We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 161 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Clifden Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clifden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Clifden Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
35%
Ranked #91 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    20
    18
    31
See reviews for
16
24
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled to Dublin with 12 ladies for a hen doo and stayed at Clifden Guesthouse. We booked back in Jan and all the reviews looked terrible so us of us who knew where we were staying were a little nervous, however we were very suprised! Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Beds very comfy and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Andrea R, Thank you very much for your kind comments and feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities at Clifden Guesthouse. I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.... More

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel as a group of friends travelling from England for a weekend in Dublin. The receptionist told us the hotel had been under new owners only for a month, so it has recently been refurbished throughout, new carpets, decorations, beds etc. The rooms were really clean, clean towels given, there was 24hr reception and all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dan Tee_27 Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Clifden Guesthouse. I’m pleased to hear that you found our reception team to be helpful and accommodating – customer satisfaction is something we strive for at Clifden Guesthouse, so we really do appreciated your feedback on this.... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The customer service indeed exceeded my expectations over the amazing room, the attention to detail plus the cheapest price on booking.com Just great. the room were huge, warm and quiet, the quality of everything was good I am planning another visit and definitely booking in this place again. I have no clue how it got its bad revues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Denitsa Thank you for your kind review. Your feedback is very important to us as it ensures we maintain consistency in our high standards and services here at Clifden Guesthouse. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our facilities, price and attention to detail – this is what we aim to do! We hope to welcome... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There have been many bad reviews about this place but done let that put you off. Most of them are out of date. The hotel is under new management and they are trying very hard to improve the hotel. It has recently been redocrated, new beds and carpets. the rooms were spacious and airy. The staff were extremely helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jules A Thanks you for your review on Clifden Guesthouse. We are indeed under new management and have undergone a major refurbishment of all bedrooms, which as you say, are spacious and airy and we hope, ensure a most pleasant & comfortable stay. I am also so glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly... More

Ardglass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights in a group of four. Location is a 15 minute walk from the centre which I personally liked. We were warmly greeted by helpful staff and shown to the room. The beds were comfortable with nice clean towels. Soaps and shampoos were plentiful in the bathroom. We paid for private parking at 10 Euros a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sean C Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated, as it highlights to us certain areas that may need attention. I am delighted to note that you felt that our staff were helpful and welcoming, as customer service is absolutely central to our service ethos. I am sorry to hear you had issues with... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Despite all the bad reviews on here the hotel is now under new management and is definitely of a higher standard than previous. Our room was downstairs and had a double and a single bed. Beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful all newly refurbished with a great power shower. Refreshments such as tea and coffee are provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to read of your experience at Clifden Guesthouse. I’m so pleased you noticed our high standards of service, as we have put great efforts in, to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Clifden Guesthouse. I’m glad to hear you were happy with your bedroom and our in-room facilities,... More

Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

So I booked in for the Quad room and arrived on 27th of Feb. The rooms were well furnished(not like the dated pics on their website) and everything was pretty much perfect. Good clean bedsheets, towels, shower etc. The BnB is only a couple of minutes walk from O'Connell street so everything is very handy. The staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Andy, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Clifden House. As you already know, Clifden House is under new management  and we appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward... More

Merthyr Tydfil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews. The Hotel is under new management. We arrived on the Friday morning for the Ireland V Wales game on the Saturday to be told that the new owners had only taken over the previous week. All the rooms are being totally refurbished. Our room was having new beds installed when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear MelonaManon I want to thank you for you fantastic review after your stay with us here in The Clifden House. Thanks for your lovely comments and I am delighted you had such a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely, Claudia Irimescu More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

So the positives of this place are the location and in my room the shower was powerful, bedding was clean as was the shower and sink. The staff seemed friendly enough. The downsides - despite being in a capital city, it is overpriced for what you get. We had booked in at 80Eur a night. If it was anywhere else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Clifden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Address: 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 15 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse / BnB accommodation is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Venere so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.