We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariaville House

Coolgarten Park | Off Magazine Road, Cork, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariaville House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mariaville House
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
18
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Great hosts who were friendly, flexible to our needs, informative, nothing was too much trouble. Well cooked breakfast, rooms were tidy, no problems sleeping. Would happily recommend it. Easily accessible to the Airport, the City Centre (15 minute walk) and also to the Kinsale. This B&B is a safe, great value, family run establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed for two nights with 3 friends last weekend. The welcome on arrival was great - Barry couldn't have been more accommodating, and his recommendations on pubs, restaurants and sights to see were very helpful. It is a clean & friendly family run B&B that represents great value, and we were well looked after. The location is good being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I am sorry to say I could not in all honesty recommend this Guest House it seems very tired and poorly furnished and equipped, it did not appear welcoming and we were glad we had only booked the one night. It may be more suited for workman looking for digs rather than holidaymakers

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Unfortunately my first trip advisor review may possibly be my worst. This establishment is a shocking example of “3 star” accommodation. Before I go any further Barrie was very pleasant and helpful, but that where any positives stop. Goretti was the complete opposite. The place is a dump and shouldn’t be presenting itself as a 3 star establishment, I don’t... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
guilfoylefs, Manager at Mariaville House, responded to this review

These are the same people who submitted the report on the 16th of September under "Very Poor". See our response to these people as it is the same for this very unkind submission. But let's turn all their negativity into postive actions. We are open for business and would love to see you all that visit this tripadvisor sight and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in Mariaville House for two nights and found the house and room clean, comfortable and more than adequate to meet our needs. Breakfast on both mornings was perfect. Both Barry and Goretti gave above the expected or required service. We arrived early in the day and rang to enquire as to what time we could book in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

First, Barry Guilfoyle is a friendly inn keeper, very helpful on tips and advice for getting around Cork. We only stayed for one night, however, we were shocked and appalled by the over all appearance of Barry & Goretti Guilfoyle's B&B operation the moment we drove up in front of the house. I have read and interpreted all Trip Advisor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
guilfoylefs, Owner at Mariaville House, responded to this review

Well it has taken you a long time to air your disappointment. If it was as bad as you say why not complain immediately and not wait three months to post such a horrid review. You do not seem to understand the essence of an Irish B & B. We are a small family run business and the presence of... More 

Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed in Maria Ville House on numerous occasions over the past few years when travelling to visit friends in Cork City and i have always loved it. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the city. You are always guaranteed a warm welcome from the hosts Barry & Goretti and they always give great recommendations as to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As a regular visitor/patient to the Cork hospitals I have always been disappointed with the surrounding guesthouses. On my recent visit my wife and I decided to give the Mariaville Guesthouse a go.....we now have a "new home" to stay at when we have to visit my consultant. Goretti & Barry were so helpful and flexible. Our room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a great stay here. Owners couldn't have been more helpful with lots of tips on where to go, eat etc. great breakfast in the morning and the room was spotless and comfortable. B&b is in a great location if you have no car, short walk into town and owner again gave me directions. Would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very friendly and helpful people and located within walking distance to city centre; However, ...the level of cleanliness (room & bathroom) and food hygiene (breakfast room) unfortunately fell well short of our expectations; I hope this can be dealt with.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
guilfoylefs, Owner at Mariaville House, responded to this review

Well Gearoid, you are really intent on putting the boot in. This is your second review, albeit under different names, in the last week. We know this from your descriptions and your name. You are the guy who accused us of stealing your clothes pegs. Strange. You did later have the manners to apologise, when quizzzed if you had located... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mariaville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaville House

Address: Coolgarten Park | Off Magazine Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mariaville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay