We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Donegal Town hotels

The Central Hotel - Donegal

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Central Hotel - Donegal to your Saves list
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
Juliet S Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (326)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • More
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    98
    53
    32
    29
See reviews for
66
113
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Enjoyed one night B&B and evening meal at this hotel and wasnt disapointed, stayed 21 july, arrived early but was warmly welcomed and looked after, room 285 could do with an update but was comfy and well stocked with towels and tea and coffee. Had evening meal in the upper deck bar couldnt fault food or staff hospitality, breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freeport, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First off, the hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of town, a few minutes walk from the waterbus, the tourist office, the Abbey, the Castle and the Railway Heritage Center. The staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast was tasty. The view from my window was a three day Kodak moment. The hotel has free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hopewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is centrally located, Everything in town is in walking distance. ATMs and bus stop right outside. You have to park down the street at the Visitor's Centre, but once your luggage is in the hotel, you really don't need a car to get around the town. The hotel itself is neat and clean. The staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is worth the money it costs to stay here. Bar food is nice and very reasonable. Staff are friendly and room was cleaned everything morning. Great location right in the middle of town. Never used leisure facilities but friends said it was very nice. Would recommend for a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Central Hotel and thank you for your kind compliments in relation to our staff, our accommodation, Central Location and our Bar food. It was lovely to read your kind words & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We always appreciate recommendations & sincerely... More

North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quirky but neat hotel. A solid 3 star spot in the middle of town. Only complaint was their booking web site which implied no charges in advance. Assuming my credit card was simply being used to hold my reservation I was surprised when i was billed in full non refundable immediately upon reserving 4 months in advance! I would advise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to the Central Hotel. We appreciate such valuable feedback which assists us greatly in assessing our performance as a business. Regarding being charged before your arrival , While are website does offer fully secured bookings without a deposit we do also offer advance Purchase... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights we booked a Deluxe double with a view. First room we where given had twin beds and no view after complaining we where moved to a worse room! very small and drab right outside the window was a pump the came on at 5.30am every morning.Was told no other rooms avaible. Ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
centralhotel11, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Joseph Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as in this way we can address the issues you highlighted. From speaking with you myself i am already aware of the issues you experienced and once again can i send you & your wife my sincerest apologies for the mix up with your room. As i had... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After staying at the Trim castle hotel the night before we thought that all the hotels on route were going to be ok. Sadly the central hotel in Donegal was very poor, it was very drab & really needs a full refurb, our first room was over the kitchen which smelt of dirty fat and the sound of the fans... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
centralhotel11, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Neil We are genuinely saddened and disheartened that you were not happy with your experience at The Central. On behalf of Myself and my Team, may I extend our most sincere apologies. I Agree that some of our rooms are in needs of refurbishment & we are currently in the process of updating them however with 113 bedrooms in... More

Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights checked out today.. Hotel is nice and clean... Entertainment... And very central in Donegal town... Staff for plesant....A few down sides room was unbelievably stuffy and warm unusual for Ireland might be a good thing in the winter though!!!but me and my friend dreaded going back to the room due to the heat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
centralhotel11, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Joanne We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and appciate all feedback from our customers, Thank you for your kind comments about our Central location, Good entertainment & pleasant staff. Im sorry to hear your room was very warm, a lot of the rooms over Looking Donegal's beautiful bay can become increasingly warm when we are... More

Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I had reserved 2 single rooms for one night. One of them was half the size of mine. In fact there were 2 single beds awkwardly installed with too little space to pass. My friend tripped over one of the beds. I think it was room number 426. Even though we had asked for quite rooms there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you For taking the time to write your review, myself and all the team always appreciate feedback. I'm genuinely disappointed to hear the issues you encountered. please accept my sincerest apologies and be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards and these problems are being rectified. The majority of our rooms have been... More

solihull,england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stopped two nights with coach party,entering our room it reeked of smoke even a couple going past commented on the smell of smoke .went to reception and they sent a porter with a scented candle to burn,we did but did not take the smell away.view from the room was lovely. access to the upper bar was difficult for anybody with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the central Hotel. I apologize if our service recovery failed when you notified a member of our team. I agree that this is not acceptable and should have been resolved immediately. I can only assume a change of room was not available at... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Central Hotel - Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer