We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Cork B&Bs / inns

Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #21 of 62 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Colin M Dublin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (92)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
21
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I enjoyed a lovely stay at The Acton B/B. This is a friendly family run B and B on Western road which is very central. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bathroom lots of towels. Wi-fi available. The cooked breakfast was very good and there were several other continental options. The owners Dom and Una are very friendly and chatted over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time at Acton Lodge (which was easy to find due to the large noticeboard ) and would certainly recommend staying there.Having stayed on Western Road previously we knew what the area was like.On arrival we were shown to our accommodation which was in the annexe and given the code to operate the side gate.The room was large and spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It would seem from reading the positive comments that the Lodge must be paying friends to write good reviews . I wouldn't recommend this lodge to my worst enemy . Staff unhelpful and the manner of the reply's to unhappy customers sums them up in one go . Smell from rooms . Dated decor . More strength from your tears... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
waterford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Acton Lodge has to be the Worst B&B I have ever stayed in . First of all I couldn't find the lodge tried to call 4 times for directions ,After getting very stressed driving up and down western rd ten times I finally got through on the 5th call . I checked in and went straight up stairs to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
smokeyCork, Owner at Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sir I am so sorry that you were stressed even before you arrived at our house. Checkin time is from 4pm for bookng.com guests, of which you were one, but you arrived 3 hours early. The general tone of your review is one of total stress so I feel it would be unfair of me to stress you any further... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Second time to stay in this wonderful B&B - will return again. A delight to stay here. Very clean, very comfortable beds, excellent location, wonderful breakfast and friendly helpful staff (thanks Angela)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Acton Lodge was very comfortable. We had a large room to accommodate the three of us. Everything was very clean and inviting. Great full Irish breakfast that is included in the price. Overall, a lovely experience in Cork.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't know how anyone could write a review of a facility they never entered, but this bed and breakfast was delightful inside and out! Spacious rooms and very clean bathrooms. There's a lovely courtyard in the back where you can keep your car in a gated area. The atmosphere was awesome, but the kind owners made the experience one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Acton Lodge was one of the best B&B's We encountered on a two week tour of Ireland! We arrived in the later part of the evening, having made same day phone reservations. It was great to have safe, off street parking. Una, our hostess, gave us a warm welcome and graciously provided recommendations and directions for a selection of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

During an extended tour around Scotland and Ireland, we stayed in a number of B&Bs. Unfortunately, our experience with Acton Lodge left us extremely dissolutioned. Having booked on-line and receiving the appropriate confirmation, we arrived at 3:40pm to find the place locked up. No note on door; I checked emails - no communication. We tried to phone (no reply) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smokeyCork, Owner at Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Normally I don't bother to answer reviews as you can see,however, in this case it is necessary to clarify the situation. When you booked on the morning in question, you clearly stated you would be arriving between 4 & 5 pm. You arrived at 3.45pm. The housekeeper that we arranged to be on site to receive your party arrived at... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was right at top of house, very small, expected to hang clothes on a little rail beneath the tv, which was very dated and had no remote. Bathroom was tiny and the only light was a shaving light, so if you ventured in the shower it was dark, which incidently was placed in a little alcove right next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer