We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 87 Dublin accommodations

Abigails Hostel

7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Temple Bar)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Abigails Hostel to your Saves list
Abigails Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Optimist89 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    107
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
22
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is located right by the river Liffey, and by O'Connell Street, with connections to pretty much everywhere in Dublin. The rooms were good, no frills but also not dirty or horrible. There were a lot of noisy young people hanging out in the common area every night during our stay, who were very annoying, but their noise did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just stayed here with two friends in a shared 6 mixed dorm with ensuite. The location was perfect, the staff was helpful and the bunks had a light and power outlet. To my surprise breakfast was included, it wasn't anything special (coffee, juice, tea, toast with butter and jam, hard boiled eggs, corn flakes, canned fruit and yogurt) but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friends had a really good stay at Abigails. Staff is really nice and are always willing to help you with anything or give you recommendations about the city. It is very well located; a short walk away from attractions like the City hall, the Castle, etc. and right next to the pubs and places with night life.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got a 6-bed only female room and could not complain. The room was clean, the staff was nice, and the breakfast good enough. The wifi signal was not strong so I usually went downstair to use my laptop, but the common area is big and confortable, so not a problem. The localization is great, central with a walking distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great room, great location, great service. We were in a private room (43) which had a double, single, wardrobe and desk, with an ensuite. Ignore the horror stories its a great place. Easy to find and WiFi in the rooms (yeah the signals weaker than downstairs, but it's not a Hilton so stop expecting 5* amenities) Breakfast was super, had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights with a group of friends over a weekend. Rooms were good size and amenities were good. It is really great location. Staff were friendly and professional. Great big common area on ground floor and very secure. Thanks for the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was tired, so I checked in and went to sleep early and I have a nice night. There were lights and plugs above every bed, wich was great, since you didn't need to fight with the other roomates about who is going to charge their phones. The internet signal wasn't strong on the rooms, but in the commom area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I found my stay at Abigails Hostel very average. The staff are not overly friendly. The cleaning and kitchen staff seem as though they don't enjoy their job at all. I stayed in both the eight bed and six bed dorms. The eight bed was much better, including electrical outlets and lights above each bed which was very nice. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Montréal
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A great breakfast, modern decor, great customer service at reception. The biggest minuses for me were the prices of the lockers in reception and that there were none in the rooms. Not enough plugs in the rooms, but the beds are comfy. It can be quite noisy on party nights from the noise of the sidewalk outside, but the rest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had backpacked for over 5 years and been a manager of hostels for 4 years and I have never seen a hostel as poorly ran as this one. When we checked in we asked if we could rebook as the prices had gone down considerably and if we could move our deposit from our previous booking to our new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A-Star-HostelsDublin, Manager at Abigails Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Adrian, Thank you for your review. We take all reviews seriously in order to help us improve . Thankfully Abigails is consistantly one of Dublin's top rated hostels as reviewed by guests. I would like to address some of the issues you highlighted for us. Cancellation Policy : we have a 48 hour cancellation policy in line with the... More

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel
Abigails Hotel Dublin
Address: 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelsClick and HostelBookers so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigails Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.