We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Cork B&Bs / inns

Mariaville House

Coolgarten Park | Off Magazine Road, Cork, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mariaville House to your Saves list
Mariaville House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
73%
Ranked #32 of 63 Cork B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Garry G Dublin, Ireland
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (2)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
18
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Mariaville House for two nights and found the house and room clean, comfortable and more than adequate to meet our needs. Breakfast on both mornings was perfect. Both Barry and Goretti gave above the expected or required service. We arrived early in the day and rang to enquire as to what time we could book in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, Barry Guilfoyle is a friendly inn keeper, very helpful on tips and advice for getting around Cork. We only stayed for one night, however, we were shocked and appalled by the over all appearance of Barry & Goretti Guilfoyle's B&B operation the moment we drove up in front of the house. I have read and interpreted all Trip Advisor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
guilfoylefs, Owner at Mariaville House, responded to this review

Well it has taken you a long time to air your disappointment. If it was as bad as you say why not complain immediately and not wait three months to post such a horrid review. You do not seem to understand the essence of an Irish B & B. We are a small family run business and the presence of... More

Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in Maria Ville House on numerous occasions over the past few years when travelling to visit friends in Cork City and i have always loved it. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the city. You are always guaranteed a warm welcome from the hosts Barry & Goretti and they always give great recommendations as to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a regular visitor/patient to the Cork hospitals I have always been disappointed with the surrounding guesthouses. On my recent visit my wife and I decided to give the Mariaville Guesthouse a go.....we now have a "new home" to stay at when we have to visit my consultant. Goretti & Barry were so helpful and flexible. Our room on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a great stay here. Owners couldn't have been more helpful with lots of tips on where to go, eat etc. great breakfast in the morning and the room was spotless and comfortable. B&b is in a great location if you have no car, short walk into town and owner again gave me directions. Would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very friendly and helpful people and located within walking distance to city centre; However, ...the level of cleanliness (room & bathroom) and food hygiene (breakfast room) unfortunately fell well short of our expectations; I hope this can be dealt with.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
guilfoylefs, Owner at Mariaville House, responded to this review

Well Gearoid, you are really intent on putting the boot in. This is your second review, albeit under different names, in the last week. We know this from your descriptions and your name. You are the guy who accused us of stealing your clothes pegs. Strange. You did later have the manners to apologise, when quizzzed if you had located... More

Banstead
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The room was cramped and filthy - with a view of nice flower pots but a dilapidated fence; general shabby condition and disgusting state of the butter at breakfast showed minimal effort and gave little confidence in overall hygiene - couldn't wait to leave. Hostess was very obliging though. "Deluxe" (as stated in the confirmation) - it certainly was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
guilfoylefs, Owner at Mariaville House, responded to this review

Your comments are completely unfounded and a gross exaggeration. If you had these problems why did you not voice them at the time. However, such is the nature of this review tool, that you are free to sneak away and then write anything that you like. To any intended guests that may read this review and get the wrong impression,... More

Nantes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Mariaville House ! The breakfast is perfect, the rooms are very nice and special thanks to Barry who gave us so many precious advices about the city. The b&b is not far from the city (20min by walk) and the street is really calm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed at Mariaville house and immediately felt at home after a long flight From Chicago, O'hare. Barry and Goretti are the best hosts, knowing when to be helpful And when to give you privacy. I spent 2 nights at Mariaville house at the beginning and the End of my trip. It was such a relief to know my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this B&B recently with 2 friends. Mariaville House is in easy walking distance of Cork. As would be the case I imagine with other city properties, what you gain in convenience you do sacrifice for in space. Looking back, we probably should have booked 2 separate rooms rather than a triple. My friends had a little space.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mariaville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mariaville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaville House

Address: Coolgarten Park | Off Magazine Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mariaville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cork with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Bed and Breakfast is a small, family run business. We can assure you of a warm welcome and a lovely and relaxing holiday while staying with us.We have lived in the area most of our lives so we can give you expert and local advice of what to do and see while you are with us.Our breakfast in the morning is not to be missed as this will set you up for the day.We look forward to seeing you at Mariaville house quite soonYour hosts.Barry and Goretti. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mariaville House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer