tram line and Connolly train station. The breakfast you mentioned is available FREE of charge only when you book directly through our website or by phone. Apologies about... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The anchor house in Dublin is very clean. The beds and bedding were great. Near the bus stop. Very easy to find. Quiet part of town. Very friendly staff. Check in wasn't until 12-2p so they let us drop off our bags so we could start touring. The only complaint is that it is listed as a bed and breakfast..but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello! Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Anchor. As you mentioned, we are located very central in Dublin town, near many transport services and right beside the city centre. The Breakfast is available for FREE only when you book directly through the Anchor... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The best asset is its location close to amenities and popular tourist attractions. Friendly hosts, clean rooms but the breakfast was disappointing compared to the over 30 B&Bs we enjoyed. Powdered eggs just doesn't cut it.The real turnoff was while waiting for our breakfast to arrive being told in no uncertain terms that we couldn't have a coffee while awaiting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are located in the centre of the city of Dublin, close to all of the popular tourist attractions, as you mentioned! We are also located a short walk from the train station and bus services for people going on tours throughout Ireland. Thanks for the kind comments about... More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

For me, the best part about this B&B was the location. It was outside of the boisterous temple bar area, still close to the attractions of downtown and a two minute walk to the central bus station - which was perfect for getting to other parts of Ireland. The room was comfortable and clean and quiet. The staff was pleasant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, As you mentioned, our location is very close to all the attractions in Dublin, the central bus station, train station and many bus routes. We are also a short 5 minute walk from the city centre! Thank you for the compliments about the room. Its always nice to hear a guest found their stay comfortable. Remember that you get... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

The guest house is ideally located for the city centre, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was nice with a nice choice of things but the room we stayed in room 4 which is on the front main road was noisey from traffic and people walking past but it was also so out dated only 1 mirror in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review. As you mentioned, our location is in the centre of the city, close to all the main attractions Dublin has to offer, most of which are only a short walk from the front door! Thanks for your comments about the breakfast, which is available for free only when you... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I stayed in Anchor House with my mom and a group of four other ladies for three nights. Most of the personnel were very nice and in other circumstances it would have been a good stay, but unfortunately we were unlucky. We had a window to the street, and it just wouldn't stay closed. In the first morning the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced, and have addressed the problems you described. As you mentioned, we provided new rooms to you and your friends. The problem with the staff has been brought to management and been resolved since your stay. Typically in the hotel and B&B business,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay