We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avalon House

55 Aungier St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Avalon House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    187
    133
    74
    41
See reviews for
39
85
112
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (183)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very good location. Comun area are very nice and clean, but the quality of the bed is very poor. We did 2 differentes rooms, one for 4 and one for 6 with private bathroom. The bathrooms are very dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I decided to stay here because it seemed to have a great reputation, with most of the reviews we read praising the hostel's friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Having spent a night there, I ended up questioning whether I had stayed at the wrong hostel. We arrived at 10, the time we had informed the hostel we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is where i stayed the first time I was in Dublin. The rooms are not the best I've been but the athmosphere is great!! I have really good memories of the days I spent here. I recommend this to young people and backpackers. I hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To all the mad kinley house staff and backpackers... I thank you!!!... Cheap as chips and totally bohemian atmosphere with Dubliners and Spanish running this Joycean flamenco madhouse.... I loved it... Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here recently only for coffee and a scone but this place has a lovely coffee / food venue opening onto Aungier Street. Coffee was good and hot and the scone delicious with fruit in it. Nice setting and friendly staff so good for a drop in for food or drink - the breakfast menu looked really interesting with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Avalon House for 30 days, and overall my stay was enjoyable. The staff was absolutely fantastic; nice, friendly, personable, helpful - they truly exceeded all expectations. The room was nice and comfy, although the walls were a mite thin, making it hard to sleep sometimes. There were earplugs available, but due to my tinnitus I couldn't use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Thank You for the lovely review, so happy to hear our Team at Avalon impressed you they will be delighted to read this, many thanks All the Best Team @ Avalon House More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are many popular hostels that tourists travel. Avalon is up there - The good thing is, it's transparent in its nature. What you see, is what you get. What you are told, is exactly that. The staff are friendly. They are very helpful and they are cheerful! If you have heavy luggage, there is a lift. That is helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

WOW thank you for the fabulous review, hope to see you back soon All the Best Team at Avalon House More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved my stay here. The hostel is in a good location and is great value for money. A walking tour leaves the hostel every morning, which I would recommend going on. Breakfast is free and there is a good selection of food; cereals, breads, jams, yoghurt, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You could also buy breakfast from the cafe. Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hi Katie Many Thanks for the lovely review and we hope you will be back to stay again on your next trip to Dublin All the Best Team @ Avalon House More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The atmosphere of this hostel is acceptable only for young backpacker travellers. The kitchen is dirty, and can be used only from noon to 9. The breakfast is included, but means tea, bread and some jam. Of course you can buy other meals on "good" price. The room size is equal with two single bed. No table, no wardrobe or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

We are sorry to see you didn't enjoy your experience, I'm afraid we don't have the heating on in July when its quite warm out and our kitchen is accessible from 8am to 10pm, we also clean the main kitchen a few times a day especially during busy periods but we do expect guests to clean up after themselves which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#25 of 92 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#11 of 92 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#18 of 92 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacob's Inn Hostel
#10 of 92 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay