We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

#56 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #56 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012
jimrastello Royal Oak, MI
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    275
    101
    49
    23
See reviews for
100
272
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (186)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small elegant hotel close to everything. The staff could not have been more friendly. Smallish room but very well appointed. Again, the location was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel, and i shall certainly pass on your lovely feedback to all staff. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel. Kind Regards... More 

palm beach gardens, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was OK but the rooms were hot and windows did not open more than 4 inches. Not enough to cool down the room. Good breakfast though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sorry to hear your stay was uncomfortable due to the heat in your room. We did have high temperatures and our air conditioning was not at its best as we rarely have these temperatures. The windows only open a small bit for security and safety reasons however we hope... More 

England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights at the end of June and was very pleased with every aspect of the hotel! Welcoming staff, excellent room, tasty breakfast and a great location. Particularly pleased with the room we were allocated as we had a young baby with us and it was very clear that staff had gone out of there way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel, and i shall certainly pass on your lovely comments to all staff members. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel in the... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here with my family for a week in May. The location was ideal, we could walk everywhere (Trinity, St. Stephen's Green, etc) very easily. The room we had was quite small and so hot!! We had to sleep with our window open each night, which overlooked Lower Merrion St, so it was noisy at night. The water in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback, and i was most disappointed to hear that you did not get a sense of warmth from the hotel staff during your stay. I shall certainly pass on your find comments to Nicola, and i shall address the issues that you have highlighted, as... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We will booked into this hotel as part of the tour so we assumed it must be decent. that was a big mistake. Never trust someone else to do your homework for you. the rooms are miniscule, everything is cleaned with what appears to be lemon oil so even the bathroom floors are slippery, and when we complained about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gjad. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was most disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The cooling and heating in your room is all controlled individually from the panel on the wall, however it was very warm and humid last week, which made the rooms appear warmer.... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

When we arrived, we were assigned a room and when we walked in the room, it smelled of cigarette smoke. We went back to the front desk and when I explained what was wrong, with no questions asked they switched our room. The hotel staff were amazing and wonderful and they kept us company when were the only ones in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear k1stmate Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and please accept my apologies for having to room move you upon arrival, as all our rooms are non smoking. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and i look for forward to welcoming you back to Dublin, and to the Mont Clare... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mont Clare for 3 nights, booked the Junior Suite as it offers the king sized bed. After getting to the room we realized it was going to be very noisy as the room overlooked the intersection. We asked to switch to a more quiet room and were told no rooms were available and we would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan M. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was most disapopointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Firstly, can i just say that the reason we were unable to room move you on the first night, was due to the fact that we were fully booked, and we... More 

Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here twice for business. Obviously it was clean and pleasant enough for me to return, but really was very average for the price. The rooms ate ok, clean but a little old. My first time the bathroom was in a corner and very pokey. I have recently compared to another similar 3 star hotel nearby, which has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! At the Mont Clare Hotel, we strive to provide a home away from home to each and every guest and as such it is wonderful to read that you felt at home while staying with us! Your kind comments about our ambiance, staff,... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The rooms are pretty run down, but they are clean. The beds are good. The breakfast buffet is good and reasonably priced and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i shall pass on your kind comments to all the staff. In terms of the bedrooms, we are scheduling a soft refurbisment in the coming months, and i do hope you will get the opportunity to come back to Dublin and to our hotel in the near... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Good location and nothing wrong with the hotel, but it's the ugly sister (Davenport and Alexander are better options). Popular choice for hens/stags and was a bit noisy during my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i do hope you had a pleasant stay in Dublin and in out hotel. The Mont Clare hotel is a 3 star, whereby our sister hotels, the Davenport and Alexander hotels are both 4 star. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities