We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Certificate of Excellence
The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    135
    67
    40
    32
See reviews for
81
166
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (432)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just. Bak from Donegal. .stayed In. the. Central hotel very nice..apart from the. Renovation work going. Outside our room. Till. 8,,00 at night. Hammers. Drilling. Etc. otherwise. A. Good. Place. To. Stay. Very. Friendly. Staff. ..nice. Food. Very. Handy for. Other. Amenities

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a very pleasant 4 nights at the Central Hotel, we went with our local coach firm. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, the hotel although a little old fashioned, which we like, was very clean throughout, the food was good and varied and local entertainment in the well stocked bar most nights. The hotel is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After I booked, I went through all the bad reviews and I don't get them. This hotel is lovely, comfortable and cosy. My room was perfectly clean, my bed was comfy, the wifi worked fine, the staff were lovely etc. People complaining about the decor - did you come specifically to sit in your room 24/7??? People complaining about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi. Stayed here for one night recently. Disappointed with the first room (with a view of a roof and various workings on it) we asked for, and were given, another room with a view of the bay. That view was the best part of this hotel. Rooms need some real TLC. Bathrooms were very drab. Reception is cold and impersonal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The biggest plus of this hotel is its staff, very friendly ,helpful and caring. Food was lovely and swimming pool was well maintained, but it is a congested old hotel... The rooms are fairly spacious, well equipped and clean. We found them comfortable and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great central location, nice room with great view. Food in the bar was very nice, there were nice views from the breakfast room. Room was too hot and I couldn't turn the radiator off, the windows only opened in inch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reading one or two recent less than effusive responses to this establishment,I felt I should add my tuppence worth. I had a two night stay recently and,as ever,have nothing but praise for the straight ahead,unfussy offering:my room was great,looking out on the bay,and the price was certainly right. I have only ever once been offered a room that I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
centralhotel11, Senior Receptionist at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear George Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely appreciate all guest feedback. I am delighted you have continued to enjoy your visits to our hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests. Our bay view rooms certainly does offer some lovely views of Donegal Bay. We are always happy to... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not great. Good location but that is it. Room was just standard. Our view was a brick wall!! Breakfast was terrible. Very little choice and was not offered everything that was on the menu but somehow other guests sitting at the next table were offered. Need to get self service in place as well. Won't hurry back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
centralhotel11, Senior Receptionist at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear BrendaB36 Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at our Hotel. We do appreciate all guest feedback as it continuously help us improve on the service we provide. It is with great disappointment that I learn you did not enjoy your experience here with us. We will certainly take your comments on... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a nice midweek stay here. I remember visiting this hotel as child. It brought back really fond memories. It is old, but still elegant. Service was good. The bar had a good menu that had allergens and gluten free dishes clearly marked. My daughter has celiac and must eat gluten free. The waiter was very helpful and familiar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
centralhotel11, Senior Receptionist at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Inver2015 Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to our Hotel we really do appreciate it. We are delighted that your stay with us brought back such fond childhood memories. We do take food allergies seriously and are happy we were able to assist your Daughter. Hopefully we will be able to... More 

Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say about this hotel? It is truly terrible on so many levels: Firstly, the place clearly hasn't had a cent invested in it in years. Ample evidence to support this claim can be found in the worn-out, faded-wood lifts, the 1970's faded-brown curtains, the worn carpets, and the clapped-out furniture. The towel in our room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
centralhotel11, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Realmadridfresh Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We do appreciate Guests opinions good or bad as it is always good to receive constructive critism and enables us to strive to offer a pleasant stay for our Guests. We will certainly take your comments on board and hope to see you back at the Central sometime in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities