We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 160 Dublin B&Bs / inns

Clifden Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clifden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Clifden Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #90 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
shalome63 Chester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (111)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    24
    19
    31
See reviews for
20
26
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely airy clean room, comfy beds, really good breakfast, close to main Dublin attractions and airport bus stop. Also friendly, helpful staff...what else could you want in a budget hotel?!!! Will stay again next time we come to Dublin. Thanks to Flav and staff...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear shalome63, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate all feedback and welcome any comments guests may have that will help us to constantly improve the accommodation we provide for our guests. I was delighted to read your kind words about our rooms, we have been renovating recently and are continuing to do so, so... More

Blaxland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our familys accommodation for two nights in Dublin, and although it is located a fair distance from the Liffey River (where the city centre is), it was fairly close to one of the sightseeing bus tour stops. The sightseeing bus tours are 19 Euro per person and valid for 2 days - which you could purchase from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear jkcamill, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We welcome all feedback and appreciate any comments that can assist us in maintaining and improving a high standard for our guests. I was surprised to see you thought we were a distance away from the city centre as we are a very short walk to O’Connell Street... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the poorest accommodation we stayed in one of the most expensive during our tour of Ireland. Its a pity as it is in an ideal location for the City. Our room should never be let as a double, one of us always had to climb over the other to reach the bathroom, our student digs had more room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Cawflands9 Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate all feedback and welcome any comments guests may have that will help us to constantly improve the accommodation we provide for our guests. I was very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We have recently renovated and we are very pleased with the décor... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed at the Clifden Guesthouse for two nights. The location is a bit far from the main tourist sites about a 20 minute walk to trinity college and temple bar area. Half the time we used cabs to get to the hotel because we would be so tired from walking. The hotel itself has lovely modern decor. We stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Kim O, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We welcome all feedback and appreciate any comments that can assist us in maintaining and improving a high standard for our guests. I was delighted to read you liked our quad room. We have recently renovated and are constantly trying to improve the décor and structure of... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overnight stay for 3 women. Staff were friendly and helpful, wi-fi worked great, beds were clean. The location is good, but not great. It is a long walk from here to Temple Bar and taxi costs can quickly make the budget prices not-so-budget. Also, toilet was broken when we arrived, but fixed right away. There is some street noise here;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina G, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Shea G, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We welcome all feedback and appreciate any comments that can assist us in maintaining and improving a high standard for our guests. I was delighted to read your lovely comments about our Guesthouse. We have recently renovated and take pride in the new décor. I was surprised... More

Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here over a weekend with my boyfriend. Although we had a few criticisms (instead of the double we booked, we were given a rather cramped family quad; the original ceilings were obscured by a low and ugly false ceiling; the shower was a little erratic and; the bathroom was in need of a renovation), overall we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Michelle_Ni_Riain Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually review and improve our standards. I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple of minor issues during your stay with us. Renovating the rooms was a huge task and we did our utmost to ensure... More

wickliw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great value, friendly helpfull staff, we will stay again only 6/7miutes from city nice big rooms would recomend to everyone i know 3 beds in room i was in so pleny of room for the kids too will have them with me nxt time very quiet

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Seamusd7 Thank you for your lovely review of Clifden House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in providing quality accommodation and friendly service, so it is great that you recognised those things during your stay with us! Kind regards, Claudia Irimescu Manager More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at cliftden guesthouse. Amazing staff couldnt be more helpful and made our stay even better. Special mention to Flav and lennard. We love you. Will certainly be back again. We came from newcastle for a girly weekend as we have cery stressfull jobs. 3 single ladies who wanted to have some fun. Wasnt as close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Lou120, I am very happy to hear that you girls enjoyed your time in Dublin and had a great stay in Clifden House. Our staff are indeed very helpful and do they’re very best to ensure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will pass on your kind words to both Flav and Lennard. And you’re forgiven for... More

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Travelled to Dublin with 12 ladies for a hen doo and stayed at Clifden Guesthouse. We booked back in Jan and all the reviews looked terrible so us of us who knew where we were staying were a little nervous, however we were very suprised! Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Beds very comfy and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Andrea R, Thank you very much for your kind comments and feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities at Clifden Guesthouse. I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.... More

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the hotel as a group of friends travelling from England for a weekend in Dublin. The receptionist told us the hotel had been under new owners only for a month, so it has recently been refurbished throughout, new carpets, decorations, beds etc. The rooms were really clean, clean towels given, there was 24hr reception and all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dan Tee_27 Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Clifden Guesthouse. I’m pleased to hear that you found our reception team to be helpful and accommodating – customer satisfaction is something we strive for at Clifden Guesthouse, so we really do appreciated your feedback on this.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clifden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse

Address: 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 15 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse / BnB accommodation is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer