We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Certificate of Excellence
The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Central Hotel - Donegal
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    176
    155
    75
    43
    32
See reviews for
94
187
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (481)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (181)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Central Hotel from 24-29th August 2015. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We had a lovely big room which was very well kept and cleaned daily, shame we didn't have a river view, but then not everyone can have them. All the staff were friendly and pleasant throughout our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

reception staff very polite and helpful. stayed here for 2 nights, room was very big but disappointed at the amount of beds in the room for a couple, Room did not feel special or romantic, was more like a dorm room. wifi poor. breakfast was good, but messy, as Staff trying there best but going no where in a hurry,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Damian, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate it your comments. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment regarding the large room, breakfast/service however we would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, this enables us to strive to keep the standards that Guests would expect when visiting us, thank you. We hope... More 

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you have trouble with stairs you need to be specific with them about where they put you. The are rooms that the elevators do not get to. A little old fashioned but clean. Bar is nice, breakfast is standard. The best thing about this place is the central location

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear CatelynnNYC, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the location of the Hotel, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Donegal Town and all the lovely tourist attractions that the town has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the... More 

Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to stay here with my mum for a night away in July. I cannot fault this hotel one bit! We had a lovely room with a double bed and a single bed - both extremely comfy and with a beautiful view of the river / docks. We had a meal at the bar and it was lovely! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Bronagh, Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments in relation to rooms, and the Upper Deck Bar, I will pass on your comments to the team. We hope you and your mother enjoyed visiting Donegal... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and airy loads and loads of hot water the bed was really comfy The view from my room was really lovely we went in January so Christmas lights were still up the it was very cold outside but the room was as snug as a bug.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Kellock, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Diamond is very pretty when the Christmas lights are displayed, we are glad that you got to experience this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards, Jessica More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a lovely clean and modern room for myself and friend and always clean towels and bedding .they served a lovely breakfast and all was hot and plenty of it and evening meals were good too and had a choice of three items per course and tried to give a replacement if not suitable for anyone..evening entertainment was availble free some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Dundeegirl46, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear that you and the David Urquart group enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you got to experience one of our Traditional Irish Music nights at the Hotel as they are very... More 

Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were at the hotel for one night on our trip across Ireland. The rooms were very pleasant and large. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. The showers were very good. Overall a very pleasant stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Albert, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, we really appreciate all our guests comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels across the beautiful country of Ireland. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team More 

Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great centrally located hotel. Great walking distance to all shops, attractions. Rooms were very comfortable and the staff were very engaging seeing to all your needs. Dining room was very good for a very large party. Food was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Peggy, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and our food. We hope to see you back again in the future. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team More 

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great corner room with a view of the water. The beds were very comfortable. The room had a lot of room. The wifi worked well everywhere. The showers were very good. We used the pool and Jacuzzi and it had a steam room and exercise room too. The breakfast was plentifull and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Tkere, Thank you kindly for taking the time to send us your comments, we appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed the leisure facilities in the Hotel, thank you for your kind comments in relation to our bedrooms, breakfast and staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards, The Central Hotel Team More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was due to stay at this hotel but was in the sister hotel the Abbey. However there is a weekly show of Irish Music and Dancers on a Tuesday evening costing €10 the show lasts about 2 and hours hours with a variety of instrumental music and dancing by young Irish dancers, the show was most enjoyable and a must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CentralHotelDonegal, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our sister hotel, the Abbey Hotel. Thank you for your kind comment in relation to our Slice of Ireland Traditional night, we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy this fantastic show during your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#2 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay