We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor House Dublin

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Special Deal
Free Breakfast Direct
Anchor House Dublin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    217
    82
    32
    8
See reviews for
77
190
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (460)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We lodged in Anchore House from 28 February to 3 March. I can depict Anchor House as a fantastic georgian style building well with its rooms very clean and cozy. Moreover, Anchor is very well located, just very close to the Bus Station, Railway Station ( where you can take the DART to go fantastic villages in the area roind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all a fantastic location, less than a 5 minute walk from the train station & a walkable distance from the main touristy areas. The price of the stay was just over €250 between 3 people for 2 nights so extremely affordable for Dublin city centre We were given a warm welcome, the room was very clean & quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed for one night at the Anchor B&B but found it to be very clean and friendly. We took advantage of the parking at 10 euros which made everything very easy. The property is perfectly located for a 10 minute stroll into Dublin city centre where there is a vibrant restaurant and pub area called the Temple Bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Hello! Thanks so much for your recent review of The Anchor House Dublin! We're always striving to improve our services in order to better ourselves for future guests and feedback helps us do just that! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. As you mentioned, breakfast is offered free of charge when you book direct on our website!... More 

Kitchener Ontario Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here when visiting Ireland for the first time. First European vacation too, so were not sure what to expect. Room was tidy and beds made up every day. Warm duvet made the nights tolerable, but there was no heat in the room from about 7 am to 4pm each day, and even then, it took a long time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Anchor House Dublin. We are always trying to provide a wonderful and positive experience for our guests and we're sorry for any of the issues you may have had. We are a family run bed & breakfast so we try and provide the best... More 

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here the last weekend in March 2015 for 2 nights with 2 of my female friends and we had a great time! We paid very reasonable rates for the triple room and we knew we weren't staying in a posh hotel so had no high expectations, we simply wanted somewhere central, reasonable and clean to put our heads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay here at The Anchor House Dublin! We are always striving to give our guests a memorable and positive experience here in Dublin and we're delighted that you and your friends had a great time! As you mentioned, we are conveniently located in Dublin's City Centre, just a short... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

People expect too much for their money. The place is clean and staff were very friendly. The shower pressure was poor but once again for the price you pay it really wasn't a problem. Enjoyed the stay and would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Good Afternoon! Thanks so much for your recent review of the Anchor House Dublin. We are always striving to provide a positive experience for our guests and we're delighted we were able to do so for you! We try our best to provide our guests with a memorable time here in Dublin and help them get the most for their... More 

Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival to the hostel we had a reservation that we had made through a third party website. Once at checkin the staff in the front could not get their credit card machine to work and I was asked to go outside to the ATM to get the money. Mind you this is during St Patrick's Day week and already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here at The Anchor House Dublin. We are always striving to improve our service to our guests based on the feedback we receive, whether good or bad. We always want to have our guests leave with positive memories of not only Dublin, but the Anchor House as... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and four friends just stayed at the Anchor House for a weekend and I have nothing but praise and good memories after my stay. The Anchor is located in an ideal location to enjoy the City. The rooms were ideal, nice clean comfortable rooms with excellent washing facilities. The best thing for me were the staff. Everyone was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello Rhodri! Thank you so much for taking the time to say such lovely things about The Anchor House! As a family run B&B, we are always striving to provide our guests with memorable as well as positive experiences and we're delighted that we were able to do so for you and your friends. We always love a friendly bit... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

hi to all, The Okeefes had yet again a wonderful stay at the Anchor guest house . We have never been disappointed at all every one is so very friendly and really go out of their way to help you in what ever way they can Gerry and Joan and their staff make the whole place feel like home. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello Helene! We were delighted to have you back! We're thrilled that you have such a lovely relationship with us here at the Anchor House! We are always striving to provide a lovely and memorable experience for our guests and we're delighted that we've been able to do so for you each time you come visit! We look forward to... More 

thurso
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed with my sister and cousin and we shared a triple room on the top floor. This seemed much more like a hotel than a bed and breakfast and was a curious mix of things done well and things badly neglected. Often it was small considerations,that wouldn't have cost much to implement, that would have made all the difference.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hello, We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience here with us. We are a family run bed and breakfast so we always strive to make our guests feel comfortable and ensure they have a positive experience. We apologize we were not able to provide such an experience for you. We have looked into... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question