We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

#13 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    478
    214
    81
    45
See reviews for
422
980
74
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2238)
  • Mar-May only
    (555)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (573)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (574)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (536)
All months
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is good, the hotel has a good restaurant, opposite of the street is the flower park which is worth a visit, also next to the hotel at Stephen’s Green are good meat and seafood’s restaurants. At the moment of writing renovation on the outside was taken place, which gives noise of the workers, if you like to sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xiong, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed both the location of the hotel and our Saddle Room Restaurant. However, I am equally disappointed to read that you were disturbed over the course of your stay due to our... More 

Brownsburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the nicest hotel I have ever stayed. From the history to the service and decor all was top notch. The location is wonderful. This Old Grand Hotel has history and has been well maintained with even more on going upgrades and renovations. This was a special vacation (my wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist in making your 25th anniversary a special treat. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent hotel within the very centre of dublin - stayed the one night in a Suite facing the St Stephens Green. Room was large and very clean, breakfast was plentiful with a large selection to suit all tastes. There are two bars and a residents lounge - prices are on average with other bars / restaurants nearby Overal would highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, and also for including a beautiful image of your view from your guestroom. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Yasmin Bergin Guest Relations... More 

Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Shelbourne staff was helpful and always had a smile. The rooms were comfortable and inviting after a long day of sightseeing. We walked everyplace from the hotel were within 10-15 minutes of all the major attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to read your lovely comments about your stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Kind regards, Yasmin Bergin Guest Relations rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have visited this hotel twice in last 2 years. This is the classiest hotel in Dublin by a long mile. It oozes Irish charm and professionalism The restaurants are very good, the afternoon tea is an institution, as is sitting in the foyer on a Saturday night and watching the people of Dublin stroll by. After a weekend in Dublin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Our hotel holds a lot of history and I am delighted to... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel with lots history and great reputation which they live up to. Costly due to standards and quality deserved reputation. Excellent location and nice area to ramble to the best attractions and key places. Top quality food and drinks. Super staff. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.... More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful, historic hotel. Perfectly located across from St. Stephens Green. We booked a primier room, nicely appointed, elegant and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff was highly professional but also warm and friendly. We shall return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be friendly, warm and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Yasmin Bergin Guest Relations rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com More 

Bristol, England
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
126 hotel reviews
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great deal for a weekend staying at this classic Dublin institution. Room was tasteful and very comfortable, with good free wifi. Breakfast was excellent. Jazz brunch in the bar was first rate. A great place to stay in Dublin, especially if you can get a good rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the No.27 Jazz Brunch. It was a pleasure to look after you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back int he... More 

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were not staying at the Shelbourne hotel but we went there for tea. I had read on line that it was a great place for a fancy tea but unfortunately the review I read online failed to mention that " proper dress" was required. It looked lovely and elegant but we had jeans on do we went to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Shelbourne Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our No. 27 Bar. Your kind review will be passed onto the team and will act as a great motivator during busy times. Since you have not had the chance to... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed for one night but the overall experience was first class and far exceeds other hotels I have stayed at in Dublin. Check-in was smooth, room spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and service was great. History oozes out of the walls. Yup - excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable first trip to Dublin. Hopefully on your next trip you have the opportunity to spend more than one night with us. Kind Regards Melita Kovacevic Guest Relations rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

856 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (478)
Viewed
Room/suite (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (119)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (124)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Elizabeth Bowen Suite (120)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (126)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question