We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clarence

6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clarence
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    357
    253
    158
    89
    77
See reviews for
111
404
49
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (934)
  • Mar-May only
    (254)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (287)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (205)
All months
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a great stay at the Clarence. Of the four places we stayed in Ireland, the Clarence was the best. The beds were the most comfortable, which was lacking in our other accommodations. The view of the Liffey from our rooms was amazing. I would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

lovely hotel, albeit slightly over priced. The hotel has lovely rooms that are well decorated and the location really is excellent. I would recommend this hotel but I do think that it is quite pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was here on yet another business trip with 14 colleagues and we were put up here. Straight away I noticed this was a very nice hotel with welcoming staff. There is a nice bar area and the meal we had in the restaurant was extremely good, as was the breakfast but the nicest touch, I thought, was the earplugs supplied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is very central. Staff were very friendly and accommodating! Check in and out process was done efficiently and professionally. Only downsides were view from room considering price paid and that breakfast was not included.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Clarence having stayed with us this month. Your positive points are very welcome. Unfortunately in a low rise city and being so central it's not possible for all our rooms to have a great view, though we have a have specific room categories such as river view, and garden terrace which offer great views... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only 30 minutes from the airport, this is a really cool (old skool) hotel with a great bar and lovely restaurant. The staff are polite and helpful and I was upgraded for free so I'm coming back! Superb location right on the river and very central for shopping etc. owned by Bono so keep your eyes peeled in the bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence and for such a positive one! I'm glad to read we were able to upgrade you on this occasion. Your recommendation is a very welcome end to your review and we hope you have the chance to return in the near future. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Check in was very quick and efficient, rooms clean and quiet, Breakfast was perfekt, though the restaurant, where it was served very dark. Temple bar is only a one minute walk so perfect for night live. Had rooms on the 4th floor to the back with balcony! were really nice, we will return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review of The Clarence. It's a pleasure to read such a positive review. I'm glad to know your enjoyed your time here and that you will return. We look forward to welcoming you on that occasion. More 

munich
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I Expected more, because of the owners and the "Rock'n'Roll Hotel" Status that Has the clearence in the Internet. There Are no pictures of U2 or something.... It's very clear - and clean. Minimalism Stil for it's best. The only Dekorated Highlight is the breakfastroom/Bar. I was very impressed! I think the Area around the Hotel is Perfect To go... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Clarence following your stay with us this month. I'm glad to read that you found our location to be perfect on this trip and I hope you will be back to stay with us in the future. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in and got upgraded to a suite. All I have to say is it's my first time here but won't be my last. The staff are extremely helpful without getting on your nerves. Great breakfast and had the sweet potato chips in the Octagon bar... They were fab. Thank you The Clarence and all the staff... We will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Fiona, it was our pleasure to have you stay at The Clarence and I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here having been upgraded to one of our suites. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We will definitely stay here again. Great value for money. Beautiful hotel. You really feel like you have taken a step back in time. Noise was never an issue as it is the other end of temple bar from the popular noisy venues. Highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's always great to read that a guest will definitely return to The Clarence and I'm glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a gorgeous night in the Clarence for my husbands bday. Delicious dinner in Cleaver East and comfortable relaxing stay in the river suite - amazing views of the Liffey. As Dubliners, we never usually get the chance to enjoy the Dublin sights! Only down side was the music from the night club - but this is to be expected... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Sian, thanks for choosing the Clarence for your recent break to celebrate your husbands birthday. The Riverview Suites certainly offer a great view along the Liffey. It's a pity to read about the one downside you mention and I hope it didn't detract too much from your stay. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Temple bar(17)
  • Great location(4)
  • Tea room(4)
  • Star hotel(3)
  • Very good(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

319 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#34 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
South City Centre
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#76 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#15 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#82 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Westin Dublin
#14 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay