We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Dublin hotels

The Clarence

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clarence to your Saves list
The Clarence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
59%
Ranked #86 of 177 hotels in Dublin
A recent review
  • Reviews (667)
  • Photos (204)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (134)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    172
    127
    75
    71
See reviews for
75
291
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently surprised my partner with a trip to Dublin. The Clarence came highly recommended and we were only staying for one night so didn't mind splashing out as it's definitely a highend hotel. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted warmly, as we were early for check in they instantly offered to hold our suitcase for us without us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a Monday night. The staff were beyond compare-friendly, attentive and even supplied us with an umbrella. Hotel bar was quiet and reasonably priced. Room was modern and spacious. Couple of downsides are the lack of reasonably priced parking which, in fairness, is characteristic of many city centre hotel. Its also quite noisy by night. Finally, the wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Clarence having stayed with us this week. It's a great opening line to read such high praise for our staff, and your positive comments about the hotel itself. We take on board your comments about parking and noise, and your acknowledgement of this being a characteristic of the city centre. The issue you experienced... More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a 2 day trip and we were recommended to try the Clarence. On arrival, we were greeted and taken to the room in a lift which has seen far better days. The room was shocking. Stained carpets, very noisy, very warm (A/C broke). It looked very very dated. We would have had a better presented room in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

I'm am most disappointed to read of your unsatisfactory experience here at The Clarence when you stayed with us and it is very much regrettable that such issues were not dealt with during your stay. Certainly, where possible, matters should have been rectified and you have our sincere apologies if you felt the issues you notified us of were not... More

Carlow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked into Clarence for a bit of luxury and location . Location was perfect but hotel was hmmm. Really needs a coat of paint. Our room overlooked the extractor fan from the BBQ restaurant next door so our choice was to sweat or stink of BBQ . BBQ was our choice so I had to eat there. First impressions last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's a disappointing to read you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Clarence. With regard to painting, this is an ongoing job all year round at the hotel so rooms and public areas are frequently attended to. It's a pity see that it is not to the standard you expected and we will look into a more frequent... More

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a highly touted boutique hotel, I was expecting a lot more from the Clarence. Location is fantastic, as it is 2 short blocks from Temple Bar and has lots of restaurants close by as well. That is about all the good I can really say. The Octagon Bar is really quiet and understated. It not very attractive and lacks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy the decor and room originally assigned to you. We are currently looking at ways to improve the negative aspects you experienced or were disappointed by. With regard to the AC situation, we currently do not have AC in the hotel but again this is something we are engaged in a feasibility study of.... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very much enjoyed this hotel in the heart of temple bar. The staff was super friendly and the rooms are amazing. Simple but beautifully decorated of the highest quality. We only were there for one night but hope to get back there. The breakfast was a ltitle messy, took too long but great quality. The people at the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review of The Clarence having stayed with us in July. It's a pleasure to read your positive comments about the hotel and our staff. We look forward to having you visit us again on any future trip to Dublin. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not one to write a review normally but unfortunatly we didn't have a great stay at the Clarence. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was directly over a nightclub which had a large outdoor area that was extremely busy. The music and noise didn't stop until 3 and there was a very noisy air conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of The Clarence. It is unfortunate that you experienced disruption during your stay with us from noise emanating from a neighbouring business. We are looking at ways to minimise such disturbances but being located in a thriving nightlife district means we are unable to currently block it all out. Despite the impact of this on your... More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2014, in a deluxe balcony room, 412. The entrance / foyer area is decorated in oak panels and could look a little austere to some visitors although we liked it a lot. On entering the hotel, we were greeted in a very friendly and welcoming way though sadly the room wasn't ready,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review following your recent stay. I certainly seems like you had a mixed experience staying here at The Clarence, but it's great to read of the positives. Where you experienced anything less than the standard we have been able to pride ourselves on goes to show us that there is always room for improvement and thanks... More

Melrose, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Clarence for one night in Dublin, wish we could have stayed longer! We were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the River Liffey. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished with a separate living room, including a flat screen TV, mini bar and computer station. The hotel is situated in the heart of Dublin within walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing The Clarence for your brief stopover in Dublin in July. It's great to know you enjoyed the service of our staff, and in particular Pablo. He certainly is an asset to us here. Your kind words about the hotel itself, from the bedrooms to the bar & restaurant have been poassed on to those who work in... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights in August, the hotel is lovely and is situated right on the river Liffey, it is in the center of all of the shops, attractions and night life. The hotel itself is lovely, the main entrance and lobby is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious. The staff are very helpful and provided us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's such a pleasure to read your lovely review of The Clarence following your stay with us this month. Your kind words about the level of service from the staff have been passed on to them and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks for the recommendation and hopefully you'll come back to stay with us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clarence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dublin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin #69 Family Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence is Dublin's premier boutique hotel located in the heart of the city, on the banks of the River Liffey just a stone's throw from the famous Ha'penny Bridge. Our hotel is a proud reflection of 21st century Ireland, simple and elegant, a contemporary aesthetic that embodies the very best of Irish hospitality. The Clarence first opened its doors in 1852. The hotel was refurbished in the 1930's and hosted an eclectic clientele, from visiting clergymen to bawdy musicians. The tired two-star stopover was bought by Bono and The Edge in 1992 and transformed into a contemporary boutique hotel, the kind of place that they would choose to stay themselves, if visitors to Dublin city. Their new Clarence Hotel opened in June 1996. Our hotel is located within short walking distance of a myriad of Dublin city experiences to suit all tastes: from Michelin star Irish restaurants to cool indie coffee bars; big brand shopping on Grafton Street to cutting edge Irish designwear around Temple Bar, George's Street and South William Street; theatres such as the world famous Abbey as well as contemporary venues such as the Project Arts Centre and the New Theatre. Catch a huge international band at The Olympia or discover some brand new Irish rock music in The Workman's Club. Dublin's biggest nightclubs are just a stroll away, from the opulent and exclusive Madison Nightclub to the fun filled party vibe of Everleigh Gardens. Cultural Dublin awaits guests at The Clarence: Trinity College, The Guinness Storehouse, The James Joyce Centre, Dublinia, The Natural History Museum and so much more. With 50 bedrooms and suites to choose from, as well as our spectacular Penthouse Suites, The Clarence offers luxurious and stylish accommodation in the heart of it all. Within the hotel complex, guests can enjoy a number of dining and bar areas - The Study and The Octagon Bar in the hotel itself, as well as Cleaver East restaurant on the ground floor and The Liquor Rooms underneath the hotel. We also provide 24 hour room service and many added comforts for our guests to enjoy. The Clarence is the perfect location for a stylish, modern city centre wedding or civil ceremony and our dedicated team will provide every assistance in arranging your beautiful day in one of our many spaces.Our front facing function rooms and suites offer privacy and understated elegance overlooking The Liffey. We have all the facilities needed to host your event, from large conferences to intimate meetings. Our events team will assist from start to finish. From fun weekends to romantic getaways, family gatherings to solo business trips, a warm welcome, a luxurious room and superior service awaits you at The Clarence Hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer