We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Dublin hotels

The Clarence

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
The Clarence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Clarence to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #85 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Fujicc
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    187
    130
    79
    72
See reviews for
78
306
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (703)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent 3 days in this city centre hotel in a deluxe double room. The check in and car valet service was friendly and slick. The room did not disappoint, spacious, modern and very clean. The maid service was excellent. Unfortunately, I've awarded the overall service as average due to the poor service in the restaurant. Breakfast was rushed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for two nights last weekend. It's old, dreary and lacking in any atmosphere. The rooms are crying out for renovation, no air conditioning, wifi is non existent and couldn't get any channels on the tiny television. The Octagon bar is dull and once again, no air conditioning, so it's like sitting in an oven. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's a pity to read such a negative review following your stay with us at The Clarence last weekend. With regard to issues with the tv and wifi, we are having such matters currently addressed. It is true that in many rooms we do not have air conditioning however we do not claim to have air conditioning but we do... More

Galway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient, but I wouldnt expect less at a 5* hotel. I know I should be have impressed by the "rockstar" owned hotel but from the timber windows that were past their best in the room (we might as well have been sitting on the street with the binmen in the morning at the back of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at The Clarence on your recent visit to Dublin. It's great to read you found the service of the staff here to be of a 5* quality given that The Clarence is a 4* hotel and I have passed your kind words on to the team here. I also note the parts of your stay... More

Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Clarence and old favourite of mine and it still works incredibly well. I love the feel of the place, it's cool yet understated and very efficient. I was initially sad to see the demise of the Tea Rooms Restaurant but loved the new concept a lot. All in all this hotel is very well placed if you're in Dublin... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5* review and for your return visit to The Clarence. It was our pleasure to take care of you on this visit and it's great to read that you continue to enjoy your experience of The Clarence. We look forward to your next visit and delivering the level of excellent service you are familiar with. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The level of service at The Clarence is unbeatable. The staff is friendly, accommodating, and sincere in their efforts to provide the maximum positive experience. We arrived exhausted after a delayed flight and were treated to valet and baggage assistance to our room. The reception was most welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean; our bed was soft and fluffy.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for such a positive review Carla, and thanks for choosing The Clarence this month. I'm always pleased to read that the efforts of the team here to ensure a friendly welcome and comfortable stay are noticed by guests. I have mentioned your kind words to the front of house team and the housekeeping team. If you have the opportunity... More

Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is very good and big . Bathroom big too.Very well decoration. The location is good but if you care about silence may be this is not the place for you, because it is very close to the pubs in Temple Street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Flavio, Thanks for your recent stay and positive review of The Clarence I'm happy to read you enjoyed the hotel and its location here in the vibrant and bustlingTemple Bar. More

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We choose this hotel for our short break to Dublin to see Ed Sheeran. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. Check in was speedy and the staff friendly and efficient. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a room that overlooked one of the bars but we didn't find this a problem for the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Kelly, thanks for choosing to stay at The Clarence when you came to Dublin to see Ed Sheeran in concert, and for your wonderful review. I'm disappointed to read you did not have as positive an experience in The Octagon as with the rest of your visit. I'll deal with this personally so as to ensure any lack of customer... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the start the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The porter took our bags and showed us to the room. The room was spacious and was well decorated, the bathroom was nearly as large as the room. The main room was clean, well presented and very comfortable. The hotel is well located and great when walking around the city.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5* review of The Clarence following your stay with us this month Craig. Your positive comments and compliments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the team here. With regard to your glazing comment, this is something currently being looked into. We hope you have the opportunity to come and stay at The... More

Waterford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great to arrive at The Clarence and for the front of house staff to remember your name! Beautiful and spacious room, love the fact that the restaurant is CLEAVER EAST (one of my favourite Dublin Restaurants and in the Basement the 1920's styled LIQUOR ROOMS - great bar for cocktails and beers

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jim. It's always a pleasure to welcome you to The Clarence and I'm glad to know you enjoyed your room as well as food and drinks in both Cleaver East and The Liquor Rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did have doubts about booking the hotel as it was so near to Temple Bar, but I'm happy to say it was one of the most comfortable hotels we've stayed at. The room was spotlessly clean with some very nice details - a fully stocked fridge, big, soft, fluffy towels, a clothes brush (yes some of us still like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2014, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Jacky, thanks for posting your kind review following your stay with us in September. It's always a pleasure to read when a guest enjoys their stay with us and takes the time to be so comprehensive in their comments and compliments which I have passed on to the rest of the team here. We do not advertise having air conditioning... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay