We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clarence

4.0 of 5 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clarence
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    212
    145
    82
    73
See reviews for
86
344
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (793)
  • Mar-May only
    (177)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (206)
All months
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I had meeting with client in this hotel for lunch and was left sitting for 15 mins while staff came and went managing to ignore us despite fact only 4 of us in front lounge. Eventually a young man came in to tend the fire and I attempted to order coffee and sandwiches and was told someone from the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights for a concert in the Olympia. Amazing service, the car was valet parked for us and brought back around to us on departure. Extremely welcoming and friendly staff at reception. The room was nice, if a little basic but the bed was a proper double bed, not 2 singles pushed together and so comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Aisling, thanks for your review of The Clarence following your stay here in February. Your positive words are very much appreciated and I will let the team here know. I'm happy to read you'll be staying with us again when you are next in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Clarence hotel is a fantastic place, modern, fresh, all round great experience. All floors served by a very efficient lift at the front lobby. Bedrooms spacious and modern. The beds themselves were spotless and if I could have, I'd have lowered one out of the window to a waiting van. You felt totally rested when you got up in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Tom, thanks for your 5 star review having stayed with us at The Clarence. Your positive comments about the hotel and the team here are very much appreciated. I'm delighted to read that you'll most likely be returning to stay again and we very much look forward to your return visit. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel..beautiful room overlooking liffey..great location for temple bar..special thanks to James and Luke for their help with flight reservation.. Excellent ambassadors for the hotel..I would not hesitate to recommend and will be returning asap..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for this review Mark. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm delighted we were able to assist in tracking down that missing flight booking for you. Thanks also for the recommendation and we look forward to your return visit. More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great Location directly on the River. We had a riverview suite which ist big and beautiful. Around the Hotel are so many Bars.. great for an Dublin Night experience! Just the breakfast was very poor. No Choices on the buffet. Not so good. But the still a great stay...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing The Clarence for your recent visit to Dublin, Sven. It's great to read you enjoyed you Dublin experience. It's a pity however you did not enjoy breakfast in Cleaver East. I will pass your comment on to them as they operate as a separate business withing the hotel. Despite your breakfast experience I'm happy to read you... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

excellent hotel!! this hotel provided great service, and very friendly staffs. Beside i like the room design, is nicely designed and is really clean. but there's one things need to add into the room that is Bathrobes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Eric, thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your recent stay. I'm glad to read such positive words. With regard to bathrobes, you're correct that we don't place these in rooms however they are available on request. More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is beautiful, the room we had was spacious and really nice. The staff were very friendly and super helpful. The restaurant was a little pricey especially for the food we had but the service was excellent. At the end of our stay we were a little surprised at our total bill as it was quite a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Chad, thanks for reviewing you recent stay at The Clarence. It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall and that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We hope if you visit Dublin again you'll choose The Clarence on that occassion. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
67 hotel reviews
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location on the river in Dublin city centre. However, if your room backs out onto the rear of the building, expect to be kept awake by the music (& chatter from the smoking area crowds) coming The Workmans Club venue just below...a simple, low-cost addition would be to include earplugs in every room. While they can do nothing about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Clarence. In relation to earplugs, rather than provide these in rooms we have them available at reception if they are requested. As rooms do not experience noise on the same nights each week (depending on how busy our neighbouring venues are) we took the decision not to... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Is Only Hotel To Stay At In Dublin. Perfect Location In The Temple Bar Area Just Down From The Bars & NightClubs With Great Restaurant Cleaver East. Staff Are Always Superb Every Time I Stay Here, Nothing's A Bother & Always Have A Can Do Attitude & Very Knowledgable About Local Area Too. Rooms Are Immaculate & Spacious With... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for posting such a wonderful review of your stay at The Clarence. It's great to read such a review where your enjoyment of your visit is evident and that the team here made every effort to make sure you felt taken care of. Hopefully it's not too long before your next visit to us. More 

County Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my wife stayed for one night here (Sunday) and we were delighted with the hotel. From the friendly staff to the delicious food in the Cleaver East restaurant we couldn't really find fault. The windows cancel out any noise from the bustling quays or busy Templebar streets so sleeping was great. River view room was quite nice with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Ian, thanks for your 5 star review following your recent stay at The Clarence. It certainly seems like you had the kind of experience we aim for each and every guest to have. We look forward to your return visit and hope that it's in the not too distant future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin

268 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (221)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay