We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Cork B&Bs / inns

Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Ranked #28 of 63 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
EithneMarie San Francisco, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (98)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
21
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I had a wonderful time in cork. Our accommodations at the Acton Lodge were just perfect for our family of four. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The house itself is charming. The owner is very hospitable, and what I really appreciated most was that she went out of her way to have gluten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a family of four we got a fairly sized room, cannot complain on that, maybe on the fact that there was no soap. We could park the car inside, even though when we came back from the restaurant the first night it was not an easy parking ride. Room was OK, but certainly overpriced. The worst was the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The double room we were directed to was little more than a box room. The carpet was heavily stained. Access to the double bed was from one side only. Bottled hand soap is all that is provided for showering. No tea/coffee making facilities. €80/night, overpriced. Will never set foot in this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a place to be avoided. I had made reservation by phone and had confirmed by email. I had got acknowledgement of my email. I duly checked in the following evening. I spoke to a man whose name I subsequently established was Dominick. It appears that he is proprietor or co-proprietor. It was to him I had spoken on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thought this a frightful experience. No tea or coffee making facilities. Not even a glass in the room to have a drink of water. Limited breakfast menu. Shoddy furniture. TV kept losing picture and when it was on, picture was grainy. Old Holland blind only window covering and when pulled down, wouldn't go up again. Exceptionally overpriced for poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a lovely stay at The Acton B/B. This is a friendly family run B and B on Western road which is very central. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bathroom lots of towels. Wi-fi available. The cooked breakfast was very good and there were several other continental options. The owners Dom and Una are very friendly and chatted over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

First time at Acton Lodge (which was easy to find due to the large noticeboard ) and would certainly recommend staying there.Having stayed on Western Road previously we knew what the area was like.On arrival we were shown to our accommodation which was in the annexe and given the code to operate the side gate.The room was large and spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

It would seem from reading the positive comments that the Lodge must be paying friends to write good reviews . I wouldn't recommend this lodge to my worst enemy . Staff unhelpful and the manner of the reply's to unhappy customers sums them up in one go . Smell from rooms . Dated decor . More strength from your tears... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
waterford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Acton Lodge has to be the Worst B&B I have ever stayed in . First of all I couldn't find the lodge tried to call 4 times for directions ,After getting very stressed driving up and down western rd ten times I finally got through on the 5th call . I checked in and went straight up stairs to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
smokeyCork, Owner at Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sir I am so sorry that you were stressed even before you arrived at our house. Checkin time is from 4pm for bookng.com guests, of which you were one, but you arrived 3 hours early. The general tone of your review is one of total stress so I feel it would be unfair of me to stress you any further... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Second time to stay in this wonderful B&B - will return again. A delight to stay here. Very clean, very comfortable beds, excellent location, wonderful breakfast and friendly helpful staff (thanks Angela)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cork with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer