We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifden Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clifden Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifden Guesthouse
Clifden Guesthouse
Clifden Guesthouse
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Dublin for a few days just before Christmas. Our stay at the Clifden House was very enjoyable. Our room (downstairs next to the kitchen) was very spacious and very well presented. The staff were all extremely helpful and were on hand for recommendations and directions etc. they were also quite happy to show the security cameras to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Minionfamily, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. At Clifden House, we appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback as it is your perspective which is essential in order for us to maintain and improve the service we provide. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and the decor of room as we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my husband booked on Booking.com and stayed overnight at the Clifden. Upon arriving at the guest house we encountered a receptionist who had what we see as an attitude problem. Had every type of ID needed but somehow she was still unable to register who we were from the ID. We were then informed that our room would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte D, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate any feedback or comments our guests may have as it is your perspective which is essential in order for us to improve nthe service we provide. Let me first apologize for the issues you raised regarding the check in process. I can assure you that... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This guesthouse is budget and perfect if all you want is a nice comfy bed for the night. The rooms are clean but basic. We had a four bed room which was very tight and only one bathroom which couldn't even fit a sink in it was that tiny. However for 3 nights it was fine. The staff really make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Cinders1990, Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate all feedback as your perspective is invaluable in order for us to improve our overall service. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your lovely comments to all the ladies on the reception team. I am sorry you had... More 

Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Not a happy stay with Clifden Guesthouse. Cold room. Radiator not working. Was following the instructions on how to turn it on, but gave up after several attempts. Dirty towel from previous guest left in the bedroom when I arrived. Breakfast menu should be updated in the room leaflet. It said beans on toast was offered, but was not offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Astrid N, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests feedback as your perspective is essential in order for us to maintain and improve the service we provide. I am sorry you had some issues with the heating in your room. I can assure you that the radiator was working and... More 

Miami Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The Clifden Guesthouse was a good choice for my boyfriend and I on our trip to Dublin, as we wanted a hotel that was affordable, centrally located, and clean. The room was very well decorated and the bed was comfortable - much appreciated! The only downside was that the bathroom was tiny and the shower difficult to keep a consistent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Tara K, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of your feedback as our guests perspective is invaluable to us in order for us to maintain and improve the service we provide. I am delighted to read you liked the decor of your room and am sorry you had some issues with the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Shabby in serious need of an update. bathroom cracked tiles and black grout . The housekeeping staff cleaned the room well.The bedroom was very cramped and a poor layout . The receptionist working on Saturday morning was rude and moody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Receptionist at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Apennick, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback as your perspective is essential in order for us to improve the service we provide. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the bathroom but we are in the process of refurbishment so we will take all of... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

It was a last minute booking at this guesthouse. We were thankful that we managed to get the room for two nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and had comfortable beds. It was a little noisy as the walls seem a bit thin. But location was quite central and there are many take-aways and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear NellasG, Thank you for your review of Clifden House. I was delighted to read you liked the decor of your room as we are currently in the process of refurbishment so our guests feedback is invaluable to us. I am sorry you had some issues with noise during your stay, should you return to us again in the future,... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Booked a last min room & chose here as pictures of rooms looked nice & last min deal it was good value. Room (16) was right opposite reception & I knew this would cause disruption. Beds and decor of room was lovely although it smelt very musky like it hadn't been cleaned properly, shower room was disappointing as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear HaleyJaneB, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for Clifden House. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback as your perspective is vital in order for us to maintain and improve the service we provide for our guests. I was very pleased you liked the decor of your room as we are currently in the... More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a family room. The hotel is very noisy, not because of the street but because you can hear everything of the next room.... where there were 2 young people talking all the night. We tried to ask kindly a little of silence but the guests were very agressive. Finally we could not sleep at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Almaparis75, Thank you for your review of Clifden House. All feedback from our guests is vital in order for us to maintain and improve the quality of our service. I was disappointed to read you had some issues with noise during your stay. I am sorry you did not report this disturbance to us during the night as we... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Wanted a proper hotel but booked out so chose this one. The room was perfect we had two double beds. But breakfast was very weird firstly the girls seemed clueless at what to do, after a short time thinking my child needs to eat i had to call the girl to order breakfast that was fine but then i saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Cillian3, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback as your perspective is essential in order for us to improve the service we provide. I was very pleased to read you liked your decor as we have recently under gone a full refurbishment of the property and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse

Address: 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay