We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifden Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifden Guesthouse
Clifden Guesthouse
Clifden Guesthouse
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Shabby in serious need of an update. bathroom cracked tiles and black grout . The housekeeping staff cleaned the room well.The bedroom was very cramped and a poor layout . The receptionist working on Saturday morning was rude and moody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a last minute booking at this guesthouse. We were thankful that we managed to get the room for two nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and had comfortable beds. It was a little noisy as the walls seem a bit thin. But location was quite central and there are many take-aways and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear NellasG, Thank you for your review of Clifden House. I was delighted to read you liked the decor of your room as we are currently in the process of refurbishment so our guests feedback is invaluable to us. I am sorry you had some issues with noise during your stay, should you return to us again in the future,... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a last min room & chose here as pictures of rooms looked nice & last min deal it was good value. Room (16) was right opposite reception & I knew this would cause disruption. Beds and decor of room was lovely although it smelt very musky like it hadn't been cleaned properly, shower room was disappointing as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear HaleyJaneB, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for Clifden House. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback as your perspective is vital in order for us to maintain and improve the service we provide for our guests. I was very pleased you liked the decor of your room as we are currently in the... More

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights in a family room. The hotel is very noisy, not because of the street but because you can hear everything of the next room.... where there were 2 young people talking all the night. We tried to ask kindly a little of silence but the guests were very agressive. Finally we could not sleep at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Almaparis75, Thank you for your review of Clifden House. All feedback from our guests is vital in order for us to maintain and improve the quality of our service. I was disappointed to read you had some issues with noise during your stay. I am sorry you did not report this disturbance to us during the night as we... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wanted a proper hotel but booked out so chose this one. The room was perfect we had two double beds. But breakfast was very weird firstly the girls seemed clueless at what to do, after a short time thinking my child needs to eat i had to call the girl to order breakfast that was fine but then i saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, General Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Cillian3, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback as your perspective is essential in order for us to improve the service we provide. I was very pleased to read you liked your decor as we have recently under gone a full refurbishment of the property and we... More

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I stayed there for a few days. the stuff working there was great, very heplful and kind. One guy on receprion was nice, but had headphones in his ears wchile taking to a guest (!?!?) Breakfast I reccomend to have outside, it is not expensive, but nothing special. Things that are not good is the size of a bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear jaggerKrk Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Dublin. I am delighted staff looked after you and all negative comments are appreciated as they continuously help us to improve the service that we offer. I will speak with our night shift staff as no staff member should be wearing headphones in... More

Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Female staff excellent and very helpful. Catered to all our needs. A 15 minute walk from city centre so close without the noise of the city. We stayed in room 16 which is right next to the reception which was handy with two babies. We could not here much noise from outside the door. Room was more spacious then initially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear EmzieKinz, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found your room comfortable, spacious and enjoyed a good night sleep. As you mentioned, we are close to all Dublin attractions but located in a quiet area. We do put a big emphasis on customer service as it is very important that all of our guests receive value... More

Galway, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights. My room No.4 which is on the first floor, I don't like to stay near the main gate since it gets very noisy when people check in/ out , so I think the first floor is a good option. its a single small room but well decorated in a simple way. There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Arwa1990 Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to Clifden House and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us We take customer service very seriously and it is nice to hear that you had a good experience and as you mentioned, we are nicely located and within walking distance to all the... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is a budget Guesthouse which delivers on price, convenience and very good staff. Our family booked two rooms for the us college football weekend. Did not start well. I'd booked via booking.com but I usually call the place to ensure booking had gone through. Apparently the guest house closes in november. Would be better if they put this on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Chris63 Thank you for taking the time to review Clifden House. We appreciate all feedback and welcome any comments guests may have that will help us to constantly improve the accommodation we provide for our guests. As I have mentioned in other comments, we put a big emphasis on customer service and I am always happy to receive positive... More

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place is scruffy, feels dirty, and has the audacity to charge exuberant prices at the weekends! I have not felt so ripped off by a hotel in a long time. To add insult to injury as a B&B there excessively high prices don't include breakfast (although I wouldn't risk eating there anyway) and they have the cheek to charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClifdenGuestHouse, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jane W I was greatly disappointed to read your comments with regard to your stay. We offer our guests a choice to add on breakfast as not all our guests want it included this included in their package. Most Dublin city centre properties do not have car parking facilities and so we are happy to offer this to our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse

Address: 32 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay